You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Seacliff Cottage

Strete, near Dartmouth, Devon
Grade 4 Star rating
View Map Shortlist
Sleeps8
Bedrooms5
Bathrooms2
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

Relax on one of the balconies whilst drinking in the amazing sea views, stretching for miles along the South Devon coastline.

This beautiful holiday home has got to have one of the most stunning panoramic sea views in the whole of South Devon! Perched high on the cliffs above Slapton Sands, Seacliff Cottage is a three-storey detached house, built in the 1970s, with extensive sea facing balconies and large decked terraces looking directly out to sea and all along the coast with the fresh water lagoon, right over to Start Point Lighthouse. Slapton is a 3-mile, pebbly beach, a favourite with holiday makers in the summer, and fishermen in the winter, and of course, the location of the rehearsal site for the D-Day landings. It is also featured in the book ‘Adolphus Tips’ by Michael Morpurgo. Slapton Ley is a nature reserve where wonderful bird life can be seen, take a quiet walk with your binoculars and your camera and you will be thrilled at what you find.
Seacliff Cottage is a great house for a family or a group of friends, with a spacious living room on the top floor and huge windows and balconies. There is a spacious dining room on the first floor, again with the most terrific views and a second sitting room leading off one of the bedrooms. This is perfect location for a holiday at any time of the year, not just for summer but for fabulous spring, autumn and winter short breaks, a great get-away location for people of all ages. Beach ½ mile. Shop, pub and restaurant ¼ mile.

Ground Floor:
Utility room:
With washing machine and fridge.
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With double bed.
Bedroom 3: With single bed.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.
Separate toilet.
Open-tread stairs to...
First Floor:
Dining room:
With patio doors leading to decked balcony.
Kitchen: With electric cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer.
Bedroom 4: With single bed.
Shower room: With shower cubicle (no toilet)
Separate toilet.
Bedroom 5:
With double bed and open-tread, spiral stairs leading to...
Sitting room: With patio doors leading to decked balcony.
Separate open-tread stairs to...
Second Floor:
Living room:
With Freeview TV and double patio doors leading to balcony.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Cot, travel cot, high chair and stairgate. Private parking for 6 cars. No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Sea View
    Sea View
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site


Customer Comments

  • 8

    03/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 27/12/2018
    The cottage was beautiful with amazing views and the owners put wonderful Christmas decorations up for our stay. My only criticism is that the kitchen is too small for the size of the house


  • 9

    04/12/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/12/2018
    Fantastic,,, just what we expected from the photos, and description - - only very tiny negative was the ground floor heating didnt seem to work right, so rooms were very cold - ground floor. we will definitively be booking again...


  • 9

    21/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 12/11/2018
    Had some very strange episodes with the ground floor lights. Bathroom light was not working, then it just did, but the hallway lights would not work, when the bathroom light worked. (do not believe in ghosts)


  • 10

    04/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2018
    We had a fantastic week in Seacliffe Cottage. Amazing location with breathtaking views. We will definitely be booking again


  • 4

    29/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/10/2018
    Cleanliness wasn't great. There were a number of flies throughout the property, both dead and alive. Oven wasn't clean. Horrible large stain on the sitting room rug. Telescope, football table and stereo didn't work.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Many thanks for your helpful comments which we have acted upon immediately. We contacted the cleaner who stated that Seacliff Cottage had been cleaned to a high standard. She stated that if you had contacted her during your stay she would have attended. We were not aware of the stain on the rug which must have occurred very recently but we have now replaced this rug with a new one. The stain was due to the door to the upper balcony being left open during a storm i.e. a water stain. There is a Bang and Olufsen wall mounted stereo which opens for use when you wave your hand in front of it but also has a remote control. It was fully functioning following your visit. I am very sorry that you were unable to operate it. The football table was a bit stiff to turn the players but this has now been resolved. The ship’s binoculars are from the HMS Shefield and is an object not designated for use but is an historic item in keeping with the nautical theme of the house. We also provide hand held binoculars which are designated for enjoying the spectacular views.

  • 10

    02/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/10/2018
    A great location with amazing views over the beach. Just a 10min walk down to the sea front. Must visit laughing monk restaurant 10 minutes walk away in Strete, lovely food.


  • 5

    25/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/09/2018
    A damp fousty smell on arrival. A few other problems with this property. No Wi-Fi. One of the toilet doors wouldn't close. No fire door on kitchen. Rain pouring through one of the windows in the down stairs bedroom. Garden a little unsitely. No protection around the patio as the drop is over 6 feet. A little unfinished but still has some character. Very dirty windows. This is a big thing when you have such lovely stunning views. Telescope doesn't work as there is far too much mould in the lens. Some chess pieces are broken. Table football is that stiff you end up moving the table. Unfortunately we had to stay in the whole visit due to the weather.


  • 1

    07/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 06/05/2018
    Seacliff is a very tired rental and would benefit from some tlc maintenance and a good clean. On pulling up our first impressions of seacliff were very disappointing. Garden was a mess , completely overgrown, scaffolding on the floor tree cuttings piled up, spilt cement on the drive, not very welcoming at all! On entering we were hit with a foul damp smell , we had to open all doors and windows, went to put champagne in utility fridge to be faced with mould, not impressed! Upstairs kitchen had mouse droppings in the cupboard, and the bin bag had been chewed in the morning. A dishwasher with no tablets , 1 toilet roll,pubic hair in the shower, crumbs beside the bed, cobwebs... I could go on! We took photos to back this up. Seacliff has not been presented well at all. Tiles falling off the wall on the balcony, balcony railings loose making a gap big enough for a child to fall through, dirty “blown” patio doors, that we needed to oil as we couldn’t open. Fortunately between us we didn’t let it spoil our celebrations. For the amount we paid for 2 nights we were very disappointed and would not recommend seacliff and feel I we were over charged and would like my money back. Your photos are very misleading.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: We value the opinions of each of our guests and act on their serious constructive criticism to constantly improve our property. We were glad that you enjoyed your celebrations whilst staying at Seacliff Cottage. However, we were bewildered by your comments regarding our cottage as we had spent time there ourselves just prior to your stay. We immediately contacted our excellent housekeeper and she was also surprised at your comments and your feedback score as she had attended the day of your arrival (and of your departure) to check that all was in order. She confirmed that there was no musty smell present and that the heating was on. Our housekeeper is on-call 24 hours a day to deal with any queries or unexpected issues. She confirmed that you did not contact her during your visit. She is extremely professional and is capable of dealing with any problems that arise. Seacliff Cottage with its cliff-top location enjoys panoramic views of Start Bay as well as the SlaptonLine and the freshwater lake of Slapton Lay. The views are spectacular and one of the best in Britain. We were therefore perplexed by your low score for location. With regard to your comments about the field mouse, it is inevitable that a house in such a rural location will tempt an unwanted visior every now and again. You did state that you left doors open during your stay, an open-invitation! In future, we will place a humane ultra sonic repellent to discourage another visit. A few weeks ago,the whole of South Devon was covered in deep snow, a very unusual event! As a result, the well planted garden is late in blooming this year. The scaffolding pole mentioned was placed out of sight in an inaccessable part of the garden and should not have been in view to cause you distress. In future we will remove it. The photographs on the website are a true representation, nothing has been removed or altered since they were posted and the property is well maintained. Many of the furnishings and fittings have been lime-washed and waxed to give our property a relaxed, sea-side feel. We are disappointed that you did not appreciate the styling concept. Seacliff Cottage is situated in an exosed position on the top of a cliff, as is susceptible to occasional storm damage. A tile was displaced during a recent storm and will be repositioned. As mentioned, we attended just before your stay and did not find any issues with the balcony. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and will assess and carry out any repairs if necessary. We appreciate that everybody is entitled to their opinion but nevertheless, we were surprised by your comments. Seacliff Cottage has may visitors who have loved their restful stay at this magical and atmospheric location.

  • 5

    24/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/03/2018
    Positives A fabulous view and balconies. Location beautiful. Dining room and lounge great areas for spending time together while making the most of the views. Very peacefull. Negatives On arrival heating was on full power and property smelt damp and musty. thermostatic controller did not seem to work properly. Kitchen is very small for a more than 2 people. No grassed area at the property makes it a challenge when it accepts dogs. Bedding fixtures and fittings a little tired compared to similar properties we have stayed in.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are very glad that you enjoyed the fabulous views and found it very peaceful. The house is prepared before each visit and the heating is left on so that the guests have a warm house for their arrival so we were very surprised regarding your comment that the property smelt damp on your arrival. Indeed I was at Seacliff Cottage myself a few hours after the guest left. There were no such damp or musty smells and the house was very warm. With regard to the thermostatic controller, I found no issues and it was fully functioning. If the guest had any issues understanding the controller he should have contacted our excellent and friendly housekeeper who would have been happy to show him how to operate it. Indeed we urge all guests to raise any issues during their stay. The housekeeper is very prompt and professional and resolves any of our guests’ concerns immediately. The kitchen is well equipped and is only an area for preparing food. The layout is optimised for the spectacular views so the dining room is very large with an oak dining table that seats 10 with floor to ceiling windows with the stunning sea views. The property specifications are clearly described and photographed on the web site so not sure why this was an issue. We do not advertise as having “grassed areas” but most dogs love the walks on the beach, a short off-road walk on the South West Coastal Path. There is also a Community Field in Strete Village off Vicarage Lane with spectacular views of Start Bay as well as many public pathways. This is a dog paradise! We purchased expensive designer bed linens (such as Sanderson, Dorma and Racing Green) at the start of the season to coordinate each room. We have asked the housekeeper to ensure that the correct linens are placed in each room as photographed on your website. We find it hard to understand the comment regarding the bedding. We are always happy to receive constructive comments. We always act on such comments to constantly improve our property and we are disappointed by your 5/10 rating.

View All Guest Reviews
×

6.8 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE