You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 22,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Sweet Briar

Bothenhampton, near Bridport, Dorset
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Pets 3
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?



Description

Set in an AONB perfect for a relaxing holiday and also for walking and spotting wildlife in abundance in this area.

All on the ground floor.
Living room: With Freesat TV, DVD player and French doors leading to garden.
Kitchen/dining room: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer.
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With single bed.
Shower room: With shower cubicle and toilet.

Gas central heating included. Enclosed garden with garden furniture. No children under 5 years old.

All properties: Electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Private parking for 1 car. No smoking.

Set in the unspoilt village of Bothenhampton about a mile from Bridport and the new harbour of West Bay, where the TV series "Broadchurch" was filmed, and its beaches. The historic rope-making town of Bridport with its twice weekly market is a gateway town to the Jurassic Coast, England’s only natural World Heritage Site. Sweet Briar (ref 8234) and Buzzards (ref 8235, first floor) are in the east wing of an old country house and Farthings (ref 19292) is in the west. The holiday properties have views over the fields and woodland of the Dorset Downs. Many badgers have made their sets in the hill behind, and there is an abundance of wildlife. For the past few years holidaymakers in Sweet Briar (ref 8234) and Buzzards (ref 8235) have been able to watch a family of deer grazing in the adjacent fields and during the summer months, bats put on an amazing aerial display. Perfect for relaxing or more invigorating walking holiday in this AONB, which includes extensive NT land. Chesil Beach, one of the finest barrier beaches, begins at West Bay. Lyme Regis with its Cobb and the famous fossil beach at Charmouth are close by. Not far away is the ancient town of Dorchester with its Iron Age hill fort and Roman town house and many other sites of historic interest. Spend a day at Abbotsbury Swannery, the only place in the world where you can walk among the baby swans (hatching from May). Golf course and leisure centre nearby. Bike hire available locally. Ideal for exploring the Jurassic Coast or for just relaxing in this tranquil village. Shop, pub and restaurant ¾ mile.

Read more 

Features

  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Satellite TV
    Satellite TV
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 10

    17/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2019
    Lovely clean and well equipped in a beautiful peaceful location perfect for accessing the area.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are pleased you found Sweet Briar well equipped and clean. It is ideally situated for exploring the Jurassic Coast and this AONB.

  • 10

    20/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 17/05/2019
    Maybe a couple of grab rails in the shower

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; So glad you were able to relax and have a wonderful and peaceful holiday at Sweet Briar. We enjoyed our chats each day. Thank you for your positive feedback. We will make enquiries about grab rails in the shower. Hope to welcome you back soon.

  • 5

    21/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 18/02/2019
    We arrived to a bright ,light modern looking apartment. The owner welcomed us and the apartment was warm and cosy . We could see it was spotless ,The bedlinen was of good quality and clean the first impressions were great . A lovely cream tea with home made scones was very welcoming and a great start to our mini break . However we found the sounds from upstairs very off putting ,you could hear the upstairs guests using the bathroom and every one of their footsteps .We also found the bed too firm for us and we both found it difficult to get comfortable. The second night was a little better because their wasn't anyone in the upstairs apartment. The kitchen well equipped however i found the open shelve with the pots and pans and crockery on it, not to my taste, (a little worried how it would work in summer with flys on the glassware and crockery) useful additions would be a microwaveable jug and glass bowels/ Casserole dishes , I am sure the owners would have supplied us if we had asked but it's only when you are cooking you find out what's missing . This is not on the itinerary of the apartment but a hairdryer would be a useful extra and often supplied in cottages we have stayed in . I have had to mark down our stay because of the above issues with sound it is a shame because it was in a great location and owers gave us a very warm welcome.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; So glad you had a good holiday at Sweet Briar and we enjoyed chatting to you when we saw you. Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you liked the cream tea. Each time we asked if everything was all right you said you were pleased with Sweet Briar and when you left you said you had had a really good holiday. It is a shame that you did not say that you could not find the hairdryer as it is in the chest of drawers in the second bedroom. We have now put it in to the main bedroom so that this should not be a problem for future guests who do not think of looking in the second bedroom. There is a microwaveable jug for guests use. It is in the back of the cupboard behind the pyrex bowl. Our front door is within 2 or 3 yards of Sweet Briar. We could have quickly provided the items you needed for cooking if it had been necessary or explained where they are kept in Sweet Briar. We always look after our guests and help them have a happy, enjoyable and carefree holiday and we are disappointed that you did not tell us about these things which are important to you. We are sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable but this is very subjective. The bedstead is from Laura Ashley and has a sprung slatted base with their Eversham mattress and was new in spring 2018. At each turnover we thoroughly check and clean Sweet Briar. There has never been a problem with the open shelves in the kitchen. These make it simpler for guests to quickly see and use exactly what they want, items in cupboards can easily be overlooked. The photos of Sweet Briar show this clearly and it is always a good idea to read carefully and look at the photos of a property before you book so that you can be sure to holiday in a property that suits your particular requirements. Sweet Briar is a ground floor flat and you will be aware of other guests. Many guests return regularly to Sweet Briar each year.

