Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Old Bakery

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Whitby, Yorkshire
Grade 5 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps6
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms2
Pets0
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Description

Enjoy the myriad attractions of Whitby, or venture slightly further afield to the fishing and smuggling villages of Runswick Bay, Staithes and Robin Hood’s Bay.


The Old Bakery is right in the heart of Whitby in the centre of Church Street, one of the oldest parts of the town dating back as far the 1300s. This contemporary, luxurious apartment has been lovingly restored from an old back street bakery dating back to 1871, but the bakery theme still runs true throughout. Beautifully designed and with tasteful decor and furnishings throughout, it is set over three floors with a wrought iron staircase leading up to a peaceful roof terrace. Whitby Abbey, made famous by Bram Stoker’s Dracula, is just a stone’s throw away, and right in amongst a myriad of shops, boutiques, restaurants and cafes.

Walk out of the front door and step into the heart of the seaside town, with its quaint cobbled streets, numerous eateries and atmospheric harbour. Taste the wonderful fish and chips and work them off with an exhilarating cliff-top walk, or relax on the long sandy beach. Jump on the tour bus to make sure you don’t miss out on everything Whitby has to offer, or take a trip on one of the pleasure boats and enjoy a tour around the harbour and out to sea. There is always something happening in Whitby from the bi-annual Goth Festival to the Whitby Regatta, and their music festivals to the festival of Christmas.

If 3 miles of unspoilt beach isn’t enough, Whitby is also in a fantastic location to get out and explore the natural beauty of the North York Moors and The Yorkshire Heritage Coast.

The unspoilt fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay which nestles into the cliffs of the Heritage Coast is 5½ miles away. Other unspoilt villages include Runswick Bay, Saltburn-by-the-Sea and Staithes. Each has its own story of pirates and smuggling to tell.

An abundance of walks and cycle tracks for ramblers and cyclists include the Cleveland Way, as well as the Esk Valley and its stunning scenery, best enjoyed from the windows of the steam train that travels right into the heart of the Yorkshire Moors National Park from Whitby to Goathland which is otherwise known as Aidensfield in the TV show ’Heartbeat’.
Other attractions for a day out include the Beamish Museum, Lightwater Valley and Flamingo Land. The medieval walled city of York is just an hour away and is well worth a visit with attractions including the Jorvik Viking Centre and National Railway Museum. Parking is available for loading/unloading, and there are car parks nearby and a Park ’n’ Ride facility 1½ miles away, both at cost. Or for a car free holiday, why not take the train and use the tour bus for sightseeing! Shop, pub and restaurant 50 yards.

Ground Floor:
Utility room: With washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With kingsize bed.
Bathroom: With bath, walk-in shower and toilet.
First Floor: Bedroom 2: With kingsize bed, Freeview TV and en-suite with walk-in shower (no toilet).
Bedroom 3: With 2ft 6in zip and link twin beds (can be kingsize on request).
Separate toilet.
Second Floor:
Open plan living space.

Living area: With electric wood burner, 49" curved Sky Smart TV, Blu-ray player and wireless sound bar for use with iPhones.
Dining area.
Kitchen area: With electric range, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and staircase leading to roof terrace.

Electric central heating (underfloor in bathroom), bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot, highchair and stairgate available on request. Roof terrace with sitting-out area and garden furntiure. Public car park, 50 yards, £7.50 per day; unloading at the door. No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Satellite TV
    Satellite TV
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Luxury Collection
    Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles


Customer Comments

  • 10

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/08/2018
    Another fantastic holiday (second visit in two years) at the old bakery. I've already recommended this cottage to numerous friends. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. Very well equipped and thought out holiday home. We always purchase a parking permit for the week from Scarborough council, can be used in any council carpark and saves the hassle of feeding meters during your time in Whitby and during day trips away from the town.


  • 8

    22/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 20/07/2018
    Would have given this cottage 10 but it has a terrible drain smell from the downstairs bathroom.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear you had a problem with the bathroom, this is the first time this has happened. Unfortunately, we have only been made aware of this now whilst reading your review. If you had contacted us during your stay, as we advised you to do so when welcoming you into the property, we would have investigated the issue immediately, as the comfort and enjoyment of The Old Bakery for our guests is our priority. We have spoken to the current guests who have said there is no problem at all, however we will investigate the matter further upon them vacating the property.

  • 10

    25/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/05/2018
    Fantastic property! Excellent location, will definitely be back next year :)


  • 10

    24/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 11/05/2018
    Booked for next year already....


  • 10

    08/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/05/2018
    Individual, full of character, totally modern, awesome. Spellbinding location.


  • 10

    28/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/04/2018
    It's an amazing house, couldn't fault anything about it, 5 star


  • 10

    17/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 10/03/2018
    Wow, just wow. Comfort & cleanliness 100%. Fantastic place to stay. Perfection.


  • 10

    24/02/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/02/2018
    We had a really lovely, relaxing stay at The Old Bakery over half term. Although the weather was cold we still managed to see a lot of Whitby. Even when we endured hail and snow we were more than happy spending time indoors, enjoying everything the cottage had to offer. We Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this property and we are already planning our return.


  • 9

    09/02/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/01/2018
    Great place to stay and everything about it


  • 10

    20/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/01/2018
    Amazing cottage - modern yet cozy. Everything you could need and the warmest of welcomes. We all wanted to move in permanently!


  • 10

    17/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 13/10/2017
    Couldn't be better.Lovely building,well equipped. Located in a quiet yard immediately off Church Street with pubs,restaurants & shops within a stones throw.


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.7 out of 10 – based on 23 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.