Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Dovecote - The Bothy

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Staple, near Wingham, Kent
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

This characterful and charming Grade II listed Kentish getaway is hidden in beautiful countryside, and enjoys a sunny private patio and enclosed garden.

The Bothy was built for Sir William Lynch as part of the Groves Estate in 1750 and was a gardener’s cottage and storage for carts. Following a sympathetic conversion, the detached cottage is now a wonderful getaway for families and couples, and dogs are welcome.

The location is wonderful, with a pub close by in the village of Staple and the picturesque Wingham only two miles away. Sandwich, close to the beach and containing more listed buildings than any other village in the UK, is only 6 miles away. The cathedral city of Canterbury is also a short drive and is a lively place with plenty of diverse shopping, clubs and restaurants. One can even hop on the ferry, or Eurotunnel for a trip over to France. You will feel your cares drifting away as you cross the private garden and enter the cosy warmth of this cottage. A striking open fire waits on winter evenings, or you can sit out on the sunny patio with a glass of wine to enjoy a Kentish summer at its best. An abundance of walks are on your doorstep with a number of good pubs to finish up in. There is a bus stop within walking distance with hourly buses running to Sandwich and Canterbury. Shop and restaurant 2½ miles, pub 1 mile.

The Bothy can be booked together with Willow Tree House (UKC1060) and Gamekeeper’s Cottage (UKC1062) to accommodate up to 12 guests.

4 steps to entrance. Terracotta tiled floor throughout.
Ground Floor:
Living/dining room: With open fire, Freeview TV and DVD player.
Kitchen: With electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.

Initial fuel for open fire included. Travel cot and highchair available on request. Enclosed, lawned garden with patio and garden furniture. Private parking for 2 cars.

All properties: Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Welcome pack. Barbecue. Grounds (shared with other holiday cottages). No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Romantic Getaways
    Romantic Getaways
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site


Customer Comments

  • 8

    14/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 11/08/2018
    Excellent central location in a nice relaxed quiet area. Price was fair and the place was well equipped in general although some maintenance work and fittings weren't great, especially with a family using everything. But if you want central and quiet then it was a great place for our holiday.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable holiday. We have made a note of the maintenance issues you left in the guest book and they have all been addressed.

  • 10

    24/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 21/07/2018
    Very charming rustic little cottage with a lovely walled-in garden. We would definitely book the same again!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for this great review. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  • 8

    15/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/07/2018
    Enjoyed Kent, an area we hadn’t explored before. Locals were very friendly and helpful. Everywhere was dog friendly and it was lovely to find so many beaches that were dog friendly too.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for the review and so glad you enjoyed exploring dog-friendly Kent. Hope to see you again soon.

  • 8

    30/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/06/2018
    A nice house in a beautiful area of the country.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

  • 6

    09/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 02/06/2018
    The cottage is very secluded which we liked, the owners live behind and there is another secluded small cottage just to the left but all have their own private gardens which is lovely. The cottage is fairly well stocked with kitchen equipment and it is a nice little cottage in general with an old fire place. The local village does not offer anything other than a pub (I gave it 8 as we did not have an issue with this) but there are plenty of little villages nearby to visit for essentials and if you have been out and about all day there is plenty of chance to pick up resources. The instructions to find the place are detailed but sadly wrong, the tenant of the other cottage said the same to me one morning. You do not go down'The High Street' (which according to the sign post is actually 'The Street') and turn left at 'School Lane' then right into Grove Road'. If you do this you will come out the other side of the village! As you approach the village of Staple there is a farm tack on your left literally just past the welcome sign and 30mph sign, turn left here, this is Grove Road and follow it down. There is only a road name post if you approach from the other direction and have traveled through the village. 2 locals had never heard of the cottages or Grove Road and there was no mobile phone signal to call so it wasn't an easy start. Our only issue is that repeated of others - please get a professional cleaner and make the place spotless, it does depend on your standards I guess but the windows are dirty in the doors and I don't mean with your general outside window dust, the back of the main door has mud swiped across it and whatever you do don't lose your car keys and look under the sofa! I used the bath mat with my foot to wipe up a few water drops on the floor and when I picked the mat up it was brown underneath. The vacuum cleaners are not very good which may contribute to the floors but we did have to clean the mugs and plates to use them as they were dirty, I guess from previous tenants but this should be checked. Please also paint the kitchen cupboards and side of the bath with proper paint and not emulsion - it does not look good. It is the dirtiest holiday cottage we have stayed in, over 8 years with 2 cottages a year. But... If you can get past that the bungalow is a quiet, relaxing place with easy access to other areas.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We were very surprised to read that you felt this was the dirtiest cottage you have every stayed in. We usually get very high praise for the cleanliness of the cottages. As we say at the initial phone call, and in the welcome book, and in person, if guests have any problems at all then please get in touch and we will solve the problem immediately. The only feedback we got from you was that the areas under the sofa needed cleaning. We were not informed of this until you left and it was attended to immediately. Any problems with the floors could have easily been solved if you had been in touch. There is a dishwasher so I am not sure why the cups would have been dirty. It does seem unfair to complain about things like cleaning without giving us a chance to rectify the issue. We would have been more than happy to come in and clean the floors if you did not think they were up to standard. The directions to the cottage have now been updated and are now easier for guests to follow. Though we don't understand this guest's directions and can only assume she has somehow got them muddled. We have never known a problem with the mobile signal - it is very good here - but of course would have given help if they had called us on the way. I have passed on your complaints to our housekeeper to deal with, but would have appreciated being given the chance to rectify this problem before you wrote this review.

  • 8

    16/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/05/2018
    Relaxing preaceful three night stay here

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for the review. We are pleased you had a nice relaxing time at the Bothy.

  • 10

    17/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 10/03/2018
    2nd time lovely place

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for the positive score and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.2 out of 10 – based on 23 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.