You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 22,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Dovecote - The Bothy

Staple, near Wingham, Kent
Grade 3 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

14/05/2019
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?



Description

This characterful and charming Grade II listed Kentish getaway is hidden in beautiful countryside, and enjoys a sunny private patio and enclosed garden.

4 steps to entrance. Terracotta tiled floor throughout.
Ground Floor:
Living/dining room: With open fire, Freeview TV and DVD player.
Kitchen: With electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.

Initial fuel for open fire included. Travel cot and highchair available on request. Doggy extras. Enclosed, lawned garden with patio and garden furniture. Private parking for 2 cars.

All properties: Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Welcome pack. Barbecue. Grounds (shared with other holiday cottages). No smoking.

The Bothy was built for Sir William Lynch as part of the Groves Estate in 1750 and was a gardener’s cottage and storage for carts. Following a sympathetic conversion, the detached cottage is now a wonderful getaway for families and couples, and dogs are welcome.

The location is wonderful, with a pub close by in the village of Staple and the picturesque Wingham only two miles away. Sandwich, close to the beach and containing more listed buildings than any other village in the UK, is only 6 miles away. The cathedral city of Canterbury is also a short drive and is a lively place with plenty of diverse shopping, clubs and restaurants. One can even hop on the ferry, or Eurotunnel for a trip over to France. You will feel your cares drifting away as you cross the private garden and enter the cosy warmth of this cottage. A striking open fire waits on winter evenings, or you can sit out on the sunny patio with a glass of wine to enjoy a Kentish summer at its best. An abundance of walks are on your doorstep with a number of good pubs to finish up in. There is a bus stop within walking distance with hourly buses running to Sandwich and Canterbury. Shop and restaurant 2½ miles, pub 1 mile.

The Bothy can be booked together with Gamekeeper’s Cottage (UKC1062) to accommodate up to 6 guests.These three Grade II listed holiday properties are located on part of the Groves Estate, which was built for Sir William Lynch in around 1750. Guests are also welcome to explore the wildflower meadow which lies at the edge of the grounds alongside the main house. Sandwich, close to the beach and containing more listed buildings than any other village in the UK, is only 6 miles away. The cathedral city of Canterbury is also a short drive and is a lively place with plenty of diverse shopping, clubs and restaurants. One can even hop on the Ferry, or Eurotunnel for a trip over to France. Shop and restaurant 2½ miles, pub 1 mile.
The properties can be cooked together to accommodate up to 6 guests.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Romantic Getaways
    Romantic Getaways
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • More Than Dog Friendly
    More Than Dog Friendly


Customer Comments

  • 10

    01/07/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/06/2019
    The best holiday we have had with our dog. Lovely comfortable cottage and a completely enclosed dog friendly garden we couldn't have asked for more. The location was just wonderful and the local pub and attached village shop are well worth a visit. We researched dog friendly pubs and coffee houses along with garden centres and were not disappointed when we visited with the dog all three of us were made very welcome. We have already booked again for next year.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for the lovely review and we are very happy you had a nice time. We look forward to seeing you and Captain Hastings again next year.

  • 8

    23/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/06/2019
    Lovely place in rural Kent. Garden ideal for pets and children. Well resourced and greatly appreciated the surprises left for us and dog. Peaceful. From here we visited many places in S.E. Kent including Canterbury, Dymchurch , Sandwich and Dover. Brilliant time. Many thanks.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and liked the welcome pack. We hope to see you again soon.

  • 9

    13/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 10/06/2019
    Had a lovely weekend and enjoyed our stay at The Bothy. Was tucked away with just a few houses nearby, had its own private garden which was perfect for the dogs, as meant could let them out without worrying about them. The cottage itself was much larger than i was expecting, full of character and very welcoming. although location was fairly remote, there was plenty to do only a few minutes drive away. the villages nearby had shops, pubs and restaurants. Visited Deal, Margate, Canterbury and Broadstairs and took the dogs for lovely long walks everyday. They loved it and so did we. Only criticism is that the cottage could do with a bit of work, much of the decor is looking tired and was a little cluttered for my tastes.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you and your dogs enjoyed the stay. We hope to see you again.

