You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Cottage

St Margarets Bay, Dover, Kent
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

22/04/2019
View Map Shortlist
Sleeps 12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms 3
Pets 3
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Description

Spacious family home, views over the English Channel from balcony, coastal path leading to White Cliffs of Dover nearby.

Situated just a short walk away from the beach front, this detached home is set along the South Foreland Heritage Coast. Perfect for geological enthusiasts, the famous White Cliffs of Dover are just 2 miles away, making this the ideal base for those looking to visit this wondrous landform. Take a walk along the coastal path and admire in the picturesque views which lead to the famous visitor’s attraction. You can even bring your own bike, which can be kept in the bike store, and ride along one of the many cycle paths close by. There is also an array of pubs, shops and restaurants just a short stroll away so you can indulge yourself in some quintessential English cuisine.
After a long day outdoors, return to this perfect family home where you can enjoy ultimate relaxation. Cosy up in front of the glowing wood burner in the traditionally furnished living room, as floods of natural light pour through the French doors leading to the terrace. Step outside and marvel at the breathtaking views over the English Channel – it’s the perfect spot to escape with a Sunday paper. Venture through another set of French doors and you will find yourself in the well-equipped kitchen. Complete with a range cooker and an intimate breakfast area, you will surely be inspired to rustle up something tasty.
Your little ones will be sure to love the fantastic games room on the lower ground floor. Equipped with bean bags and table football, it will keep them entertained all day. Once they’re all tired out, and night time rolls around, head to bed for a good night’s slumber in one of six deluxe bedrooms. Being spread over three floors, this makes the perfect retreat for families’ holidaying together. The second floor twin bedroom even has French doors leading onto a snug balcony. No matter how you choose to spend your days, The Cottage will surely help with creating memories to cherish.

Sixteen steps to entrance (twenty seven to rear entrance). Entrance hall. Large living room with wood-burning stove, French doors with sea views and wooden floor. Dining room with sea views. Three steps up to well-equipped kitchen with Rangemaster (for cooking), breakfast area, French doors to decked balcony and tiled floor. Utility. Double bedroom with ornamental fireplace. Separate toilet. Steep, narrow stairs to lower ground floor: Games room. First floor: Double bedroom with 6ft bed, TV, wash basin and sea views. Two further double bedrooms, one with TV, sea views and en-suite shower room with double shower cubicle and toilet. Twin bedroom with ornamental fireplace. Bathroom with hand-held shower over bath, separate shower cubicle and toilet. Fully-tiled shower room with toilet. Steep stairs to second floor: Twin bedroom with French doors to balcony.

  • Wood-burning stove - initial fuel included, thereafter available at cost
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Three Freeview TVs
  • DVD (small library)
  • Radio/CD
  • Rangemaster included
  • Microwave
  • Washing machine
  • Tumble dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Wi-fi
  • Lawned garden with patio, terrace and furniture
  • Large decked balcony with furniture
  • Barbecue
  • 3 dogs welcome, to be kept on a lead at all times
  • Roadside parking
  • Cycle store (shed)
  • Games room with table football
  • No smoking
  • Please note: There are steps in the garden - and external steps are uneven. This property has a security deposit of £200.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Sea View
    Sea View
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Luxury Collection
    Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 9

    02/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 28/01/2019
    The house itself was a bit tired and the sofas not the most comfortable also dvd player played up which was a let down. Could do with another kettle and some more mugs and glasses. On a more positive note cannot fault the location the bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable everyone stated they slept like logs. We are a group of ladies mostly retired who go away each year for a weekend unfortunately the steps will be too much for some of us again so will not be returning.


  • 9

    28/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 26/10/2018
    The situation is lovely. Beautiful views over to France. Lots of room for 3 or 4 families. Furniture is eclectic which we like. as nothing is new we didn't feel as edgy when our 3 year old was playing with his toys near things. Although a little dusty (cushions etc) the property was clean. Shops and pubs are probably a little out of walking distance for the elderly and unfit. The owner was very helpful when calling about the keys etc. I would highly recommend this place to anybody.


  • 9

    29/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/09/2018
    Stunning location with beautiful coastal walks. Very comfortable house with plenty of room.


  • 9

    12/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 10/09/2018
    A beautiful old house in a stunning location with wonderful sea views that was excellent for our family celebration. The decked terraces were a bonus as was the playroom for the children. We would happily recommend and hope to return.


  • 9

    03/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    A really lovely cottage, generously equipped and nicely furnished. It easily accommodated our group of 9 (aged 61 to 12 years old) and we had a great week. Beds surpassed our expectations, really comfortable with good linen and soft duvets. Kitchen was spacious with excellent white goods and well equipped. Fabulous dining room and spacious lounge. Kids liked the cellar games room. Nice modern showers and plenty of toilets for large groups. My only gripe was the sofas in the living room have seen better days (cushions are quite hard) and the benches on the main terrace are giving up the ghost. No problem, we took chairs out, but the rickety nature was a bit troubling. Note - there is virtually no mobile phone signal, but wifi was good and the owner has provided a land line. At the beginning of the week the views (outside terraces on 3 levels, fantastic views from 4 bedrooms) were great - sea, boats, white cliffs and France - but haze and then thick fog removed the view for the last 3 days! It was still atmospheric though, and we could hear the fog horns as the boats approached Dover Harbour. Hard work to walk to a pub, we didn't. However a short drive down to the beach and the Coastguard did excellent food, and the village store had all the basics (need to drive there really). Loads to do in the vicinity and some excellent walks across the cliffs. A bit alarming in thick fog though! Yes there are lot of steps, but we all managed fine and had a fabulous week. The Cottage has a lovely friendly feel, and we may return.


  • 5

    15/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/05/2018
    This is a grand old house in a splendid location and my review is made more in sadness than in anger. What might have once been described as rustic chic, certainly as far as the exterior is concerned, has sadly been allowed to decline through a lack of maintenence. Much of the timberwork at the rear (sea side) is peeling and the decking is in real need of a good jet-wash, repair and maintenence; the bottom step onto the deck is loose and is a hazard. When we were there, the gardens were overgrown and unkempt and planters sad, weedy and dead. I do realise that this is fairly early in the season but even so... On arrival at 3.10pm, we were ticked off by the cleaning lady (who is in fact a very pleasant and helpful person) because she said we were early -our details said 3.00pm and she said it should be 4.00pm. We hung around until 3.30 before unloading the cars. The interior decor of the rooms was good and the beds comfortable. The kitchen area was good and very big, the wooden cupboards being 19th century are in need of a good rub-down and wax polish. There is a broken floor tile by the sink which lifts in one corner when you stand on it and anyone with unprotected feet walking by at that point would receive a considerable injury from the shards. Our daughter was not able to operate the spa-bath in the on-suite bathroom. One of the shower wastes was partially blocked allowing water to flow onto the floor, which soaked my wife's wedding clothes, dripped through to the ceiling below and onto confetti which was on the kitchen table. All in all, not a happy experience. I did speak to the owner who was very sympathetic to our plight but disappointed that we had to ask for a gesture of recompence from Bookings.com. I feel something should have been proffered. I do hope that the proper resources are put into this property; we would love to have it. If it was brought up to scratch (we operate our own self-catering apartments in Devon) then this could be an absolute gem.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. Your opinions have been duly noted and we will address them with the caretaker. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your stay at The Cottage and rather surprised as this is the first poor review we have received in the 8 years of letting our property. An offer has been made as a gesture of goodwill which we believe has been accepted.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.8 out of 10 – based on 13 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE