Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Herston Rise

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Swanage, Dorset
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

A cosy woodburner makes this Grade II listed cottage a great place to stay at any time of the year.

Set on the edge of the popular seaside town of Swanage, this Grade II listed, terraced holiday cottage is traditionally furnished, and has the bonus of a woodburner making it a great place to stay whatever the time of year. Discover the beach 1 mile from the property, where you will also find shops, pubs and restaurants. An excellent base from which to explore the area and visitors can enjoy the World Heritage Jurassic Coastline and Purbeck Hills. Monkey World, Swanage Steam Railway, Durlston Country Park and Tank Museum make for good family days out. Shop 250 yards, pub and restaurant 50 yards.

Ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen with tiled floor. First floor: 2 bedrooms: 1 double, 1 twin (zip and link, can be 5ft double), both with wooden floor. Bathroom with shower over bath, toilet and low head room.

Woodburner in living room (initial fuel included). Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot. Freeview TV. DVD. iPod dock. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washing machine. Wi-fi. Small enclosed garden with furniture. On road parking. No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles

Customer Comments

  • 9

    29/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 27/04/2018
    We had such s brilliant stay here. Just on the edge of Swanage, it’s perfect for exploring the town and surrounding Dorset.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for such positive comments. We are so glad you had a lovely stay at Herston Rise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

  • 9

    25/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/03/2018
    We had a lovely relaxing week in this delightful cottage. The only negative being that the shower and bath is not easily accessible for someone with limited mobility. We had extremely cold weather during our stay, a couple of problems with the heating were sorted out quickly and ensured we stayed cosy and warm. The beds were oh so comfortable, we slept like logs! Thank you cottage owners!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you so much for your comments and we are so glad you had a comfortable stay at Herston Rise. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

  • 8

    04/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/12/2017
    Cottage was a great base for us over Christmas. Light airy rooms and comfortable. Shame we encountered a problem with heating and the kettle not working on arrival but owner had sorted it within 4 hours. Only recommendations is a fixing for plastic blind/window cords & slip proof bath mat.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; So glad you had a lovely Christmas at Herston Rise, thank you for your comments.

  • 6

    17/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 01/12/2017
    We were happy with the property size, location & local amenities but disappointed when we smelled cat wee as soon as we got inside. We couldn't get the fire to light so the downstairs wasn't as cosy as we'd have liked. Upstairs the beds & bedding were lovely & comfortable. The shower was great. The house wasn't as clean as we'd like- radiators, skirting boards, extractor in bathroom window...The pans/oven trays were past their best so we avoided cooking. The cat wee & fire problem was mentioned previously in guest book so assume owner not bothered? We tried to make the best of it as we were treating our friends to a few days away; they went home early as it was too cold to sit comfortably downstairs.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are so sorry that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the cottage but wish that you had brought any cleaning needs to our attention so they could have been acted on promptly, likewise if you were having difficulties with the fire then we could have perhaps helped. We do not allow cats in to the cottage and had had all the downstairs coverings recently cleaned, but again had we been made aware then this may not have dampened your enjoyment of our stay. Thank you for taking the time to make your thoughts known and we will continue to try and improve our guests experience.

  • 8

    23/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 21/07/2017
    We really enjoyed staying in the really cosy cottage but unfortunately there was no dishwasher, the beds were nice but very soft and although we didn't really mind there was quite a smell of animals that were guests before - so it definitely wouldn't be recommendable to people with allergies.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner- I would like to take the opportunity to answer both -There was a dishwasher at the cottage originally, but this was changed to a washing machine through the feedback that we had from our guests; This was deemed more useful for a seaside holiday cottage. We do provide two sets of crockery so that the washing up time can hopefully be kept to a minimum. We do advertise the fact that pets are accepted here at the cottage, this is a popular walking area, but do apologise if you thought there was any residual odour from previous guests. We will look into ways of trying to alleviate this. Thank you for taking the time to make your thoughts known.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.7 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.