  • 5

    08/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 06/06/2019
    This cottage has such potential, it is in a quiet idyllic location, with a lovely private garden. We also had a bottle of wine, cake and crisps left for our arrival, which was a lovely touch. The kitchen was well equipped and the bed linen was very clean and of good quality. Unfortunately, the towels were rather grey and stiff, and we were only left one hand towel for our 4 night stay. There was also a used dirty towel still hanging on the back of the bedroom door from the previous guests. The tiles throughout the cottage needed a good mopping and there were cobwebs everywhere. I had to buy a new throw for one of the sofa’s so that we could sit on it, as the throw and sofa beneath was filthy, and there was a powerful smell of damp dog from both the throws on the sofa’s. As I say, it is a shame, as this cottage could be wonderful.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are pleased this guest enjoyed the welcome pack and the cottage generally. It is a shame they went and bought a new throw when if they had contacted us we could have brought round a throw within minutes. We have never had complaints about the towels before. They are a bit stiff because we dry them on the line outside but they soften up very quickly. I would disagree they were grey. The cottage is right in the middle of the country and spiders do get in and spin cobwebs very quickly. We would have been happy to pop in and wipe them away if told. It must be remembered the cottage is three hundred years old and customers must appreciate the floor is not going to look like a modern lino floor but we feel it adds character. The floor was not dusty and please be reassured it is regularly mopped. The previous guests towel should not have been left behind, that was an oversight on the housekeeping teams part. They have been reminded to check. It is a shame the guests did not give us an opportunity to rectify any problems when they were there, rather than telling us in an online review after they have left.

  • 10

    29/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2019
    What a fantastic place this is. Very clean but not so clean that you are put off doing anything there. Anything that you could possibly want is provided (even a lovely little welcome pack) and probably has better equipment than our own home! It is wonderfully 'out-of-the-way' so it is very quiet but a nearby pub (The Black Pig) is very welcoming and does really nice food at good prices. When you go in for the first time you already feel accepted as a local. One of the things that took my breath away was that the loo roll had puppies on it - now that is dog friendly - also treats for the dogs in the kitchen. Towels and bed linen all pristine clean. We have already booked again for next year. So much to see and a nice central location to travel from. I have been trying to sort out photos - new software and new camera - not working for me at the moment.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Looking forward to seeing you at the Bothy again.

  • 4

    24/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 18/05/2019
    The standard of cleaning was poor, well below what should be provided. There were cobwebs in all rooms and the dusting appears to have been cursory. Crockery and cutlery had been put away dirty by the previous tenants and not been spotted by the cleaners. I have never been confronted with such a filthy oven, burnt food hanging off the shelf. I had to set to with a scourer, not what I wanted after a long journey. Of the three saucepans, only two had lids. Of those, one had such a loose handle it wasn't safe to use. The other one was better, although the handle on the lid was wobbly. No tea towels were provided. That said, the cottage was comfortable, and in an excellent location. The immediate surroundings were delightful, and peaceful, and it was well situated for getting around the area.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. It is a huge shame that despite being told numerous times to contact us if there was a problem, you failed to do so. If you had I could have got the cleaning company out again immediately. As we don’t live there I have to trust them to keep the place to a high standard and I apologise they let us down on this occasion. I have passed on your comments to the team.

  • 9

    30/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/03/2019
    A lovely hideaway full of peace and quiet. Some lovely walks from the cottage or nearby. The Bothy has everything you will need for a comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for this wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy and hope to see you return.

  • 7

    16/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/03/2019
    This is a great little holiday get away but is let down by attention to detail. It was evident that dogs had been in the house with hairs visible around the living room and kitchen. A bar of soap had been left in the bathroom with hairs embedded in it. It is a shame these little things were not sorted as we otherwise enjoyed our stay. It is in a great location which is convenient for trips along the coast and Canterbury is only a short drive away.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We thank the guest for taking the time to write this review and we are glad they enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area. The soap should not have been left behind - liquid soap is provided in all our properties - and the housekeeping team have been reminded of this. Should not happen again. Also they have been told to make doubly sure any dog hairs have been removed. They do know this, but we did have a problem with the hoover which may have meant the hairs were not removed as efficiently as they have been. This has now been rectified.

  • 10

    25/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 24/02/2019
    Great peaceful holiday. 30 minutes walk to a lovely pub the Black Pig, highly recommend. You do need a car for other amenities, otherwise lovely.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you at The Bothy again.

  • 8

    16/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 14/01/2019
    For us staying with two small dogs it was perfect, walks,pubs,fabulous farm shop recommended by owners,friendly area.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back at The Bothy soon.

  • 5

    19/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/10/2018
    Electrical equipment good, bedding very good, problem areas, inside lighting extremely bad, out side light on the property Brocken, the light over the garage doors not working, the sencer light on the side wall of garage working but covered by a high bush and keep coming on in the wind. After 7pm when it was dark the whole out side areas are dangerous . Also the outside steps I feel cannot be legal as there is no hand rail. We were lucky we had good weather to enjoy Kent very much, but had to struggle when getting back to the cottage. One last thing, the TV is so small and up in the corner, it needs to be at least 32” and on the wall above the table and radiator. The red couch would be thrown out If these improvements are made the property would above average.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you to the guest for taking the time to write this review. It is a shame they did not inform us during their stay about their issues which we would have done our best to rectify while they were still there. The bulbs have now been replaced so there is now ample outside lighting. We are pleased they enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area.

  • 7

    17/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/09/2018
    The outside terrace let it down. Needed weeding and the garden furniture rusty. Having a sizable enclosed garden ideal for the dogs and a nice quiet location. Inside a few cobwebs and the toilet flushing was noisy. But otherwise fine. Some nice quality furnishings and kitchenware.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your response and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the comments about the garden - this has now been rectified. We can't do anything at present about the noisy lavatory flush, but we are looking into resolving this.

  • 8

    06/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/09/2018
    Comfortable cottage with a lovely enclosed garden where the children could play safely. Great location with family friendly attractions nearby.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy and hope to see you and your family again soon.

  • 10

    01/07/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/06/2019
    The best holiday we have had with our dog. Lovely comfortable cottage and a completely enclosed dog friendly garden we couldn't have asked for more. The location was just wonderful and the local pub and attached village shop are well worth a visit. We researched dog friendly pubs and coffee houses along with garden centres and were not disappointed when we visited with the dog all three of us were made very welcome. We have already booked again for next year.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for the lovely review and we are very happy you had a nice time. We look forward to seeing you and Captain Hastings again next year.

  • 8

    23/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/06/2019
    Lovely place in rural Kent. Garden ideal for pets and children. Well resourced and greatly appreciated the surprises left for us and dog. Peaceful. From here we visited many places in S.E. Kent including Canterbury, Dymchurch , Sandwich and Dover. Brilliant time. Many thanks.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and liked the welcome pack. We hope to see you again soon.

  • 9

    13/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 10/06/2019
    Had a lovely weekend and enjoyed our stay at The Bothy. Was tucked away with just a few houses nearby, had its own private garden which was perfect for the dogs, as meant could let them out without worrying about them. The cottage itself was much larger than i was expecting, full of character and very welcoming. although location was fairly remote, there was plenty to do only a few minutes drive away. the villages nearby had shops, pubs and restaurants. Visited Deal, Margate, Canterbury and Broadstairs and took the dogs for lovely long walks everyday. They loved it and so did we. Only criticism is that the cottage could do with a bit of work, much of the decor is looking tired and was a little cluttered for my tastes.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you and your dogs enjoyed the stay. We hope to see you again.

  • 5

    08/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 06/06/2019
    This cottage has such potential, it is in a quiet idyllic location, with a lovely private garden. We also had a bottle of wine, cake and crisps left for our arrival, which was a lovely touch. The kitchen was well equipped and the bed linen was very clean and of good quality. Unfortunately, the towels were rather grey and stiff, and we were only left one hand towel for our 4 night stay. There was also a used dirty towel still hanging on the back of the bedroom door from the previous guests. The tiles throughout the cottage needed a good mopping and there were cobwebs everywhere. I had to buy a new throw for one of the sofa’s so that we could sit on it, as the throw and sofa beneath was filthy, and there was a powerful smell of damp dog from both the throws on the sofa’s. As I say, it is a shame, as this cottage could be wonderful.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are pleased this guest enjoyed the welcome pack and the cottage generally. It is a shame they went and bought a new throw when if they had contacted us we could have brought round a throw within minutes. We have never had complaints about the towels before. They are a bit stiff because we dry them on the line outside but they soften up very quickly. I would disagree they were grey. The cottage is right in the middle of the country and spiders do get in and spin cobwebs very quickly. We would have been happy to pop in and wipe them away if told. It must be remembered the cottage is three hundred years old and customers must appreciate the floor is not going to look like a modern lino floor but we feel it adds character. The floor was not dusty and please be reassured it is regularly mopped. The previous guests towel should not have been left behind, that was an oversight on the housekeeping teams part. They have been reminded to check. It is a shame the guests did not give us an opportunity to rectify any problems when they were there, rather than telling us in an online review after they have left.

