Double (standard 4ft 6in)
Double (standard 4ft 6in)
Single (standard 3ft) Single (standard 3ft)
Single (standard 3ft) Single (standard 3ft)
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments by visiting my booking x.
Back to Search

Customers'

choice award

Sleeps 8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms 3
Pets 0
Check-in
Check-out

Newhouse Barton - Barn Owl

Ipplepen, near Totnes, Devon | HCCW 5 Grade:
COMING SOON

Customers'

choice award

Shortlist View Map Share
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
Updating the calendar...
Done

Prices are shown for the whole stay

Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

What we love


Description

Barn Owl has been awarded five-stars and it’s not difficult to see why – it’s exceptionally stylish and guests can enjoy many shared facilities.

Ground Floor:
Living room:
With wood burner, Freeview TV, Playstation with a selection of games, DVD player with a selection of DVDs, CD player, a selection of children’s games and French doors leading to courtyard.
Kitchen/dining room: Farmhouse style with cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With kingsize bed, Freeview TV and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
First Floor:
Bedroom 2:
With double bed, Freeview TV and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds.
Bedroom 4: With twin beds.
Shower room: With walk-in shower and toilet.

Night storage heaters, central heating, electricity, Wi-Fi and fuel for wood burner included. 2 travel cots. Courtyard garden with garden furniture and gas BBQ. Organic food and wine deliveries by arrangement. Please note: This property has a security deposit of £150.

Bed linen and towels included. Highchair. Use of tumble dryer (shared). BBQ (shared). Games room with table tennis, pool table and table football (shared). Indoor heated swimming pool (shared, 38ft x 16ft, with changing and shower facilities, open all year round 9am - 8pm). Young children’s play area with climbing frame. Ample parking. No smoking.

"Outstanding variety... situated in beautiful rolling Devon countryside and offering easy access to the many beaches of South and East Devon and the untamed beauty of Dartmoor. With a heated indoor swimming pool and quality recreational facilities, Newhouse Barton has it all"


Whether seeking an active family holiday or a relaxing weekend to recharge the batteries, Newhouse Barton is the perfect location from which to explore the South Hams, the Dart Estuary and Dartmoor. Located midway between Totnes and Newton Abbott, this collection of sympathetically and carefully restored barns and farm cottages enjoy a superb range of on-site facilities including a Roman-style heated indoor swimming pool (no additional charge), a traffic-free and child-friendly setting with young children’s play area and a furnished games room with pool table, table tennis, table football and toys for younger guests.

Nearby there is a range of quality restaurants and pubs serving an excellent range of food to suit all tastes and budgets. The surrounding area offers a beguiling mix of attractions to suit all tastes and ages. The seaside towns and villages from chic Salcombe to Torquay on the ‘English Riviera’, with its palm trees and sub-tropical plants, emanate a Mediterranean feel. Totnes is a 10-minute drive away, with a medieval castle and a thriving arts and crafts scene. Teignmouth is a traditional Victorian seaside resort with a nature reserve at Dawlish Warren, a hotspot for bird watching. Exeter has a world famous cathedral, quays and a shopping centre. For the more active, there’s surfing at Bigbury or visit Haldon Forest, with its cycle and nature trails and Go Ape! For the children, Torbay is easily reached, with Paignton Zoo and Living Coasts.

The wild beauty of Dartmoor is 20 minutes away with its abundance of wildlife and dramatic landscapes. Numerous National Trust properties are close by including Agatha Christie’s Greenway. Steam trains travel from Kingswear to Paignton and Totnes to Buckfastleigh. Visit historic Dartmouth with bustling boat harbour, castle, contemporary art galleries and boutiques. Salcombe with its beaches, sailing and watersports is also easily accessible, as well as Blackpool Sands, Slapton and picturesque Dittisham with its annual crab catching competition. Slightly further afield, East Cornwall and the Eden Project are within an hour’s drive, and the East Devon coast is easily accessible with its unique fishing port at Beer and beaches at Sidmouth and Branscombe. Local shops 1½ miles.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Baby and Toddler Friendly
    Baby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Swimming Pool
    Swimming Pool
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Walk-in Shower/Bath
    Walk-in Shower/Bath
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Childrens Play Area
    Childrens Play Area
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle
  • Celebration Houses
    Celebration Houses


Customer Comments

  • 3

    14/10/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/10/2019
    Slightly disappointed with the cottage due to it not being as spacious as photos or description mentions also had a baby with us and in description stated that there was a bath however when we arrived there was no bath!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Dear Guest - many thanks for your valuable feedback. It’s very useful to us. We are so sorry you were disappointed on arrival at Barn Owl as it is important to us that our property exceeds our guest’s expectations rather than disappoints. However, we aren’t really sure how we can take a photograph to make the property look other than it is and we regularly receive feedback from guests commenting on how spacious the accommodation is - even when two families are staying together. With regards your comment about the lack of a bath - we do specifically state that there are three showers so we are not quite clear why you were expecting a bath. We try hard to provide a real home from home where guests can kick back and relax and although on this occasion it appears we have fallen short of your expectations, we will continue to strive to reach this goal for all future guests.

  • 7

    04/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 02/03/2019
    Overall was a pleasant experience but couple of things let it down. When sitting in lounge was looking out to patio area at a delapitated outdoor storage box with rusting paint tins etc. Toilet seat in downstairs bathroom needs refastning and whole cottage needs a proper clean cobwebs etc down sides of storage heaters plus because key was not left in outside box had to wait 30 mins for someone to let us in! But to be fair our grandchildren and ourselves had a lovely holiday and none of the above would stop us returning..

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Dear Guest – thank you for your valuable feedback. We were so sorry to learn that the garden storage unit had succumbed to the gales in the week before your arrival and as a result you had to look at the contents which are not normally on view! You will be pleased to learn that a replacement was installed the weekend after your stay and all offending items have either been disposed of or are now hidden from sight. The downstairs loo seat is of a type that is designed to detach for ease of cleaning and rather than refastening, just needed to be “clicked” back into place. With regards cleaning, you will see from previous reviews that the cottage regularly receives high scores for its level of cleanliness but it is the case that the cottage is located in the beautiful Devon countryside and we do therefore get the occasional spider. Whilst every effort is made to clean after every guest, owing to periods when the cottage is not occupied between guest’s visits, cobwebs do occasionally appear. They are harmless and really shouldn’t have caused undue distress. The issue with the key was due to the fact that the guest before you left with two sets of keys in their pocket but once advised of the situation, we had a replacement set with you as swiftly as was possible.

View All Guest Reviews
×

5.0 out of 10 – based on 2 reviews collected by reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

CLOSE