Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

The Holt

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Glenelg, near Kyle of Lochalsh, Highlands
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps2
Bedrooms1
Bathrooms1
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

The Holt is a cosy, semi-detached holiday apartment adjoining the owner’s own home

Tranquil location


The Holt is a cosy, welcoming, semi-detached holiday apartment adjoining the owner’s own home. It is situated on the edge of the village of Glenelg and benefits from beautiful views of the Skye mountains to the front and the Glenelg Hills to the rear. Glenelg is an area steeped in history, having the mainland’s two best preserved Iron-Age brochs, Dun Telve and Dun Troddan, and the ruins of the Hanoverian Bernera Barracks, built during Jacobite times. In addition to being renowned for its scenic beauty, with the drive to Glenelg over the Mam Ratagan Pass affording some of the most spectacular views in Scotland, Glenelg is a haven for wildlife. The generally elusive otter and pine marten are regularly seen, and for the birdwatcher, there is a host of interesting species to spot, including several rarities. As well as golden eagles, Glenelg has a resident pair of white tailed sea eagles which can regularly be seen fishing the Kylerhea Narrows. Dolphins, porpoises and the occasional minke whale or basking shark can also be seen. Clear nights during the winter months could reward visitors with spectacular views of the stars and the Milky Way. With virtually no light pollution, and wonderful dark skies, this is an astronomer’s delight and it is possible to witness meteor showers or the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights). Glenelg, Earth is twinned with Glenelg, Mars and has the distinction of being the only village on Earth twinned with another planet! Walking, kayaking and climbing are all activities which can be enjoyed locally, and a trip over to Skye on the Glenelg-Skye Ferry, the last remaining turntable ferry of its type in the world, is both a memorable and enjoyable experience. Both sea and river fishing are available within a mile of The Holt. Sea fishing, requires no licence and is available all year round. A permit to fish along the river (salmon and brown trout) can be obtained from the village shop and costs £10 per day (Mar-Oct). Pets are very welcome at The Holt and a pet sitting service is available by arrangement with the owner. Ferry point 2 miles. Beach ¾ miles. Shop, pub and restaurant ½ mile.

Ground floor: Living room with patio door/dining room. Kitchen. First floor: 1 double bedroom with en-suite bathroom with shower over bath and toilet (sloping ceiling and reduced head height above shower).

Electric central heating and electricity included (£15per week November-March). Bed linen and towels included. Travel cot and high chair on request. Stairgate. 26" Freeview TV. DVD/CD and small library. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washing machine. Shared tumble dryer. Shared, enclosed, lawned front and rear gardens and furniture. Furnished summerhouse. Built-in barbecue. Parking (2 cars). No smoking. Please note: There is an unfenced pond in the front garden.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Romantic Getaways
    Romantic Getaways
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • All En-suite
    All En-suite
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 10

    21/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 11/05/2018
    It was a wonderful stay for us in this lovingly furnished house. it has been thought of every detail. Such a loving welcome with home-baked shortbred and wine. the nature and landscape is wonderful and impressive, in the gleneg inn you can eat very well and enjoy the village life. We are definitely planning to come back. Best Wishes from Meike und Thorsten with Mäx

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you all and it’s very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your holiday so much. We are pleased that you were so happy with your accommodation; we do try to make it a home from home for our guests. So pleased to know that you are thinking of returning - you are always welcome.

  • 10

    05/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/05/2018
    Lovely spacious annexe , plenty of room with delightful friendly hosts You won't be disappointed 5 stars

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your review, it is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Holt and were pleased with your accommodation. It was lovely to meet you and we would love to welcome you back some day.

  • 9

    24/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/03/2018
    Great little cottage well suited to singles or couples. Great facilities. Would benefit from Wi-fi in the cottage but that’s highland life!!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the facilities provided. Wifi is available at The Holt, but unfortunately, it is unreliable and so we do not advertise it. We would like to remind future guests that free wifi is available locally in the Way Out West cafe located in the village hall and the Glenelg Inn, both just 1/2 mile distant.

  • 8

    07/11/2017
    Confirmed guest, 16/10/2017
    A lovely cottage in a great location. The cottage was well equipped and nicely furnished giving it a home from home feeling. Glen elg is an amazingly beautiful area of wooded hillsides and rocky shoreline. Great food at the Glen Elg Inn. The shower over the bath in the cottage was too low for me and the sofa in the sitting room is beginning to sag a little but these are minor niggles and we would happily return. All in all an enjoyable weekend.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner. Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again - hopefully for longer next time as there is so much to see and do in and around Glenelg. We do have plans to refurbish the lounge, which will include replacing the sofa, chair and carpet, but as we still have bookings scheduled, we aren't able to do this just yet and need to wait until the quieter winter months. We are looking forward to having everything done ready for 2018.

  • 9

    08/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2017
    Lovely snug cottage with a stunning bedroom Liz and Peter were helpful without being intrusive extremely relaxing break


  • 8

    28/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 16/09/2017
    We had an interesting and enjoyable holiday despite inclement weather. The cottage was very clean, well equipped and thankfully warm. From a personal point of view it was a bit too far out for my mobility problems.. But if you are fit and enjoy walking then this is an ideal place. Liz and Pete are very friendly and welcoming and a lovely welcome gift is provided including Liz's homemade shortbread which is to die for. Even though the weather was awful we would dearly love to return toThe Holt at Glenelg just to experience such a lovely place in the sunshine, health problems permitting!


  • 10

    03/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 01/09/2017
    The Holt is a lovley peaceful, very clean comfortable place to stay, Its much bigger than it looks and thoughtfully equipped with so many little extras to make a stay enjoyable. The hosts Liz and Pete are there if you need them very friendly but dont get in your face, Its a few mins walk to a great little pub where you can eat for a reasonable price,. There is only one downside and thats no wifi, But if your not bothered by that its perfect, And to be fair the pub has wifi with passwords on a board so you dont even have to ask. I plan to return there for a break again,


  • 9

    02/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 26/08/2017
    A lovely cottage situated in an idyllic setting. The hosts are very helpful and unobtrusive. There's lots to do and see in this area .


  • 7

    19/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 17/08/2017
    The cottage is nice with a warm welcome from the charming hosts. Our confirmation told us that there was wifi throughout the property. There is no wifi though our hosts kindly offered us the opportunity to go to their property to receive emails. With no mobile phone coverage too this was a serious problem for us as it would be for others whose family situation or professional accusation may require them to be contactable even on holiday. We simply would not have booked this property if we had been aware of this inaccurate information and we spent valuable vacation time pursuing internet connections elsewhere. Not a problem for many people but a significant problem for us. Please amend the property information to reflect accurately the services actually provided! But we did have a pleasant break and our dog was made most welcome; he had a great time! We are grateful for the warm welcome to us and our dog!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you both and Alfred to The Holt and we are pleased that you all enjoyed your holiday. We are sorry that you experienced dificulty with the wi-fi. There is wi-fi at The Holt, as confirmed in previous reviews, but, as with so many other parts of the Highlands, it is not always reliable. For this reason, we do not advertise it as part of our property description on the Welcome Cottages/Cottages.com websites. I understand that you made your reservation through Booking.com which does advertise wi-fi. Whilst correct, for reasons previously mentioned, this information should not feature as part of our property description and I have asked for it to be removed. Being just next door, guests are welcome to use our wi-fi when needed. They are also welcome to use our landline to both make and receive calls and are given complete privacy to do so. Free wi-fi is available at both the Way Out West Cafe and the Glenelg Inn, both just a very short distance from The Holt. We do not generally find that the unreliability of the wi-fi detracts from our guests enjoyment of their holiday, indeed, most seem to welcome it as it enables them to have the relaxing, stress-free get away from it all holiday they had anticipated when booking.

  • 10

    28/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 22/07/2017
    A beautiful locality. A perfect antidote to concrete and traffic and roundabouts. A lovely accommodation; perfect for two. And lovely hosts - Liz and Peter, helpful and discrete. Have no hesitation in recommending The Holt to anyone in need of peace, landscape to die for and the company of wildlife. Dermot and Linda.


  • 4

    06/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 24/06/2017
    We had decided to blow a bit more of our pension than usual on this holiday for the two of us and our dog, so first priority was a dog friendly cottage. We arrived in pouring rain to find main entrance was through patio door, pushing aside net curtain which wrapped itself round us each time we used this entrance. We landed on small door mat laid on the pale coloured fitted lounge carpet, sofa and easy chair had fresh pale cream covers. That was not ideal for two wet people and a wet dog. Second downstairs room (kitchen) also had fitted carpet right up to the door. No porch at either door to take off wet clothes or shoes. We then started finding notes with lists of do's and don'ts, A lot more don'ts than do's. There were strict instructions everywhere, right down to how not to close the toilet seat. We followed the instructions but it wasn't fitted properly and fell of anyway so I refitted it correctly. There is a shower over the bath but the ceiling slopes down within a few inches of where it is fitted so anyone over 5 feet tall would find it almost impossible to use. I showered sitting down in the bath but the hose was hardly long enough and I never did work out how to wash the bit of my anatomy that I was sitting on. There were strict orders to take the dog outside onto the road verge to exercise it or if it had an ACCIDENT within the garden it was to be cleared up immediately. Unfortunately the owners shared the same garden and when their dogs had "accidents" they were not always cleared up. The scenery and wildlife was spectacular but the stress of following all the rules and regulations made the whole procedure so stressful it really spoiled the week. The silly thing is, we are responsible people, if there had been lo lists of rules we would still have behaved very similarly but all the rules and the implied threat of retributions for breaking them was just too much. In summary: Scrap the kitchen carpet and replace with tiles. Put a proper latch on the ridiculously fiddly side gate. Warn people over five foot that they won't be able to have a shower. Replace the uncomfortable cream furniture with something appropriate. and TEAR UP ALL THOSE HIGHLY OFFENSIVE LISTS OF RULES! This place may be "dog tolerant" but there is no way it is dog friendly.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday as much as you had hoped. I am also very surprised, as, despite chatting with you on a number of occasions during the week and again when saying goodbye, you gave no indication whatsoever of any problems or concerns. We accept some of the points made, but others are simply not true. There are no lists of offensive instructions, neither are there any threats of retribution. The two polite notices on display are supplied by Hoseasons and are standard issue in self catering holiday properties, they could in no way be considered offensive. In addition, there is a polite note from myself explaining that the soft close toilet seat needs to be allowed to close softly, so as not to loosen the hinges. This has obviously happened in this instance. The seat had been fitted correctly, but if it had come loose, had we just been informed, we would have dealt with it immediately. Our priority is the well being of our guests and any maintenance needs brought to our attention are dealt with promptly, we do not expect guests to deal with maintenance issues themselves. The soft close toilet seat has now been replaced with a non soft close seat and the note has been removed. As the glass in the patio doors extends from floor to ceiling, the net curtain is a safety requirement of our agency. Most guests simply push this to one side when using this entrance and we are happy for them to do so. The door mat extends to the full with of the sliding patio door and is of ample size to step onto, thus protecting the teal carpet. The cream upholstery is both removable and washable and so guests with pets need have no concerns about us being able to keep them clean. We do not have a porch at the front or the rear of the property, the available space does not allow for them. In inclement weather, we would normally ask guests to use the back door where there is a thick coconut mat, a wall mounted coat rack and dog towels positioned just inside the door. This is the highlands, it rains sometimes, guests arriving home in wet clothes is not an issue for us and we always give reassurances that it ought not be an issue for them either. The distance between the inside of the bottom of the bath to the ceiling is 5'8" and the shower hose, when removed from its bracket, is long enough to comfortably reach the bottom of the bath. We appreciate that the reduced ceiling height is awkward for taller folk, but would like to remind guests that as there is a constant supply of hot water, plenty of bubble bath provided and a plug. then the bath provides an acceptable and suitable alternative to the shower. The front and back gardens are completely secure and dogs are welcome to play in both. Our own dogs are exercised outwith the garden and any mess which rarely occurs within the garden is always cleaned up. If, on this occasion, it was not dealt with immediately, as would normally be the case, we can only apologise. We would like to stress that this is very much the exception and not the rule. We welcome our canine guests, it is important to us that they, in addition to their owners, enjoy their holiday. We offer breed appropriate baskets, bedding and towels. We provide food and water bowls and always fill the water bowl prior to arrival as dogs often arrive thirsty after their long journey. We provide poop bags, dog biscuits, tick removers and a collar tag engraved with our name and telephone number as a precaution should any pets go astray - unlikely, but not unheard of. We provide details of the nearest veterinary surgery. Last, but not least, we provide a pet sitting service by arrangement should guests wish to visit places/take trips where dogs are not allowed and we are happy to feed and walk them whilst in our care. We make no charge for this service. We consider ourselves to be very dog friendly and consider the accusation of being merely dog tolerant to be both wrong and unfair. Closing the wrought iron side gate is a simple matter of hooking the chain over the bracket on the wall. We do have plans to replace the flooring in the kitchen and to refurbish the lounge, but, as we have bookings from now until early December, this will have to wait until the quieter, winter months. When welcoming guests to The Holt, the last thing we say before leaving them to make themselves at home and to enjoy their holiday, is to say that, if there is anything at all they need, anything they wish to ask, or if they have any concerns, then we are just next door, and not to hesitate to let us know. Our guests enjoyment of their holiday and their accommodation is of paramount importance to us and we welcome feedback from them as it enables us to constantly improve the service we provide. We are very friendly and approachable and would far rather guests voiced any concerns during their stay, rather than wait until they return home, as then it is too late for us to help put things right. We would encourage anyone considering booking The Holt to read the very many positive comments we have received in order to gain a fair and balanced impression of what The Holt has to offer in terms of accommodation and we have to offer as hosts. Thank you - we look forward to welcoming you.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.5 out of 10 – based on 16 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.