Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Coachmans Cottage

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Fernilee, near Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps2
Bedrooms1
Bathrooms1
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Derbyshire Cottages collection

Derbyshire Cottages

The Derbyshire Regional Specialist - Fantastic properties in the most favourable locations. No one knows Derbyshire better!


Description

Set over three floors enjoying scenic views, Coachmans Cottage features a wood burner, an expansive garden and a hot tub.

Set over three floors and next to a trickling stream, this beautifully unique, detached property boasts spectacular views over the countryside, and is in a truly private location with a stunning outside space complete with canopied hot tub. Approached by its own private drive, it has a sweeping run of stone steps leading to a spacious decked area with seating, from where sightings of wild deer can often be seen in the early hours. The owners live close by, and direct access from the top floor of the property takes you to the contemporary bedroom, and the middle floor offers cosy living space that’s enhanced by a wood burner.


Nestled in the picturesque hamlet of Fernilee within the Peak District National Park, the small town of Whaley Bridge is just 5 minutes away, with its wonderful array of local pubs, restaurants and cafes. In the other direction, the spa town of Buxton is home to the fabulous opera house, a number of festivals and the Pavilion, all of which can be reached in around 10 minutes by car. The ever popular market town of Bakewell, home to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall, is around a 30-minute drive, as are the beautiful village of Edale and Castleton. A perfect, romantic retreat, this cottage provides a magnificent base from which you can do as much or as little as you like. Shop and restaurant 2¼ miles, pub ½ mile.

Ground Floor:
18 wide steps to entrance.
Kitchen/dining room: With electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washer/dryer and French doors to decking area.
Separate toilet. Narrow stairs to...

First Floor:
Living room: With wood burner, 32" Freeview TV, DVD player and iPod dock.
Narrow stairs to...

Second Floor:
Bedroom: With kingsize bed and Freeview TV.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels, Wi-Fi and logs for wood burner included. Welcome pack. Decked area with terraces, garden furniture, BBQ and private hot tub. ½-acre natural grounds. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking. Please note: There is a fenced stream, 2 yards away. No children.

Read more 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Luxury Collection
    Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Green Scheme
    Green Scheme
  • Hot Tubs - Private
    Hot Tubs - Private
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 10

    15/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/07/2018
    Coachman's Cottage is absolutely outstanding :-) Claire & Richard have thought of everything you could possibly need. The location is in beautiful surroundings. We are already arranging dates for a return visit.


  • 10

    06/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 30/06/2018
    We came here for a week's holiday which also included our anniversary. Couldn't recommend it enough. The cottage itself is beautiful. It has everything you could need as well as lots of cute little touches. It's furnished to a very high standard and the garden/patio is where we spent most of our time. The swing next to the stream was by far the most peaceful place I've binge read my book in. It isn't overlooked. There is parking and a private entrance right outside. Within 5 minutes you're in Whaley Bridge and 10, you're in Buxton. It is perfectly placed without being in a busy location. Lots of mod cons and the comfiest sofa. We're already looking into dates for booking again. It's our favourite holiday so far.


  • 9

    24/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 12/05/2018
    Great hosts, very nice property in a beautiful setting. Hot tub was wonderful and used every day. Set over three levels so a few stairs to contend with but worth it. Well equipped.


  • 10

    25/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 05/05/2018
    wow happy to visit again which we will txs


  • 10

    14/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/04/2018
    Really great holiday. The cottage is so beautiful and very private. So many little details have been thought about and catered for. The garden is fantastic. Lots of seating areas and the private hot tub is perfect.


  • 10

    21/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/04/2018
    Beautiful cottage in a lovely location. Everything you could need is provided, along with a few thoughtful extras (bottle of prosecco, fruit loaf & milk). Will definitely be back!


  • 5

    04/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/03/2018
    The cottage itself is beautifully appointed. Well equipped and pleasant furnishings. Unfortunately a very bad smell developed throughout the property which neither us or the owners were able to detect where it was coming from. It became too nauseating to stay in the property and we unfortunately had no alternative too cut short our holiday stay here.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for letting us know how beautifully appointed and well equipped the cottage is. It is heart warming to receive such great feedback and you are not alone in your views. Of the 85 couples who have stayed in the cottage since we opened in July 2016, (a number of them returners) only 3 have given us a score on Reevoo of less than 10, giving a score of 9 but with accompanying comments such as “exquisite, Idyllic, great location”. We fully appreciate that a perfect 10 score is difficult to give and we feel privileged when we are awarded one. We were sorry that you felt you had to leave after 4 nights with us as a result of the “very bad smell” which you say developed throughout the property. We unhesitatingly spent considerable time with you in the whole of the cottage to ascertain what the perceived issue was and whilst we were with you, the smell you have described was not evident to any of us. Every check known to us was made whilst you were with us, including an inspection of the septic tank (as you had said that the smell was one of sewage) and as you stated, we were unable to find anything. Notwithstanding this, and in the spirit of wanting everyone to enjoy and love Coachmans Cottage, we of course didn’t hesitate to offer you a full refund for any nights you chose not to stay. It should however be noted that no smell was reported by the guests who stayed before and after your visit and also that the local farmer was muck spreading on the Tuesday, which is a natural occurrence in the countryside and completely outside of our control.

  • 9

    30/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/03/2018
    Second visit to the cottage. Love the location and the peace and quiet. Hot tub lovely. Only downside (which I don't remember when stayed there 9 month ago) was the bed was mattress was quite hard, and woke up most mornings with sore back, but that wouldn't stop us booking again, because we love the cottage and it's surroundings

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are honoured and delighted that you chose to stay again at Coachmans Cottage and we really appreciate your constructive feedback. As you noted, the bed is relatively new and so given everyone has different mattress requirements, we have now purchased a sumptuous topper for you to enjoy during your next stay. We look forward to seeing you soon and thanks again for your helpful feedback.

  • 10

    05/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/01/2018
    Just back from a week’s stay at Coachmans Cottage in Fernilee and can honestly say it’s the best cottage we have stayed in. Nestled in beautiful countryside, the cottage is perfect for exploring the nearby National Trust locations. Richard and Claire have thought of everything for this cottage and every need is more than adequately catered for. Would definitely recommend and will be looking to return in the future. Thank you for a lovely, relaxing week away from the hustle and bustle. Perfect 10/10.


  • 9

    04/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/12/2017
    Excellent location and house had everything you needed plus a few extra touches to make it feel that little bit more special


  • 10

    20/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 09/12/2017
    This cottage is just simply first class in every single way. I cannot fault it - the owners have gone over and above to make sure your holiday accommodation and experience is perfect. We cannot wait to go back again.


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.6 out of 10 – based on 23 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.