  • 10

    29/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2019
    What a fantastic place this is. Very clean but not so clean that you are put off doing anything there. Anything that you could possibly want is provided (even a lovely little welcome pack) and probably has better equipment than our own home! It is wonderfully 'out-of-the-way' so it is very quiet but a nearby pub (The Black Pig) is very welcoming and does really nice food at good prices. When you go in for the first time you already feel accepted as a local. One of the things that took my breath away was that the loo roll had puppies on it - now that is dog friendly - also treats for the dogs in the kitchen. Towels and bed linen all pristine clean. We have already booked again for next year. So much to see and a nice central location to travel from. I have been trying to sort out photos - new software and new camera - not working for me at the moment.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Looking forward to seeing you at the Bothy again.

  • 4

    24/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 18/05/2019
    The standard of cleaning was poor, well below what should be provided. There were cobwebs in all rooms and the dusting appears to have been cursory. Crockery and cutlery had been put away dirty by the previous tenants and not been spotted by the cleaners. I have never been confronted with such a filthy oven, burnt food hanging off the shelf. I had to set to with a scourer, not what I wanted after a long journey. Of the three saucepans, only two had lids. Of those, one had such a loose handle it wasn't safe to use. The other one was better, although the handle on the lid was wobbly. No tea towels were provided. That said, the cottage was comfortable, and in an excellent location. The immediate surroundings were delightful, and peaceful, and it was well situated for getting around the area.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. It is a huge shame that despite being told numerous times to contact us if there was a problem, you failed to do so. If you had I could have got the cleaning company out again immediately. As we don’t live there I have to trust them to keep the place to a high standard and I apologise they let us down on this occasion. I have passed on your comments to the team.

  • 9

    30/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/03/2019
    A lovely hideaway full of peace and quiet. Some lovely walks from the cottage or nearby. The Bothy has everything you will need for a comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for this wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy and hope to see you return.

  • 7

    16/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/03/2019
    This is a great little holiday get away but is let down by attention to detail. It was evident that dogs had been in the house with hairs visible around the living room and kitchen. A bar of soap had been left in the bathroom with hairs embedded in it. It is a shame these little things were not sorted as we otherwise enjoyed our stay. It is in a great location which is convenient for trips along the coast and Canterbury is only a short drive away.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We thank the guest for taking the time to write this review and we are glad they enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area. The soap should not have been left behind - liquid soap is provided in all our properties - and the housekeeping team have been reminded of this. Should not happen again. Also they have been told to make doubly sure any dog hairs have been removed. They do know this, but we did have a problem with the hoover which may have meant the hairs were not removed as efficiently as they have been. This has now been rectified.

  • 10

    25/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 24/02/2019
    Great peaceful holiday. 30 minutes walk to a lovely pub the Black Pig, highly recommend. You do need a car for other amenities, otherwise lovely.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you at The Bothy again.

  • 8

    16/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 14/01/2019
    For us staying with two small dogs it was perfect, walks,pubs,fabulous farm shop recommended by owners,friendly area.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back at The Bothy soon.

  • 5

    19/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/10/2018
    Electrical equipment good, bedding very good, problem areas, inside lighting extremely bad, out side light on the property Brocken, the light over the garage doors not working, the sencer light on the side wall of garage working but covered by a high bush and keep coming on in the wind. After 7pm when it was dark the whole out side areas are dangerous . Also the outside steps I feel cannot be legal as there is no hand rail. We were lucky we had good weather to enjoy Kent very much, but had to struggle when getting back to the cottage. One last thing, the TV is so small and up in the corner, it needs to be at least 32” and on the wall above the table and radiator. The red couch would be thrown out If these improvements are made the property would above average.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you to the guest for taking the time to write this review. It is a shame they did not inform us during their stay about their issues which we would have done our best to rectify while they were still there. The bulbs have now been replaced so there is now ample outside lighting. We are pleased they enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area.

  • 7

    17/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/09/2018
    The outside terrace let it down. Needed weeding and the garden furniture rusty. Having a sizable enclosed garden ideal for the dogs and a nice quiet location. Inside a few cobwebs and the toilet flushing was noisy. But otherwise fine. Some nice quality furnishings and kitchenware.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your response and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the comments about the garden - this has now been rectified. We can't do anything at present about the noisy lavatory flush, but we are looking into resolving this.

  • 8

    06/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/09/2018
    Comfortable cottage with a lovely enclosed garden where the children could play safely. Great location with family friendly attractions nearby.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy and hope to see you and your family again soon.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.7 out of 10 – based on 20 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 2 Property Ref: UKC1062 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE