Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Herston Rise

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Swanage, Dorset
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

A cosy woodburner makes this Grade II listed cottage a great place to stay at any time of the year.

Set on the edge of the popular seaside town of Swanage, this Grade II listed, terraced holiday cottage is traditionally furnished and has the bonus of a wood burner, making it a great place to stay whatever the time of year. Discover the beach 1 mile from the property, where you will also find shops, pubs and restaurants. An excellent base from which to explore the area, and visitors can enjoy the World Heritage Jurassic Coastline and Purbeck Hills. Monkey World, Swanage Steam Railway, Durlston Country Park and Tank Museum make for good family days out. Beach 1 mile. Shop 250 yards, pub and restaurant 50 yards.

Ground Floor.
Open plan living space
: With tiled floor.
Living area: With wood burner, Freeview TV, DVD player and iPod dock.
Dining area.
Kitchen area: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge and washing machine.
First Floor.
Bedroom 1
: With double bed and wooden floor.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds and wooden floor.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, toilet and low head room.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Initial fuel for wood burner included. Travel cot. Small enclosed garden with garden furniture. On road parking. No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles


Customer Comments

  • 10

    16/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/07/2018
    This was our sixth year at the cottage and , as always, we had a happy week there. Parking is not always easy but we usually manage to find a space. In the light of it being a dog friendly cottage and the current publicity of the danger of adder bites, may I suggest that some Veterinary Practice numbers are included in the Cottage Information Book? We did a little research and found that the nearest was Lynwood Practice 01929 422213 on the Ulwell Rd about a 5 minute drive from the cottage and they also have a larger practice in Wareham. The only other thing I think prospective visitors need to know is that the stairs are very steep. we are now in our 70's/80's and this year, particularly, we found them hard.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such positive comments and a pleasure to welcome you back. We are in the process at the moment of updating our Welcome Pack and have noted your thoughts on the extra information for our guests. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay at the cottage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

  • 9

    29/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 27/04/2018
    We had such s brilliant stay here. Just on the edge of Swanage, it’s perfect for exploring the town and surrounding Dorset.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for such positive comments. We are so glad you had a lovely stay at Herston Rise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

  • 9

    25/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/03/2018
    We had a lovely relaxing week in this delightful cottage. The only negative being that the shower and bath is not easily accessible for someone with limited mobility. We had extremely cold weather during our stay, a couple of problems with the heating were sorted out quickly and ensured we stayed cosy and warm. The beds were oh so comfortable, we slept like logs! Thank you cottage owners!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for your comments and we are so glad you had a comfortable stay at Herston Rise. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

  • 8

    04/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/12/2017
    Cottage was a great base for us over Christmas. Light airy rooms and comfortable. Shame we encountered a problem with heating and the kettle not working on arrival but owner had sorted it within 4 hours. Only recommendations is a fixing for plastic blind/window cords & slip proof bath mat.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; So glad you had a lovely Christmas at Herston Rise, thank you for your comments.

  • 6

    17/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 01/12/2017
    We were happy with the property size, location & local amenities but disappointed when we smelled cat wee as soon as we got inside. We couldn't get the fire to light so the downstairs wasn't as cosy as we'd have liked. Upstairs the beds & bedding were lovely & comfortable. The shower was great. The house wasn't as clean as we'd like- radiators, skirting boards, extractor in bathroom window...The pans/oven trays were past their best so we avoided cooking. The cat wee & fire problem was mentioned previously in guest book so assume owner not bothered? We tried to make the best of it as we were treating our friends to a few days away; they went home early as it was too cold to sit comfortably downstairs.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are so sorry that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the cottage but wish that you had brought any cleaning needs to our attention so they could have been acted on promptly, likewise if you were having difficulties with the fire then we could have perhaps helped. We do not allow cats in to the cottage and had had all the downstairs coverings recently cleaned, but again had we been made aware then this may not have dampened your enjoyment of our stay. Thank you for taking the time to make your thoughts known and we will continue to try and improve our guests experience.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.0 out of 10 – based on 12 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.