You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Wheelwrights Post - The Hideaway

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Burgate, near Fordingbridge, Hampshire
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps4
Bedrooms1
Bathrooms1
Pets0
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

Located in the New Forest National Park and ideal for trips to Salisbury and Ringwood.

The Hideaway is tucked away peacefully at the rear of the lawned grounds of the owner’s home, which is steeped in history and which, in the 1830s, included a wheelwrights, post office and bakery. The Hideaway is a single-storey wooden lodge and makes an ideal retreat for couples. Also within the grounds is Walnut Tree Cottage (ref 30424) and The Old Post Office (30425), providing an ideal opportunity for couples or guests wishing to holiday together whilst retaining their own space. This is a convenient location set just back from the main road leading from Salisbury, 9 miles, or Ringwood, 5 miles. Keen walkers will delight in the fact that they are situated directly opposite footpaths within the New Forest National Park, with many scenic walks and ideal for spotting local wildlife. For those who would prefer to explore by cycle, the owners can offer a place to lock your bikes away when not in use. All properties have their own allocated parking, sitting-out area and large lawned gardens shared with the owners and their young family. They make ideal touring bases from which to visit the extensive attractions in the area. Not far away is the charming town of Fordingbridge with a host of shops, cafes and eateries, and the gentle flowing River Avon and the New Forest Water Park wakeboard and aqua park are also close. The location is convenient for road links to the cathedral cities of Winchester and Salisbury, Christchurch Harbour, and the coast including Poole and Bournemouth. Other attractions include Marwell Zoo, Beaulieu Motor Museum and the New Forest Otter and Owl Park. Maritime Southampton and various other tourist attractions are within easy driving distance, as is Stonehenge. Beach 16 miles. Shop and pub 1 mile, restaurant 400 yards.

1 step to entrance. All on the ground floor.
Living/dining room: With Freeview TV and double sofa bed.
Kitchen: With electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge and washing machine.
Bedroom: With double bed.
Bathroom: With shower over bath and toilet.

Electric storage heaters included. Travel cot. Sitting-out area with garden furniture. Parking for 2 cars.

All properties: Bed linen, towels and electricity included. Highchair available on request. Shared 1¼-acre grounds. No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Hoists
    Hoists


Customer Comments

  • 3

    16/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/04/2018
    We were disappointed that this wasn't quite up to the standards we expected. For example, some mugs and casseroles dishes were dirty. It was not as well equipped as we are used to, for example there were no pan lids, no scissors, no instructions for the oven, (which proved difficult to work out) and limited crockery. Only one of the night store heaters worked, however, the owner did leave us with a couple of electric heaters to compensate. There were also leaks under the sink and in the toilet. The decor, linen and towels were 'tired'. All in all it was expensive for what was offered. I've texted the owner with some suggestions for improvement as he was on holiday during our stay.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the Hideaway; we try very hard to provide a spotlessly clean and welcoming environment for our guests. I’m very saddened that you did not let me know about your concerns at the time - despite my requests that you let me know of any problems - so that we could have tried to address them. Though we were away, I had people on stand-by to deal with any issues that couldn’t be dealt with on the phone. I’m sorry that you found some mugs and casserole dishes were dirty. All these items had been through the dishwasher and been inspected. It is true that they are not new - the mugs are nearly a year old and the casserole dishes are some six months old. We are in a hard water area so there is some very light staining from tea and coffee in some of the mugs but on inspection it wasn’t felt they needed to be scoured this time. The casserole dishes look almost new but there are some sign of their having been used, particularly underneath. I’m sorry if something slipped through that should have been spotted on inspection, I did stress the need for careful checking - which I do myself when I am here. You state that the Hideaway was not as well equipped as you are used to. I’m sorry that I had not noticed that the new pan set did not come with lids, I will get some urgently. We do supply scissors; I do not know what happened to them. Thank you for letting me know - I have now replaced them. I do usually go through how to work the oven with guests - but we were away on your arrival and I didn’t remember to describe how to use it in the very detailed welcoming email I sent to you before your arrival. Neff ovens do have fairly standard symbols so most guests have not needed much guidance. I did, however, stress that if you had any problems whatsoever I would welcome you contacting me so that I could help. As for crockery, the Hideaway has a set of six dinner plates, six side plates, six cereal/desert bowls and six mugs. There are also egg cups, a mixing bowl, salad bowl, six glass tumblers, six wine glasses, a tea pot and a cafetière (as well as the expresso). I just checked and all of these are still there. The cottage also has an almost new washing machine and a full bathroom that was entirely refitted (including an excellent power shower) two years ago. I’m a bit stumped as to what is lacking. My welcome email should have mentioned that we do not run the night store heaters in the bedroom and the kitchen outside the winter months. They are both 6KW heaters and, together with the 8KW heater in the lounge they make the cottage unbearably hot outside the coldest periods. Night store heaters are effective but crude - once they have charged up you cannot stop them pouring out the heat. We provide an electric radiator and two convector heaters to give controllable and instant heat. All are 2KW and provide ample heat for the cottage which is well insulated and double glazed. I’m really sorry that there was a slight leak under the kitchen sink during your stay. Someone would appear to have pushed something into the cupboard under the sink and slightly damaged one of the plastic nuts holding the joint where the washing machine waste water joins that from the sink causing a very, very slow drip. It has now been repaired - I noticed it on my return. I’m afraid that no cottage is immune to damage but if you had contacted me I would have had this fixed within hours. Our plumber has confirmed that there is no leak in the toilet or anywhere in the bathroom. The cottage has been recently decorated and linen and the towels were both purchased this year - indeed you were only the second people to use the towels. We carefully tumble dry towels to ensure they are as soft and fluffy as possible. I am really sorry that you did not contact me, and have never contacted me, with any of your concerns. I hope that I have shown that I take guest’s views and concerns very seriously and always try to address problems immediately I hear of them.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.4 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.