You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 22,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Kitchen Cottage

Mousehole, Penzance, Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

14/05/2019
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers


Description

With a barbecue and just moments away from the beach, Kitchen Cottage truly captures the essence of a family holiday.

Open plan living/dining room with well equipped kitchen area and wooden floor. First floor: Double bedroom. Twin bedroom. Bathroom with shower over ¾ bath and toilet.

Electricity, NSH, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot. High chair. Freeview TV. DVD. Microwave. Washing machine. Dishwasher. Freezer. Wi-fi. Courtyard with furniture. Barbecue. Public car park 100 yards £3 per day. No smoking.

Tucked away in a quiet corner, this renovated cottage is situated only yards from the harbour and beach in the heart of the village of Mousehole. Previously the main kitchen and stores for the famous Lobster Pot Hotel, it has now been converted to provide open-plan accommodation with a delightful enclosed patio area and seating to the front. It is the perfect place to in which to relax after a day enjoying the many winding streets, cafés and galleries. Mousehole, on the South West Coastal Path, is a great base from which to explore the many beaches and coves. Lands End, Sennen, Newlyn, Penzance and St Ives are within easy reach. Shop and pubs 50 yards.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan


Customer Comments

  • 9

    26/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2019
    It was a delight staying at Kitchen cottage - loved the fact that there clearly had been a lot of thought put into the decor and the equipment; loved the art on the walls and the other touches and also the books - particularly the bird books and books about Cornwall (walks etc..) and also, as a cook, I appreciated the fact that the kitchen was very well equipped - I had brought a lot of kit with me because I’m used to places that are not well equipped or at least only with the most basic as it is assumed that people will eat out rather than cook when they’re on holiday. This wasn’t the case here which was fantastic. Parking was always going to be an issue in Mousehole (we know the area well) but this time of year was absolutely the best time to go to avoid the crowds and we were also very lucky with the weather. Oh, and I haven’t selected any of the ‘best described; because actually all applied perhaps with the exception of the bathroom which was quite ‘tight’ (not surprisingly although we felt that whomever had carried out the conversion had done a lovely job) if you were not fairly slim (thankfully despite liking our food, we both are! :-)


  • 8

    23/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/03/2019
    Cottage was very pretty and as expected. It could do with some maintenance as quite a few lights needed bulbs replacing and the outside light above the door didn’t work. The emergency torch was also missing. Nice touches with the milk, biscuits and tea, coffee etc. The courtyard was not enclosed or secure so not suitable for having dogs outside at all. There was no way of making it secure. Mousehole is NOT dog friendly and it is quite a walk to get to the fields. Dogs are not allowed on either of the sandy beaches at any time and can only go on the rocky beaches which may not be suitable for all.


  • 10

    25/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 24/02/2019
    Lovely cottage, clean tidy and presentable. Hard to find at 10pm in the dark. Parking not great but we would go back


  • 10

    06/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/01/2019
    Another holiday in Kitchen Cottage to welcome in the New Year lovely cottage and fantastic location- Mousehole!


  • 10

    30/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/09/2018
    We had such a wonderful time we shed a tear at the thought of going home . It was a wonderful week where happy memories were made for me my son and our dog .


  • 3

    20/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2018
    The village of Mousehole is very cosy and we loved it especially in the morning before all the tourists fell into the village. The cottage is situated closely to the small and nice little harbour- awfully you don‘t see anything of harbour nor beach since you are surrounded by the other buildings and find yourself in the „Second row“. Anyway the seagulls are always well heard..... And People from the appartement opposite may look into your sleeping room. We would have loved to find the cottage in a clean and suitable estate but -as mentioned by the management- the cleaning team seems to have had only very few time..... I didn‘t expect that it is the task of the holiday guest to clean the house-anyway I had to do it since the cleaning team obviously doesn‘t know what a vacuum cleaner is and I like my bathroom without someone else‘s hair. Even the bed linnen in our son‘s bedroom was dirty! To me and my experience at this price level you ought to expect more.....

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We were disappointed to read your review following your recent stay at Kitchen Cottage. The property does not advertise a harbour / sea view however; we are situated in the heart of Mousehole and only moments away from the beach and harbour – Who could ask for anything more? Your comments however have highlighted that after a very busy summer season, a little TLC is due therefore a programme of decoration and maintenance will be put into place as soon as bookings allow during the quieter winter season. The Cottage is thoroughly cleaned prior to each guest’s arrival and we do not believe that it is dirty. We are sorry that, unlike the vast majority of our customers, you did not find Kitchen Cottage to your liking and are genuinely disappointed to receive such a low score, which is not consistent with our usual feedback.

  • 9

    06/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/08/2018
    Wonderful the entire time with the added advantage of that private courtyard providing us with fond memories of daily,B-B-Qed freshly caught fish from Newlyn as well as veg/salad from various farmers mkts. Local amenities very good from the 2 Fore Street restaurant through to the little corner shop for essentials as well as catering for everything in between,not forgetting the great Ship Inn made even more special by the very social Morris Dancers on Friday night! Also an added bonus was always finding a parking spot at the North Quay at a very reasonable £3 a day.


  • 5

    29/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/07/2018
    Mousehole is in itself a great location but as a base it is a little limited due to significant parking limitations and costs and size of shopping. The house felt a little damp and was also in need of a good clean in the corners. The outside space was also not really what we had expected with it just being an inner court yard.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure we address any issues with cleaning in the corners. The property is right close to the sea but has an air circulation system to address any issues with damp. We have not had any complaints about damp since this was installed and I am sorry that you felt this to be the case. We will be re-sealing the back wall to prevent any possible ingress from the courtyard of the adjoining property. I am sorry you were disappointed with the outside space. The description is quite clear that it is a courtyard - and although it cannot be completely closed off it is good size for dining and entertaining. We do not claim that there is a sea view but the property is a minute from the harbour and beach. In the weather we have had this summer the courtyard should have been very pleasant. Most older properties in the heart of the village do not have any outside space so this is a bonus. The parking situation has been very trying this summer. The harbour car parks are close by but it requires luck to get into them, while space in the big car park next to the Coastguard Hotel has been severely curtailed due to substantial emergency works. I have been trying to find a potential parking space for guests to ease the situation.

  • 9

    26/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2019
    It was a delight staying at Kitchen cottage - loved the fact that there clearly had been a lot of thought put into the decor and the equipment; loved the art on the walls and the other touches and also the books - particularly the bird books and books about Cornwall (walks etc..) and also, as a cook, I appreciated the fact that the kitchen was very well equipped - I had brought a lot of kit with me because I’m used to places that are not well equipped or at least only with the most basic as it is assumed that people will eat out rather than cook when they’re on holiday. This wasn’t the case here which was fantastic. Parking was always going to be an issue in Mousehole (we know the area well) but this time of year was absolutely the best time to go to avoid the crowds and we were also very lucky with the weather. Oh, and I haven’t selected any of the ‘best described; because actually all applied perhaps with the exception of the bathroom which was quite ‘tight’ (not surprisingly although we felt that whomever had carried out the conversion had done a lovely job) if you were not fairly slim (thankfully despite liking our food, we both are! :-)


  • 8

    23/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/03/2019
    Cottage was very pretty and as expected. It could do with some maintenance as quite a few lights needed bulbs replacing and the outside light above the door didn’t work. The emergency torch was also missing. Nice touches with the milk, biscuits and tea, coffee etc. The courtyard was not enclosed or secure so not suitable for having dogs outside at all. There was no way of making it secure. Mousehole is NOT dog friendly and it is quite a walk to get to the fields. Dogs are not allowed on either of the sandy beaches at any time and can only go on the rocky beaches which may not be suitable for all.


  • 10

    25/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 24/02/2019
    Lovely cottage, clean tidy and presentable. Hard to find at 10pm in the dark. Parking not great but we would go back


  • 10

    06/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/01/2019
    Another holiday in Kitchen Cottage to welcome in the New Year lovely cottage and fantastic location- Mousehole!


  • 10

    30/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/09/2018
    We had such a wonderful time we shed a tear at the thought of going home . It was a wonderful week where happy memories were made for me my son and our dog .


  • 3

    20/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2018
    The village of Mousehole is very cosy and we loved it especially in the morning before all the tourists fell into the village. The cottage is situated closely to the small and nice little harbour- awfully you don‘t see anything of harbour nor beach since you are surrounded by the other buildings and find yourself in the „Second row“. Anyway the seagulls are always well heard..... And People from the appartement opposite may look into your sleeping room. We would have loved to find the cottage in a clean and suitable estate but -as mentioned by the management- the cleaning team seems to have had only very few time..... I didn‘t expect that it is the task of the holiday guest to clean the house-anyway I had to do it since the cleaning team obviously doesn‘t know what a vacuum cleaner is and I like my bathroom without someone else‘s hair. Even the bed linnen in our son‘s bedroom was dirty! To me and my experience at this price level you ought to expect more.....

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We were disappointed to read your review following your recent stay at Kitchen Cottage. The property does not advertise a harbour / sea view however; we are situated in the heart of Mousehole and only moments away from the beach and harbour – Who could ask for anything more? Your comments however have highlighted that after a very busy summer season, a little TLC is due therefore a programme of decoration and maintenance will be put into place as soon as bookings allow during the quieter winter season. The Cottage is thoroughly cleaned prior to each guest’s arrival and we do not believe that it is dirty. We are sorry that, unlike the vast majority of our customers, you did not find Kitchen Cottage to your liking and are genuinely disappointed to receive such a low score, which is not consistent with our usual feedback.

  • 9

    06/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/08/2018
    Wonderful the entire time with the added advantage of that private courtyard providing us with fond memories of daily,B-B-Qed freshly caught fish from Newlyn as well as veg/salad from various farmers mkts. Local amenities very good from the 2 Fore Street restaurant through to the little corner shop for essentials as well as catering for everything in between,not forgetting the great Ship Inn made even more special by the very social Morris Dancers on Friday night! Also an added bonus was always finding a parking spot at the North Quay at a very reasonable £3 a day.


  • 5

    29/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/07/2018
    Mousehole is in itself a great location but as a base it is a little limited due to significant parking limitations and costs and size of shopping. The house felt a little damp and was also in need of a good clean in the corners. The outside space was also not really what we had expected with it just being an inner court yard.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure we address any issues with cleaning in the corners. The property is right close to the sea but has an air circulation system to address any issues with damp. We have not had any complaints about damp since this was installed and I am sorry that you felt this to be the case. We will be re-sealing the back wall to prevent any possible ingress from the courtyard of the adjoining property. I am sorry you were disappointed with the outside space. The description is quite clear that it is a courtyard - and although it cannot be completely closed off it is good size for dining and entertaining. We do not claim that there is a sea view but the property is a minute from the harbour and beach. In the weather we have had this summer the courtyard should have been very pleasant. Most older properties in the heart of the village do not have any outside space so this is a bonus. The parking situation has been very trying this summer. The harbour car parks are close by but it requires luck to get into them, while space in the big car park next to the Coastguard Hotel has been severely curtailed due to substantial emergency works. I have been trying to find a potential parking space for guests to ease the situation.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.7 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE