You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

The Coach House

Ratho, near Edinburgh, Edinburgh and the Lothians
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

31/12/2019
View Map Shortlist
Sleeps 4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms 2
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Scottish Country Cottages collection

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Description

With Gleneagles close by golf enthusiasts will love this beautiful, traditional cottage with views of the Union Canal.

Hidden away among lovely beech trees and with views from the terrace of the attractive Union Canal, The Coach House is a perfect base from which to explore Edinburgh. Stone-built and detached, it is set within the extensive grounds of the owners’ home on the edge of a village where a good pub, local shops and an opportunity to take a canal cruise can be found. For keen walkers there is good hill walking in the Pentland Hills Regional Park. Glasgow, Perthshire, Fife and the Borders and, of course, the beautiful city of Edinburgh are all within easy access. Golf close by. Guests receive 10% discount in the owner’s award winnning pub, 5 minutes’ walk. Shops ½ mile.

Living/dining room with wood-burning stove. Well-equipped modern kitchen with door to terrace. Double bedroom with steps up to en-suite bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet. Twin bedroom. Shower room with toilet.

  • Wood-burning stove - initial fuel included, thereafter available locally
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Cot
  • High chair
  • TV (Freeview)
  • DVD
  • Stereo/CD
  • Microwave
  • Washer/dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Wi-fi
  • Decked terrace and furniture
  • Shared 17-acre garden with natural woodland and grounds
  • Parking (for 3 cars)
  • Cycle storage
  • No smoking

Show amenities 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Romantic Getaways
    Romantic Getaways
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 10

    13/04/2019
    Confirmed guest, 06/04/2019
    This was truly a wonderful cottage. Very spacious, well equipped and in a beautiful location. Local pub excellent and within easy reach of places of interest to visit and a short drive into Edinburgh. Great walks for our 2 dogs and superb enclosed patio area. Owner and staff on the Ratho Hall estate where Coach House is situated all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.


  • 10

    31/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 30/03/2019
    Well appointed cottage in a secluded spot. Ideally placed for Edinburgh. Roomy interiors. Large grounds around. Quiet.


  • 8

    15/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/01/2019
    A cosy cottage in a great location. Very well equipped and helpful owners on hand if required. A great location for Edinburgh and surrounding areas.


  • 8

    02/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 21/12/2018
    We had a nice stay at the Coach house and overall it was very good. It was warm and clean and there was milk and eggs on arrival (no wine as for other visitors, but never mind). There were a couple of things that we thought needed to be addressed: a shelf in each bathroom to put toiletries would have been useful. We also couldn't get the washer/dryer to dry; not an issue as we were only there for a few days but if it'd been a longer stay it might have caused some issues. The settees are a type of chesterfield and not overly comfortable; after less than an hour in them both of us had backaches. The second bedroom has a skylight but no blind for it (something that has been mentioned before) and this meant that our daughter wouldn't sleep in the room as she found it a bit creepy with the trees in view outside. As this is in the suggestions book from 2016 and as the owners had stated then that they were going to deal with it, it was a shame that they hadn't. That aside, it's a very nice property in a good location; the local pub is nice but the food is over priced. There are 2 small shops in the village but for most essentials you'll be better off at one of the bigger supermarkets that are only a few minutes drive away.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you had a few niggles during your stay. Our sofas are new and we have never had a single negative comment about them since we have had them - I am sorry that you found them uncomfortable. We have had all sorts of problems with the blind in our second bedroom. We have had one in place since 2016 but a previous customer pulled it down and as this has happened previously we want to find a better solution. One is being made as I write. There is a curtain on the other window in the room and the skylight is at the far end of the bedroom, and at this time of year it is dark when you go to bed and when you wake up. However I am sorry that it wasn't up when you were staying with us. I am afraid that I disagree with you that the pub is overpriced as it serves locally produced home made food. I hope that you have a happy 2019.

  • 9

    12/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 09/11/2018
    The Cottage was clean and comfortable. It is in a very quiet location but within a short drive to the Park and Ride.


  • 10

    19/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/10/2018
    Excellent....very happy holiday break, and Rachael was very helpful...thankyou.


  • 10

    22/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 21/09/2018
    This was our second visit to this cottage and once again it proved to be a winner. The nearby pub/restaurant served lovely food and the 10% discount was very acceptable.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your kind review, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us. I hope that we are able to welcome you back again to The Coach House in the future.

  • 10

    26/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/06/2018
    Just back from our stay in Edinburgh and we had a fantastic time. The coach house is lovely, transport into the city centre is easy through the number 20 bus and tram links, we were close to the highland show, only 10 minutes on the bus. The coach house is perfect, next time we will stay longer than 2 nights as we felt it just wasn’t long enough. The fresh milk, eggs, and wine was a lovely touch and greatly appreciated. Comfy beds and good showers and most importantly it is tranquil and peaceful such a short distance to Edinburgh. We will most definitely be back.


  • 10

    10/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/04/2018
    Great week at the Coach House, our two dogs loved the woodland and local walks. The cottage was comfortable, spacious and well equipped and we felt we lacked for nothing. Half a dozen fresh eggs, milk and a bottle of wine on arrival were very welcome. We have already booked our next stay.


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.2 out of 10 – based on 20 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE