You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 22,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Lloyds Cottage

Portland Bill, near Portland, Dorset
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Pets0
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?



What we love


Description

This fantastic property is ideal for families looking to explore this wonderful part of Dorset with so much to do close by.

All on the ground floor.
Open plan living space.
Living area: With Sky TV (movies and sports package), Blu-ray player, iPod dock and CD player.
Dining area/sun room: With French doors leading to front of property.
Kitchen area: With electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer.
Bedroom 1: With kingsize bed and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 2: With single electric bed, single bed and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 3:
With kingsize bed.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.
Cloakroom: With toilet.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Cot and highchair available on request. Welcome pack. Sitting-out area with garden furniture and barbecue. Hot tub for 6 (private). Private parking for 3 cars. No smoking.

This coastal property is in a stunning location with plenty of exploring to be done and ideal for water based activities. Set in a stunning location with magnificent views over Portland Bill, the Bird Observatory and the famous lighthouse, this light and spacious properties is adjacent to the owners’ home, and offers a great holiday location. With historic links to World War II, semi-detached Lloyds Cottage was the old registration centre. Many of the rooms overlook the spectacular extensive view, especially the open plan living space. There is superb scenic coastal walking, birdwatching and of course water based activities to be found on Portland or in Weymouth harbour, be it wind surfing, yachting, boating, fishing, swimming or simply sunbathing on the beach. Explore Portland with its castle, museums and sailing academy, visit Chesil Beach and the World Heritage Coast down to Lyme Regis or up to Lulworth Cove, or visit Weymouth and Dorchester with their many family attractions. Beach 2 miles. Shop 2 miles, pub and restaurant 200 yards.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Satellite TV
    Satellite TV
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Electric Bed
    Electric Bed
  • Hot Tubs - Private
    Hot Tubs - Private
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 10

    01/08/2019
    Confirmed guest, 27/07/2019
    Wonderful, comfortable, spacious and well-equipped cottage with stunning views! The property is peaceful, relaxing and the hot tub was brilliant! Our 2 small girls loved the space, so I would absolutely recommend this property for families. The owners were so welcoming and friendly too! We had an amazing week away and would definitely recommend a stay here.


  • 5

    25/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/06/2019
    The view from the cottage was lovely but the rest a little disappointing. On entering the cottage there was a smell, reminded me of walking into my grandparents house when I was a kid. The pictures do make the accommodation look ok, but reality is a little different. The front room/dining room needs redoing, the cane furniture feels old and it seems to be a bit of a dumping ground for outdoor furniture cushions and random ornaments. The kitchen is low quality and the pantry/fuse box cupboard is grotty & disorganised, although if you wanted to bake something or have gravy (3 gravy boats) you’ll love it. The main bathroom is really nicely done, but took forever to fill the bath for my daughter every night with poor water pressure and not very hot water. The lounge is nice comfy and bright with sky tv which was good. New carpets everywhere except the dining room. The main double bedroom and ensuite were ok, the bathroom doesn’t have a window so the room constantly smelt damp with water just sitting there after the shower was used. The other double bedroom we couldn’t use because the mattress was all springs & simply awful - needs replacing, we ended up sleeping in single beds next door which were more comfy. The ensuite in the twin room need a revamp, exposed pipes, wonky tiles and toilet does flush very well. The garden was lovely but when we went outside to play realised it was cordoned off so all we had was a small patch off grass next to the road and some very steep steps down to a deck area. With a toddler we were looking forward to having the space to run around outside so that was disappointing. I understand this is an old building but it feels like it’s been done on a tight budget. We paid over £1000 for a week mid June and I’ve come away feeling massively hard done by. I’ve paid a lot less and stayed in much better accommodation. The view is amazing, but isn’t worthy of the prices you are charging.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Lloyds Cottage, we spoke to your party during your stay a few times and was told everything was OK. The mattress in question has now been renewed, we didn’t realise it was so bad as it was only 11 months old. It's not possible to put a window in every en suite bathroom so we have a fan installed. The cottage was gutted last year, and everything renewed, in the en suite there is a radiator pipe exposed and maybe one wonky tile. In the past guests were very happy with all the equipment in the kitchen and said it made it home from home, we have a mixture of new furniture and good condition old furniture around the house as it shows in the photos. The outside cushions are stored on a bench in the sunroom/dining room so as they are kept clean and dry, if left in a box outside they would get damp and dirty. In regard to the adjacent garden it is not part of the letting property and has been fenced off for safety reasons due to a swimming pool, air raid shelter and a well. We thought it best to fence it off to stop any accidents. If asked we would have allowed you to play on the grass as long as the child was supervised, but other than that there is plenty of outside space at Portland Bill to play with a ball without walking too far. Sorry again you didn’t enjoy yourselves, the weather didn’t help but some things could have been resolved during your stay.

  • 10

    17/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2019
    perfect in every way


  • 8

    04/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2019
    Lovely cottage & location. Only downer was that there was a huge garden that we didn’t have access too. There was a outdoor space with the hot tub which was ideal but no actual garden


  • 10

    08/12/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/12/2018
    Beautiful, clean, spacious cottage with stunning views. Fantastic decked area and amazing hot tub. We had a great weekend even though the weather was bad, sky sports was a bonus too! Recommend stocking up on food and drink for your stay as shops on Portland are limited. Highly recommend cottage.


  • 10

    19/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2018
    could not fault the cottage or the owners they were really helpful and lovely (even when we arrived early on a tow truck) everything is well plan out and there is nothing more you want in the cottage. we loved the hot tub and the views are stunning we are now planning a return trip next year.


  • 10

    01/08/2019
    Confirmed guest, 27/07/2019
    Wonderful, comfortable, spacious and well-equipped cottage with stunning views! The property is peaceful, relaxing and the hot tub was brilliant! Our 2 small girls loved the space, so I would absolutely recommend this property for families. The owners were so welcoming and friendly too! We had an amazing week away and would definitely recommend a stay here.


  • 5

    25/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/06/2019
    The view from the cottage was lovely but the rest a little disappointing. On entering the cottage there was a smell, reminded me of walking into my grandparents house when I was a kid. The pictures do make the accommodation look ok, but reality is a little different. The front room/dining room needs redoing, the cane furniture feels old and it seems to be a bit of a dumping ground for outdoor furniture cushions and random ornaments. The kitchen is low quality and the pantry/fuse box cupboard is grotty & disorganised, although if you wanted to bake something or have gravy (3 gravy boats) you’ll love it. The main bathroom is really nicely done, but took forever to fill the bath for my daughter every night with poor water pressure and not very hot water. The lounge is nice comfy and bright with sky tv which was good. New carpets everywhere except the dining room. The main double bedroom and ensuite were ok, the bathroom doesn’t have a window so the room constantly smelt damp with water just sitting there after the shower was used. The other double bedroom we couldn’t use because the mattress was all springs & simply awful - needs replacing, we ended up sleeping in single beds next door which were more comfy. The ensuite in the twin room need a revamp, exposed pipes, wonky tiles and toilet does flush very well. The garden was lovely but when we went outside to play realised it was cordoned off so all we had was a small patch off grass next to the road and some very steep steps down to a deck area. With a toddler we were looking forward to having the space to run around outside so that was disappointing. I understand this is an old building but it feels like it’s been done on a tight budget. We paid over £1000 for a week mid June and I’ve come away feeling massively hard done by. I’ve paid a lot less and stayed in much better accommodation. The view is amazing, but isn’t worthy of the prices you are charging.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Lloyds Cottage, we spoke to your party during your stay a few times and was told everything was OK. The mattress in question has now been renewed, we didn’t realise it was so bad as it was only 11 months old. It's not possible to put a window in every en suite bathroom so we have a fan installed. The cottage was gutted last year, and everything renewed, in the en suite there is a radiator pipe exposed and maybe one wonky tile. In the past guests were very happy with all the equipment in the kitchen and said it made it home from home, we have a mixture of new furniture and good condition old furniture around the house as it shows in the photos. The outside cushions are stored on a bench in the sunroom/dining room so as they are kept clean and dry, if left in a box outside they would get damp and dirty. In regard to the adjacent garden it is not part of the letting property and has been fenced off for safety reasons due to a swimming pool, air raid shelter and a well. We thought it best to fence it off to stop any accidents. If asked we would have allowed you to play on the grass as long as the child was supervised, but other than that there is plenty of outside space at Portland Bill to play with a ball without walking too far. Sorry again you didn’t enjoy yourselves, the weather didn’t help but some things could have been resolved during your stay.

  • 10

    17/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2019
    perfect in every way


  • 8

    04/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2019
    Lovely cottage & location. Only downer was that there was a huge garden that we didn’t have access too. There was a outdoor space with the hot tub which was ideal but no actual garden


  • 10

    08/12/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/12/2018
    Beautiful, clean, spacious cottage with stunning views. Fantastic decked area and amazing hot tub. We had a great weekend even though the weather was bad, sky sports was a bonus too! Recommend stocking up on food and drink for your stay as shops on Portland are limited. Highly recommend cottage.


  • 10

    19/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2018
    could not fault the cottage or the owners they were really helpful and lovely (even when we arrived early on a tow truck) everything is well plan out and there is nothing more you want in the cottage. we loved the hot tub and the views are stunning we are now planning a return trip next year.


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.0 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE