You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 22,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Kirsty Cottage

Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

23/05/2019
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 1
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers


Description

This 250-year old cottage is perfectly located in the heart of Moffat with a good selection of shops, pubs and restaurants.

Ground Floor:
Living room: With multi-fuel burner, Freeview TV, DVD player and CD player.
Kitchen/dining room: With electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and tiled floor.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With double bed and sloping ceiling.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds and sloping ceiling.
Separate toilet.

Gas central heating, gas, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Fuel for multi-fuel burner available locally. Telephone - for incoming calls only. On road parking. No smoking.

Situated in the heart of the Victorian spa town of Moffat, this 250-year-old, stone, end-terraced cottage retains its traditional character and is an ideal base from which to explore the area. Horse riding, quad biking and golf are all available locally and the 7stanes offers world class mountain biking across Dumfries and Galloway, and the Scottish Borders. Rod hire is available in town for three fishing lochs at the Green Frog Centre on the edge of Moffat, which also has an adventure play park and animal farm. Edinburgh, Carlisle, Glasgow and the historic castles and abbeys in the borders are within an hour of Moffat. Shop, pub and restaurant 200 yards.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine


Customer Comments

  • 10

    15/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/05/2019
    Clean to perfection. This cottage has everything you need to call this a second home. Just 50 yards to shops, first class cafes and evening dining. Local walking and the Southern Upland Way passes through town. Great walk at the Grey Mares Tail. We visited Dumfries and 2 castles all within an hour drive. Edinburgh is only 90 minutes and a must visit.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for your delightful comments. We are very proud of our cleaner who does an excellent job, as can be seen by the current scores of 9.6 out of 10 and were working on the missing 0.4. We were really please also that you have since booked another stay at Kirsty Cottage and we are forward to welcoming you again in a few weeks time.

  • 9

    08/04/2019
    Confirmed guest, 06/04/2019
    Lovely cottage,everything you need,only down was Internet ,very intermittent

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. Moffat is an isolated town, surrounded by beautiful hills, which is part of the attraction of this town. Unfortunately this does mean that the phone and Wi-Fi signals are not as good as other places at times. However, we do have the best Wi-Fi service available and receive very few complaints about the signal, which is beyond our control.

  • 10

    24/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 23/02/2019
    Great location, close to center, but very quiet. Well equipped with quality items. The bathrooms up and downstairs were a real bonus. Lovely fresh linen and towels. All you can wish for, we would recommend this cottage

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your excellent review. We hope you will come back again soon.

  • 9

    06/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/01/2019
    What can I say, our stay was so good at Kirsty Cottage, that we came home yesterday and have now booked up for next New Year too. The cottage is in an ideal position for everything, shops, restaurants, take always and some lovely hotels and pubs. Kirsty Cottage has got everything needed for a lovely break away, it’s like a home from home and a bonus is the log fire. We loved our stay, the Cottage is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. I would recommend it to anyone. Mary.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you. We're delighted that you have booked again and we look forward to hearing from you nearer your holiday.

  • 10

    07/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/12/2018
    The cottage was very warm & very centrally located. The mattresses were comfy. We would definately stay here again with only a few things that could have been better; the internet signal dropped out several times during our stay, there are no kerbside recycling facilities so we had to drive our recycling to a centre in the next village and the fire had not been cleared out from the previous holidaymakers. We loved the cottage & it had plenty of room for the four of us.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you very much for your feedback and we're delighted that you had a lovely time in Moffat.

  • 8

    19/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2018
    We enjoyed our time at the cottage with good amenities and comfort. We went out every day. Just a few minor things to address - toilet seat did not fit downstairs and the plug did not work either in the basin. A good base for walkers - loads to do and see.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Apologies for the late response but we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. The defects have been repaired and we look forward to welcoming you to Moffat again in the future.

  • 10

    29/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/09/2018
    Nice clean and cosy cottage lovely wood burning stove

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you liked the wood burning stove, a lot of our guests comment that it add atmosphere to the cottage. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.

  • 10

    27/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/09/2018
    Beautiful cottage in an excellent location with everything on your doorstep. Very clean and everything you need. Great Moffat walks for all abilities. We took the dog and there is an excellent field and riverside walk on the doorstep.Would definitely recommend to others.


  • 9

    17/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/09/2018
    Lovely wee cottage

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you so much for your kind comments about Kirsty Cottage. It was nice to speak to you while you were there and we are delighted that you intend to return again next year.

  • 9

    10/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/09/2018
    Our 2nd visit from New Zealand, wish it was closer as such a fantastic holiday home. The website needs to be clear about availability especially for people travelling from outside the EU as contacting the owner can be difficult given time zones, otherwise brilliant and we would strongly recommend it to our friends and family, hope to return for a 3rd time in the future.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you very much for your very kind review of Kirsty Cottage. We have had quite a few overseas visitors but not many who have travelled as far as you to stay at Kirsty Cottage. I will speak to the booking agency about getting in touch, as I know there was a slight difficulty in communicating with each other prior to arrival. We hope you had a pleasant journey back to New Zealand and we will look forward to your next visit to Moffat.

  • 10

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2018
    Fantastic cottage close to town center we all had a fab time really enjoyed it wee would definitely use kirsty cottage again


  • 8

    17/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/07/2018
    Excellent holiday home with central location for Moffat town and walks along the Annan River. Not having a car had to rely on local bus service, with few direct services to some places we wished to visit, but that had no major bearing on the flat which was very good. Only thing missing was the welcome gift that have had from other cottages in Scotland ( bread, eggs, milk, biscuits, bottle of wine etc about £8 - 10 in total).

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you very much for your feedback which is very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday despite having no car. The local bus service is actually quite good but if you only want to go to the most popular destinations Glasgow, Edinburgh and Dumfries. Apart from those destinations, there is little public transport. We would have liked to have been able to offer a welcome pack but the cottage is our own family’s holiday home and as we live over 250 miles away so we have to employ a local cleaner to look after it for us. Unfortunately, purchasing and providing a gift pack is not a service that they provide, but they do an excellent job of cleaning and looking after our cottage as you can see from the review scores on cleanliness. We hope you will return to Kirsty Cottage soon.

  • 10

    10/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 09/07/2018
    Kirsty cottage was very nice and clean, had everything for you to enjoy a good holiday. Amenities in Moffat are great and on the whole very good value for money. Would go back again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our Kirsty Cottage, I remember we spoke at the time of your stay and I’m glad the arrangements worked out for you. We are very proud of the feedback we have received from our guests.

  • 10

    15/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/05/2019
    Clean to perfection. This cottage has everything you need to call this a second home. Just 50 yards to shops, first class cafes and evening dining. Local walking and the Southern Upland Way passes through town. Great walk at the Grey Mares Tail. We visited Dumfries and 2 castles all within an hour drive. Edinburgh is only 90 minutes and a must visit.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for your delightful comments. We are very proud of our cleaner who does an excellent job, as can be seen by the current scores of 9.6 out of 10 and were working on the missing 0.4. We were really please also that you have since booked another stay at Kirsty Cottage and we are forward to welcoming you again in a few weeks time.

  • 9

    08/04/2019
    Confirmed guest, 06/04/2019
    Lovely cottage,everything you need,only down was Internet ,very intermittent

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. Moffat is an isolated town, surrounded by beautiful hills, which is part of the attraction of this town. Unfortunately this does mean that the phone and Wi-Fi signals are not as good as other places at times. However, we do have the best Wi-Fi service available and receive very few complaints about the signal, which is beyond our control.

  • 10

    24/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 23/02/2019
    Great location, close to center, but very quiet. Well equipped with quality items. The bathrooms up and downstairs were a real bonus. Lovely fresh linen and towels. All you can wish for, we would recommend this cottage

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your excellent review. We hope you will come back again soon.

  • 9

    06/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/01/2019
    What can I say, our stay was so good at Kirsty Cottage, that we came home yesterday and have now booked up for next New Year too. The cottage is in an ideal position for everything, shops, restaurants, take always and some lovely hotels and pubs. Kirsty Cottage has got everything needed for a lovely break away, it’s like a home from home and a bonus is the log fire. We loved our stay, the Cottage is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. I would recommend it to anyone. Mary.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you. We're delighted that you have booked again and we look forward to hearing from you nearer your holiday.

  • 10

    07/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/12/2018
    The cottage was very warm & very centrally located. The mattresses were comfy. We would definately stay here again with only a few things that could have been better; the internet signal dropped out several times during our stay, there are no kerbside recycling facilities so we had to drive our recycling to a centre in the next village and the fire had not been cleared out from the previous holidaymakers. We loved the cottage & it had plenty of room for the four of us.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you very much for your feedback and we're delighted that you had a lovely time in Moffat.

  • 8

    19/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2018
    We enjoyed our time at the cottage with good amenities and comfort. We went out every day. Just a few minor things to address - toilet seat did not fit downstairs and the plug did not work either in the basin. A good base for walkers - loads to do and see.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Apologies for the late response but we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. The defects have been repaired and we look forward to welcoming you to Moffat again in the future.

  • 10

    29/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/09/2018
    Nice clean and cosy cottage lovely wood burning stove

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you liked the wood burning stove, a lot of our guests comment that it add atmosphere to the cottage. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.

  • 10

    27/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/09/2018
    Beautiful cottage in an excellent location with everything on your doorstep. Very clean and everything you need. Great Moffat walks for all abilities. We took the dog and there is an excellent field and riverside walk on the doorstep.Would definitely recommend to others.


  • 9

    17/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/09/2018
    Lovely wee cottage

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you so much for your kind comments about Kirsty Cottage. It was nice to speak to you while you were there and we are delighted that you intend to return again next year.

  • 9

    10/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/09/2018
    Our 2nd visit from New Zealand, wish it was closer as such a fantastic holiday home. The website needs to be clear about availability especially for people travelling from outside the EU as contacting the owner can be difficult given time zones, otherwise brilliant and we would strongly recommend it to our friends and family, hope to return for a 3rd time in the future.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you very much for your very kind review of Kirsty Cottage. We have had quite a few overseas visitors but not many who have travelled as far as you to stay at Kirsty Cottage. I will speak to the booking agency about getting in touch, as I know there was a slight difficulty in communicating with each other prior to arrival. We hope you had a pleasant journey back to New Zealand and we will look forward to your next visit to Moffat.

  • 10

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2018
    Fantastic cottage close to town center we all had a fab time really enjoyed it wee would definitely use kirsty cottage again


  • 8

    17/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/07/2018
    Excellent holiday home with central location for Moffat town and walks along the Annan River. Not having a car had to rely on local bus service, with few direct services to some places we wished to visit, but that had no major bearing on the flat which was very good. Only thing missing was the welcome gift that have had from other cottages in Scotland ( bread, eggs, milk, biscuits, bottle of wine etc about £8 - 10 in total).

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you very much for your feedback which is very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday despite having no car. The local bus service is actually quite good but if you only want to go to the most popular destinations Glasgow, Edinburgh and Dumfries. Apart from those destinations, there is little public transport. We would have liked to have been able to offer a welcome pack but the cottage is our own family’s holiday home and as we live over 250 miles away so we have to employ a local cleaner to look after it for us. Unfortunately, purchasing and providing a gift pack is not a service that they provide, but they do an excellent job of cleaning and looking after our cottage as you can see from the review scores on cleanliness. We hope you will return to Kirsty Cottage soon.

  • 10

    10/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 09/07/2018
    Kirsty cottage was very nice and clean, had everything for you to enjoy a good holiday. Amenities in Moffat are great and on the whole very good value for money. Would go back again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our Kirsty Cottage, I remember we spoke at the time of your stay and I’m glad the arrangements worked out for you. We are very proud of the feedback we have received from our guests.

View All Guest Reviews
×

9.2 out of 10 – based on 17 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE