You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Cottage

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

St Margarets Bay, Dover, Kent
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps12
Bedrooms6
Bathrooms3
Pets 3
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Description

Spacious family home, views over the English Channel from balcony, coastal path leading to White Cliffs of Dover nearby.

Commanding stunning views across the English Channel, this attractive, spacious, family home for all seasons is the ideal property for a relaxing holiday with both friends or relatives. A decked terrace runs the length of the property, an ideal spot for soaking up the sun or relax after a brisk winter walk in front of a glowing log burner in the cosy living room, overlooking the frothing waves. Four of the six bedrooms have sea views and the other two have attractive garden views. There is also a games room. The white chalk cliff above St Margaret’s Bay is said to be the first place the sun reaches each morning on mainland Britain! The beach is famous for being the closest point to France and is the spot where Channel swimmers begin their marathon 21 mile swim. The village itself offers good pubs, restaurants and local shop within walking distance. The coastal path leads to the famous White Cliffs of Dover, gateway to England and now one of the UK’s protected Heritage coasts offering some of the best cliff coastal walking in the country. The lighthouse is the place where Marconi transmitted his first radio broadcast to France. Closer to France than London, bring a passport, catch a ferry from Dover and visit the French markets in Calais and Boulogne for the day. Visit Dover, Deal and Walmer Castle, Pines Garden and Metropole Galleries Folkestone. Canterbury 17 miles. Golf, sailing, cycling, horse riding locally. Shops and pubs 500 yards.

Sixteen steps to entrance (twenty seven to rear entrance). Entrance hall. Large living room with wood-burning stove, French doors with sea views and wooden floor. Dining room with sea views. Three steps up to well-equipped kitchen with Rangemaster (for cooking), breakfast area, French doors to decked balcony and tiled floor. Utility. Double bedroom with ornamental fireplace. Separate toilet. Steep, narrow stairs to lower ground floor: Games room. First floor: Double bedroom with 6ft bed, TV, wash basin and sea views. Two further double bedrooms, one with TV, sea views and en-suite shower room with double shower cubicle and toilet. Twin bedroom with ornamental fireplace. Bathroom with hand-held shower over bath, separate shower cubicle and toilet. Fully-tiled shower room with toilet. Steep stairs to second floor: Twin bedroom with French doors to balcony.

  • Wood-burning stove - initial fuel included, thereafter available at cost
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Three Freeview TVs
  • DVD (small library)
  • Radio/CD
  • Rangemaster included
  • Microwave
  • Washing machine
  • Tumble dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Wi-fi
  • Lawned garden with patio, terrace and furniture
  • Large decked balcony with furniture
  • Barbecue
  • 3 dogs welcome, to be kept on a lead at all times
  • Roadside parking
  • Cycle store (shed)
  • Games room with table football
  • No smoking
  • Please note: There are steps in the garden - and external steps are uneven. This property has a security deposit of £200.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Sea View
    Sea View
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Luxury Collection
    Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 9

    03/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    A really lovely cottage, generously equipped and nicely furnished. It easily accommodated our group of 9 (aged 61 to 12 years old) and we had a great week. Beds surpassed our expectations, really comfortable with good linen and soft duvets. Kitchen was spacious with excellent white goods and well equipped. Fabulous dining room and spacious lounge. Kids liked the cellar games room. Nice modern showers and plenty of toilets for large groups. My only gripe was the sofas in the living room have seen better days (cushions are quite hard) and the benches on the main terrace are giving up the ghost. No problem, we took chairs out, but the rickety nature was a bit troubling. Note - there is virtually no mobile phone signal, but wifi was good and the owner has provided a land line. At the beginning of the week the views (outside terraces on 3 levels, fantastic views from 4 bedrooms) were great - sea, boats, white cliffs and France - but haze and then thick fog removed the view for the last 3 days! It was still atmospheric though, and we could hear the fog horns as the boats approached Dover Harbour. Hard work to walk to a pub, we didn't. However a short drive down to the beach and the Coastguard did excellent food, and the village store had all the basics (need to drive there really). Loads to do in the vicinity and some excellent walks across the cliffs. A bit alarming in thick fog though! Yes there are lot of steps, but we all managed fine and had a fabulous week. The Cottage has a lovely friendly feel, and we may return.


  • 5

    15/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/05/2018
    This is a grand old house in a splendid location and my review is made more in sadness than in anger. What might have once been described as rustic chic, certainly as far as the exterior is concerned, has sadly been allowed to decline through a lack of maintenence. Much of the timberwork at the rear (sea side) is peeling and the decking is in real need of a good jet-wash, repair and maintenence; the bottom step onto the deck is loose and is a hazard. When we were there, the gardens were overgrown and unkempt and planters sad, weedy and dead. I do realise that this is fairly early in the season but even so... On arrival at 3.10pm, we were ticked off by the cleaning lady (who is in fact a very pleasant and helpful person) because she said we were early -our details said 3.00pm and she said it should be 4.00pm. We hung around until 3.30 before unloading the cars. The interior decor of the rooms was good and the beds comfortable. The kitchen area was good and very big, the wooden cupboards being 19th century are in need of a good rub-down and wax polish. There is a broken floor tile by the sink which lifts in one corner when you stand on it and anyone with unprotected feet walking by at that point would receive a considerable injury from the shards. Our daughter was not able to operate the spa-bath in the on-suite bathroom. One of the shower wastes was partially blocked allowing water to flow onto the floor, which soaked my wife's wedding clothes, dripped through to the ceiling below and onto confetti which was on the kitchen table. All in all, not a happy experience. I did speak to the owner who was very sympathetic to our plight but disappointed that we had to ask for a gesture of recompence from Bookings.com. I feel something should have been proffered. I do hope that the proper resources are put into this property; we would love to have it. If it was brought up to scratch (we operate our own self-catering apartments in Devon) then this could be an absolute gem.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. Your opinions have been duly noted and we will address them with the caretaker. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your stay at The Cottage and rather surprised as this is the first poor review we have received in the 8 years of letting our property. An offer has been made as a gesture of goodwill which we believe has been accepted.

  • 9

    17/02/2018
    Confirmed guest, 16/02/2018
    We had an amazing time at The Cottage. The grandparents and dogs had the ground floor bedroom, teenagers in the attic and everyone else in between! It was nearly perfect for our extended family holiday. We had 3 under 5's who adored the games room (though we did hold our breath everytime they went up or down the stairs!). The views were amazing and we all loved sitting and listening to the sound of the waves. Yes, in some areas the decoration was a little tired - but with 5 children and 2 dogs this wasn't a problem for us, it just made us feel comfortable in using everything. The beds were comfortable and there was everything we needed and more provided. The only slight negatives are: The twin beds are now downstairs with a double in the attic - not as described and not what we had planned for. The garden is not dog safe. We moved some furniture around to make the terrace safe but had to stay close when they were in the garden or they would escape! Lack of teaspoons! Everything else was there - glasses, electric whisks blender etc but we would have liked another dozen teaspoons!!! All in all we had a great time and the house was really lovely - we could loose hours watching the view!


  • 10

    27/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 22/01/2018
    An excellently decorated, perfectly clean house that you will not want to leave. It is so cosy, yet spacious, ensuring comfort at all times. The comfy chairs in the living room facing the sea are a particularly wonderful attention and adds an extra touch of luxury to the house. The kitchen has a dining table, as well as a breakfast bar, making for many opportunities to snack, chat and laugh with your group. Each bedroom is wonderfully decorated and spacious and the bathrooms are equally perfect. In the basement, there is a den for the children with bean bags, 2 football tables, VCR with videoes, as well as many toys and board games to enjoy. This makes it superb for groups of friends ready to party and families alike.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.9 out of 10 – based on 15 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.