  • 9

    26/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/11/2018
    We have been visiting Sweet Briar, Bothenhampton, Bridport and this area of Dorset for the last 13 years. Enough said.


  • 9

    05/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2018
    Ideal location - good dog walking from the door. Well equipped and very comfortable. Lovely welcome from the owners who provided a cream tea to kick-off our break.


  • 8

    04/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/09/2018
    Lovely flat, we had the bottom flat, and the only problem was the noise from the people upstairs. Not that they were noisy, but you hear them walking everywhere, I layed in bed and could hear them getting out of bed walking to the bathroom and peeing then them going and walking back to bed! Every time !!!! We could hear there dog walking across the floor, everything.... plus the bed is only a double with a very hard mattress! !! There are also two very steep steps into the garden, so wouldn't go back again we left on the friday, as neither of us slept well at all.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; So glad you liked the flat and thank you for the lovely comment you wrote in the visitor’s book. Happily, you did not go home until Friday lunchtime. There are three steps to the garden, which are 18cm high, and there is a wrought iron handrail. We often have elderly guests and they use these steps without any complaint, so we are unsure why you thought the steps are steep and in the 32 years of guests coming to Sweet Briar, this is the first time anyone has said this. The mattress is less than a year old, is an Eversham mattress from Laura Ashley, and is on a slatted bedstead also from Laura Ashley. We understand that the comfort of a bed is subjective but we have provided a bed and mattress, which many guests have found to be comfortable and supportive. We do not advertise a king size bed, the bed is a standard double. You can hear guests moving around in the flat above but guests who have stayed at Sweet Briar have said that they are less aware of other guests than in a terraced or semi-detached property.

  • 9

    16/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/09/2018
    This cottage provided a good base for seeing a lovely part od Dorset. The cottage is fairly isolated with lovely views and locally has excellent walks with the dogs. The owners live on site and were helpful but not intimidating. The garden is really safe for the dogs and very peaceful to sit in However my brother and I like to cook and we were a little disappointed in the provision of cooking utensils. There were no local maps available and usually there are books, games and dvd's available but there were none here

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are so pleased that you liked the peacefulness of the area and had a good holiday. As you enjoy cooking, you must have liked the newly fitted kitchen added in January 2018 with the granite type work top and new appliances: the ceramic hob, electric oven, touch microwave, integrated fridge and freezer, Smeg toaster and kettle. There are a selection of utensils - stainless steel, silicon and wooden. We are always friendly and welcoming to guests and it's such a shame that you did not speak to us about the books and so on. These are kept in the small drawer in the wardrobe. There are maps in the extensive welcome folder but maybe you did not see them. All details for Sweet Briar are correct.

  • 10

    26/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2018
    Lovely cottage, clean, comfortable had everything we needed. Nice welcome when we arrived.


  • 8

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2018
    Modern ground floor flat with high spec equipment. French windows out onto enclosed garden area great for dogs. 5 mins drive to shops and beach. Some noise from movement in flat above and digger on plot next door

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are so pleased that you liked Sweet Briar so much that you are hoping to come next year and you had a look round Buzzards so that you could compare the two apartments. We are glad you made the most of the good weather exploring the area with your two lively dogs. Our neighbour has had some trees cut down in his garden and the digger has been brought in to remove the tree roots. Whilst our neighbours live their own lives, they are aware that we have guests staying. They made sure that no work was carried out before 10am or after 4pm and restricted work to between one and two hours per day. Whilst the area round Sweet Briar is usually peaceful houses and gardens and farms need to be looked after and maintained throughout the year.

  • 9

    29/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/07/2018
    Lovely holiday here and would definitely stay again , just the loud footstep upstairs the only downside . Recommended for anyone with dogs especially the garden was great.


  • 10

    17/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2019
    Lovely clean and well equipped in a beautiful peaceful location perfect for accessing the area.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are pleased you found Sweet Briar well equipped and clean. It is ideally situated for exploring the Jurassic Coast and this AONB.

  • 10

    20/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 17/05/2019
    Maybe a couple of grab rails in the shower

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; So glad you were able to relax and have a wonderful and peaceful holiday at Sweet Briar. We enjoyed our chats each day. Thank you for your positive feedback. We will make enquiries about grab rails in the shower. Hope to welcome you back soon.

  • 5

    21/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 18/02/2019
    We arrived to a bright ,light modern looking apartment. The owner welcomed us and the apartment was warm and cosy . We could see it was spotless ,The bedlinen was of good quality and clean the first impressions were great . A lovely cream tea with home made scones was very welcoming and a great start to our mini break . However we found the sounds from upstairs very off putting ,you could hear the upstairs guests using the bathroom and every one of their footsteps .We also found the bed too firm for us and we both found it difficult to get comfortable. The second night was a little better because their wasn't anyone in the upstairs apartment. The kitchen well equipped however i found the open shelve with the pots and pans and crockery on it, not to my taste, (a little worried how it would work in summer with flys on the glassware and crockery) useful additions would be a microwaveable jug and glass bowels/ Casserole dishes , I am sure the owners would have supplied us if we had asked but it's only when you are cooking you find out what's missing . This is not on the itinerary of the apartment but a hairdryer would be a useful extra and often supplied in cottages we have stayed in . I have had to mark down our stay because of the above issues with sound it is a shame because it was in a great location and owers gave us a very warm welcome.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; So glad you had a good holiday at Sweet Briar and we enjoyed chatting to you when we saw you. Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you liked the cream tea. Each time we asked if everything was all right you said you were pleased with Sweet Briar and when you left you said you had had a really good holiday. It is a shame that you did not say that you could not find the hairdryer as it is in the chest of drawers in the second bedroom. We have now put it in to the main bedroom so that this should not be a problem for future guests who do not think of looking in the second bedroom. There is a microwaveable jug for guests use. It is in the back of the cupboard behind the pyrex bowl. Our front door is within 2 or 3 yards of Sweet Briar. We could have quickly provided the items you needed for cooking if it had been necessary or explained where they are kept in Sweet Briar. We always look after our guests and help them have a happy, enjoyable and carefree holiday and we are disappointed that you did not tell us about these things which are important to you. We are sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable but this is very subjective. The bedstead is from Laura Ashley and has a sprung slatted base with their Eversham mattress and was new in spring 2018. At each turnover we thoroughly check and clean Sweet Briar. There has never been a problem with the open shelves in the kitchen. These make it simpler for guests to quickly see and use exactly what they want, items in cupboards can easily be overlooked. The photos of Sweet Briar show this clearly and it is always a good idea to read carefully and look at the photos of a property before you book so that you can be sure to holiday in a property that suits your particular requirements. Sweet Briar is a ground floor flat and you will be aware of other guests. Many guests return regularly to Sweet Briar each year.

  • 9

    26/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/11/2018
    We have been visiting Sweet Briar, Bothenhampton, Bridport and this area of Dorset for the last 13 years. Enough said.


  • 9

    05/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2018
    Ideal location - good dog walking from the door. Well equipped and very comfortable. Lovely welcome from the owners who provided a cream tea to kick-off our break.


  • 8

    04/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/09/2018
    Lovely flat, we had the bottom flat, and the only problem was the noise from the people upstairs. Not that they were noisy, but you hear them walking everywhere, I layed in bed and could hear them getting out of bed walking to the bathroom and peeing then them going and walking back to bed! Every time !!!! We could hear there dog walking across the floor, everything.... plus the bed is only a double with a very hard mattress! !! There are also two very steep steps into the garden, so wouldn't go back again we left on the friday, as neither of us slept well at all.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; So glad you liked the flat and thank you for the lovely comment you wrote in the visitor’s book. Happily, you did not go home until Friday lunchtime. There are three steps to the garden, which are 18cm high, and there is a wrought iron handrail. We often have elderly guests and they use these steps without any complaint, so we are unsure why you thought the steps are steep and in the 32 years of guests coming to Sweet Briar, this is the first time anyone has said this. The mattress is less than a year old, is an Eversham mattress from Laura Ashley, and is on a slatted bedstead also from Laura Ashley. We understand that the comfort of a bed is subjective but we have provided a bed and mattress, which many guests have found to be comfortable and supportive. We do not advertise a king size bed, the bed is a standard double. You can hear guests moving around in the flat above but guests who have stayed at Sweet Briar have said that they are less aware of other guests than in a terraced or semi-detached property.

  • 9

    16/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/09/2018
    This cottage provided a good base for seeing a lovely part od Dorset. The cottage is fairly isolated with lovely views and locally has excellent walks with the dogs. The owners live on site and were helpful but not intimidating. The garden is really safe for the dogs and very peaceful to sit in However my brother and I like to cook and we were a little disappointed in the provision of cooking utensils. There were no local maps available and usually there are books, games and dvd's available but there were none here

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are so pleased that you liked the peacefulness of the area and had a good holiday. As you enjoy cooking, you must have liked the newly fitted kitchen added in January 2018 with the granite type work top and new appliances: the ceramic hob, electric oven, touch microwave, integrated fridge and freezer, Smeg toaster and kettle. There are a selection of utensils - stainless steel, silicon and wooden. We are always friendly and welcoming to guests and it's such a shame that you did not speak to us about the books and so on. These are kept in the small drawer in the wardrobe. There are maps in the extensive welcome folder but maybe you did not see them. All details for Sweet Briar are correct.

  • 10

    26/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2018
    Lovely cottage, clean, comfortable had everything we needed. Nice welcome when we arrived.


  • 8

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2018
    Modern ground floor flat with high spec equipment. French windows out onto enclosed garden area great for dogs. 5 mins drive to shops and beach. Some noise from movement in flat above and digger on plot next door

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are so pleased that you liked Sweet Briar so much that you are hoping to come next year and you had a look round Buzzards so that you could compare the two apartments. We are glad you made the most of the good weather exploring the area with your two lively dogs. Our neighbour has had some trees cut down in his garden and the digger has been brought in to remove the tree roots. Whilst our neighbours live their own lives, they are aware that we have guests staying. They made sure that no work was carried out before 10am or after 4pm and restricted work to between one and two hours per day. Whilst the area round Sweet Briar is usually peaceful houses and gardens and farms need to be looked after and maintained throughout the year.

  • 9

    29/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/07/2018
    Lovely holiday here and would definitely stay again , just the loud footstep upstairs the only downside . Recommended for anyone with dogs especially the garden was great.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.5 out of 10 – based on 17 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE