You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 23,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments by visiting my booking x.
Back to Search

Bellwood House Annexe

Felixkirk, near Thirsk, Yorkshire
Grade 3 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

Sleeps 2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms 1
Pets 2
Check-in
Check-out

Property Reference: 30650
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?



What we love


Description

Choose from an action-packed holiday, or just gently tour the area from this dog friendly cottage (with warm outdoor dog shower), 25 miles from York.

All on the ground floor.
Open plan living space.
Living area: With Freeview TV, DVD player with a selection of DVDs, iPod dock and double sofa bed (for flexible sleeping arrangements).
Dining area.
Kitchen area: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge, dishwasher and washing machine.
Bedroom: With double bed and en-suite with bath, shower cubicle and toilet.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Large, enclosed lawned garden with sitting-out area and garden furniture. Bike store. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking.

Tucked away in the peaceful village of Felixkirk, this cosy, very dog friendly holiday cottage adjoins the owner’s home and provides a very comfortable rural retreat on the very edge of the North York Moors National Park, near Thirsk. This brick built, single-storey cottage enjoys an enviable position and has been completely renovated to offer beautifully presented accommodation for 2 guests and their pets. There is a small double bedroom with under bed storage, and a sofa bed for alternative accommodation in the living room.
There is extensive garden space outside the cottage with stunning views, which is also fully fenced to allow your pets to wander in a contained area. Car parking, for two cars, is next to the cottage which is at the end of a private drive and there is storage available for bicycles. The owners are keen cyclists and can advise of lovely local and regional routes.
From the doorstep there are numerous footpaths and cycling trails and there is a renowned, traditional, dog friendly village inn serving local produce just minutes from the cottage. The village is home to a 4x4 driving centre which offers action packed days with off-road driver training and quad–biking, and at Sutton Bank, visitors can take a trial lesson at the Yorkshire Gliding Club and visit the nearby famous White Horse near Kilburn. Thirsk, 3 miles, is a quaint market town famous for its connections with James Herriot, the well-known vet and author of ‘All Creatures Great and Small’, its racecourse and 15th century church. Days out can be enjoyed at Rievaulx Abbey near the wonderful town of Helmsley, as well as Castle Howard and Fountains Abbey. Board the steam train at Pickering to be transported through the stunning North York Moors to the coastal port of Whitby and explore the fishing villages at Robin Hood’s Bay and Staithes. The Yorkshire Dales are easily accessible by car and the historic walled city of York, 25 miles, with its iconic minster, exquisite architecture, museums and art galleries, is not to be missed when visiting Yorkshire. Shop 4 miles, pub and restaurant 500 yards.

Read more 

Features

  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Romantic Getaways
    Romantic Getaways
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • All En-suite
    All En-suite
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 1

    16/11/2019
    Confirmed guest, 10/11/2019
    This cottage is at the end of a dirty muddy track. The Cottage wasn't clean android the throws for the sofa stunk of body oder. No wardrobe or drawers in the bedroom. No outside lights. I left 2 days early and went to a hotel.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are very sorry to hear you had such a terrible time so I would like to respond to your comments. It's always most helpful to us to just tell us if you have a problem. Sometimes you book a break and turn up to simply find it's not what you wanted. At all times you can contact the holiday company you have booked through to complain and they will help you to resolve any issues. Or you can speak to us. When we met you on arrival we did make it very clear that you could speak to us about anything. Always tell us if there is a problem. We had no idea the outside lights aren't working. I only realised a couple of days ago. If people don't tell us how are we supposed to know? The cottage is cleaned by a company that comes in. It should be clean. It definitely shouldn't be a score of 1. This means there was something seriously wrong. I will speak to them but I would have liked to know the exact details of what you found unclean so I can raise it with them which I will! I've no idea how the dog covers have got so bad, they haven't been used or washed since your stay and I've checked them and they are clean and odour free. If they are used they should be left with the laundry to be washed if they are folded up and replaced on the shoe rack the cleaners will assume they haven't been used and leave them. Most dog owners are responsible and bring their own anyway so they don't get used much. The 'muddy track' is what's left of our driveway after all this hideous rain we've had but I must point out that it is tarmac and mud free for approximately 40 metres from the road. There is then a patch that should be all gravel but it's been ruined and at great cost to us. There is then gravel which is clean. We realise the bit of driveway that has been ruined is not ideal but it's not a quick fix. That said given the time of year and that we are a rural location you should expect mud to be around. It's very clear that we are in a village with no shops and only a pub but there are many local amenities only a 5 minute drive away. It is also made clear in the photographs and in our reviews that there is not much space for hanging clothes. I would advise that you read the reviews before booking a holiday in future. We were obviously not what you hoped for but scores of 1 in everything is very disappointing. There are not many dog friendly cottages with a secure garden around. I can only reiterate that we are very friendly and helpful and we need to know if something is wrong immediately so we have a chance to put it right. We care very much about our guests and want them to enjoy their stay.

  • 7

    04/08/2019
    Confirmed guest, 02/08/2019
    The cottage was cosy but lacked for us space no wardrobes. The oven was dirty so we didn't use it. The grass had not been cut and the outside appeared neglected. No vacuum to tidy up and as it is dog friendly this is a must.


  • 10

    14/07/2019
    Confirmed guest, 12/07/2019
    Lovely peaceful location away from the noise of traffic Ellen and Simon very friendly but not intrusive


  • 10

    20/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 18/03/2019
    This is our fourth visit to the property and enjoyed it just as much as every other time. Peaceful and relaxing with everything you need for your break in the property and close enough to everything to make your break as relaxing as possible . The owners are so lovely and welcoming and very friendly. Well worth a visit regardless of the weather you will not be disappointed.


  • 10

    24/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 23/02/2019
    Fabulous accommodation in a beautiful location. Secure garden for dogs, warm water outside dog shower available too which is a real bonus when you have been on one of the many walks in the local area and the dogs are filthy. Accommodation only small but as described in the advert and equipped with everything you need to make a very enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend.


  • 7

    14/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 08/02/2019
    Property lacked wardrobe space and the oven could have been cleaned before arrival. Outdoor space lovely for the dogs very safe and dog wash. Owners nice and unobtrusive with a courteous call the next day to see if everything was ok on arrival. Overall nice but on the small side.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We wish you had mentioned the oven to us before you left as we could have made sure the cleaners checked it thoroughly when they did the changeover. I have passed on your comments to them. With regard to the lack of wardrobe space, I would like to take the chance to tell people reading this review that the cottage is very small and the bedroom is very small. There is no wardrobe or drawer space but there are hangers on hooks on the wall and two under bed storage drawers on wheels. There is also a little bit of shelf space. Looking at the photos what you see is exactly as it is. There are also many references in previous reviews to the size and there is nothing we can do. If you book come prepared for a small space.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.2 out of 10 – based on 17 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE