Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.


Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
St Ives, Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Right in the centre of St Ives, this property is a great base for a couple wishing to explore the area.

This cosy ground floor holiday cottage is perfect for couples to enjoy all year round, in the heart of the picturesque town of St Ives and just a short stroll from the harbour, shops, galleries and beaches. It is located in an area known as ‘Downalong’ on the approach to the peninsula called The Island, with its granite cottages and labyrinth of lanes and alleys. Step out of the door and within a few yards, guests can enjoy the St Ives scene with its cosmopolitan mix of cafés and restaurants, many dotted along the waterfront. Famous for its light and Mediterranean Sea colour, St Ives has been a magnet for artists over the years and boasts numerous art galleries, including the Tate Modern and Barbara Hepworth Museum. There is a popular September festival in the town, with music, exhibitions, workshops, theatre and poetry. Christmas and New Year festivities include lights and street parties. Take the scenic coastal train from St Ives to St Erth passing the wide estuary at Hayle and many glorious beaches on route. The area is perfect for exploring the rugged North Cornish Coast, popular with surfers or the gateway to West Cornwall, including Land’s End, Sennen Beach, Marazion with St Michael’s Mount perched on its rocky island, or the busy harbour and town of Penzance. Take the scenic coastal drive from St Ives to Pendeen over heather-clad moorland, passing the tiny village of Zennor, famous for its mermaid tales. The area has something for everyone, wild life and bird watchers will love the marshes at Marazion, and Hayle attracts bird watchers from around the world. Walkers enjoy the area with easy access to the South West Coastal path. Cyclists are spoiled for choice, as the area has a number of excellent cycle trails, bridal ways and cycle hire. Explore glorious gardens, including the sub-tropical gardens of Trebah and Glendurgan. Beach 500 yards. Shop, pub and restaurant 500 yards.

All on ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen with wooden floor. 1 double bedroom. Bathroom with shower over bath and toilet.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. 32" Freeview TV. DVD. Stereo/CD. iPod dock. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washer/dryer. Public car park, 200 yards. No smoking.

Show amenities 


  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Wifi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 26/05/2018
    Have booked again day after. Returning that will be 3rd year

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 28/04/2018
    I would like to thank you so much for the use of your cottage myself and my mother and our dog had a fantastic two week stay we had everything we needed. The cottage is right on the doorstep in-between three beaches and also a dog beach close to the bay and lovely shops and restaurants we didn't want for anything.we will definitely be booking this cottage next year.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 31/03/2018
    Had another excellent stay at Driftwood in March. Will probably book up again for December. Our only comment would be that it does become extremely expensive to hire in the middle of the year. However that is entrepreneurship for you...

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 24/02/2018
    Excellent accommodation. Easy to drift -off at Driftwood. We have stayed in all types of accommodation at St.Ives from camping, caravans, hotels and cottages. Driftwood rates as one of the best A*

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We appreciate - and welcome - all comments as this helps us ensure our guests have the best experience we can possibly deliver. We hope that you drift back in the future.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 20/01/2018
    Beautiful little cottage with fabulous information, décor and ambience. However, the guttering above (not part of this cottage) is broken and water splashed all night over three night making a lot of noise. This needs looking at as it was obtrusive.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your wonderful feedback which we really appreciate. We apologise for the guttering issue and have contacted the owner of the neighbouring property to make her aware of this. We have been assured that arrangements have been made to fix it so it will not trouble future guests.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 04/01/2018
    This cottage is in a fab location to get to all the main parts of st ives. The owners have thought of everything to put in the cottage and the cottage is in good order. The bedroom is just a tad to tight to get round the bed without shuffling sideways as it is a metal bed with corner posts. It was nice and clean and warm when we arrived and our stay was pleasant.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you so much for your feedback - we really appreciate our guests taking the time to do this and, if we can, we act on comments which can help improve the guest experience. The issue of the bed has come up a few times now so we are delighted to say a new divan bed - without footplate will be installed very soon. We hope this will give that little extra bit of manoeuvrability in the bedroom. We are also having Wi-Fi installed in February. Once again, thank you for your helpful comments.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 21/12/2017
    Driftwood is in an excellent location, very near the harbour, local cafes and shops and on a practical note, the island car park with grass to walk the dog. The cottage was very neat, clean and tidy and perfectly comfortable for two people. We enjoyed our stay, so much, that we have booked again for the Spring.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing to stay in Driftwood - we look forward to welcoming you again in the spring.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 25/11/2017
    Fantastic cottage, a little on the small side but not an issue for us. The location is amazing, literally1 minute walk from 2 beaches and St Ives harbour front. A great base to explore St Ives, I would stay here again without hesitation.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; A huge thank you for leaving us feedback - we really appreciate the fact you have taken the time to do this. We have to agree that the location is truly amazing. Please return to St Ives soon.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 11/11/2017
    loved this little cosy cottage, would recommend, perfect for a couple.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback for Driftwood - and what lovely feedback it is. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, please come back to St Ives soon.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 02/09/2017
    The cottage was lovely and the best location in St Ives. The parking is a major issue in the high season though. Very disappointed there was no reserved space in the nearby permit holders car park, if there was it would've been perfect!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback for Driftwood - we really do appreciate this. We do take on board your comments re parking and we too would love to be able to offer reserved parking but obtaining a parking space in St Ives is nigh on impossible. We have to agree though that Driftwood is in the very best location.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 19/08/2017
    Very nice little cottage

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback for us - we were slightly perplexed as to why you only gave us an overall score of 5 when the lowest score you gave us for each element was 7. Sadly you gave us no indication as to why this was - maybe it was a mistake on your part regarding the final score.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 29/07/2017
    Everything was perfect, Was in St Ives to get married, Cottage supplied everything we needed. Great location. Highly recommended. Thank-you

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner. What can we say but a huge thank you for your amazing feedback. Many congratulations on your wedding and we wish you a long and very happy marriage. Come back to St Ives for your future anniversaries.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 15/07/2017
    Location was very good the cottage was very nice but the bedroom had a strong dog smell and the drains smelt when it rained hard

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: Thank you for your review - we are aware you asked our caretaker to come and address the issue, which he did. However you appeared to find this acceptable at the time but after returning home then raised the issue again with the rental agency. Unfortunately once you have left Driftwood we cannot address problems which is frustrating for all concerned. Our caretaker would have happily come and addressed this further while you were in the property if you had contacted him but as you did not we were unable to resolve this for you for which we apologise.

View All Guest Reviews

8.2 out of 10 – based on 21 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.