Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Old Mill

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Shillingford, near Bampton, Devon
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


On the outskirts of Bampton and Exmoor National Park, with livery available for your horse, Tiverton and Exeter are within easy reach.

The Old Mill offers a relaxing retreat set on the outskirts of Bampton and Exmoor National Park. The cottage is decorated and furnished to a good standard and is ideal for families, walkers or friends to get together. It forms a wing of the owner’s home and offers a ’get away from it all’ holiday with use of the owner’s pretty gardens and even a livery for your own horses by arrangement. With plenty to explore in this area, Wimbleball Lake for fishing and water sports, less than 4 miles. A short drive will bring you to Exmoor National Park, Dunster and the Exe Valley. Tiverton and Exeter are within easy reach. Free range eggs and fruit from the owner’s garden available in season. Shops and pubs 1⅓ miles.

Ground Floor:
Open plan living space.
Living area: With Freeview TV and DVD player.
Dining area.
Kitchen area: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge and tiled floor.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Large garden with sitting-out area and garden furniture (shared). Ample parking. No smoking. Please note: There is an unfenced river 20 yards from the property.

Show amenities 


  • Barbecue
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Wifi
  • Green Scheme
    Green Scheme
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Waterside Breaks
    Waterside Breaks

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 05/02/2018
    We had a lovely and restful stay. The cottage is very nice but the bathroom could do with updating. The owners greeted us and were helpful throughout.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 07/07/2017
    A warm welcome from the owners, their dogs and the neighbour's geese set the scene for a very enjoyable holiday. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped and nicely furnished to a good standard. We hope to return!

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 30/06/2017
    We had an amazing holiday in a beautiful cottage. The owners were great and made us all feel very welcome. It was an ideal location to explore the beautiful countryside and had everything we wanted. Would have been perfect if we had had a dishwasher but other than that we had everything we needed.

  • 1

    Confirmed guest, 19/06/2017
    The downstairs was filthy. Had reason to pull out fridge, hadn't been cleaned behind in months. There were cobwebs everywhere. The front door had bird mess down it, the hanging baskets were half dead and a good sweep up of dead leaves and more cobwebs wouldn't have gone a missm

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for taking the time to review our property which we were are naturally disappointed with. The description for the property states clearly that we are 1.5 miles from the local town with a full range of amenities so we are surprised you weren’t aware of this. You awarded a score of 1 out of 10 for Value for Money. We have an average score of 8.1 and this is about the same year on year. You should be aware that the Holiday Rental Company managing your booking is responsible for setting rental prices. We provide additional extras to enhance clients stay to include tea, coffee, fresh eggs, sparkling water, additional towels and additional linen. In your particular case we also provided 5 ltrs of petrol in response to your concerns of running out of fuel. We feel we offer value for money for this type of accommodation at competitive prices. With regard to cleanliness, the premises had undergone the same level of cleaning prior to this visit as for any other visit when guests have consistently awarded a score of between 8 and 10. There is a chance possibility of there being cobwebs behind the fitted kitchen sink, behind the boiler, inside the loft hatch and the fuse-box. These areas are not meant to be accessible to guests and we are bemused as to why guests would feel the need to pull the fridge out. Regarding the half dead hanging baskets. We assume that you mean the plants themselves? The hanging baskets were all planted 2 days before your arrival and were in no way half dead. In summary, I had the pleasure to meet you on arrival and explain the layout of the premises and gardens and offer advice for your stay. You were provided with our mobile numbers and it was explained that we live next door and in the event of any problems, we would be happy to assist. In fact, when you had difficulty logging onto the wifi, you called me and we assisted with the set up immediately. I therefore don’t understand why you never mentioned your concern about perceived cleanliness which, could have also been immediately rectified. We are sincerely disappointed that you clearly did not enjoy your stay with us.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2017
    Great cottage for a short break. Cottage had all the facilities you would need. There was not a washing machine but that was not an issue for our short break. Owners were very friendly and helped with local recommendations and directions. Owners dogs were a big hit with our children. Lovely peaceful location but nearby town had all the amenities required.

View All Guest Reviews

8.6 out of 10 – based on 13 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.