By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search


Skelwith Bridge, nr. Ambleside Grade 0 Star rating View Map
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

Welcome Cottages

Lakeside, seaside, countryside, hillside…wherever you can picture your perfect cottage, you’ll find it with Welcome Cottages!


Lovely wooden lodge with private gardens and access to leisure facilities which include swimming pool and games room.

Set in 2.5 acres of beautiful natural grounds and woodland, this charming wooden holiday lodge has its own private garden and shared use of an indoor heated plunge pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and table tennis. Right on the doorstep of the magnificent Langdales, with Ambleside, 2.5 miles and Coniston, 8 miles. It is a perfect base for touring and exploring the footpaths in the area with numerous woodland and hill walks straight from the door. The Lake District Visitor Centre near Windermere is worth a visit, as is the Beatrix Potter Exhibition at Bowness. Great for wildlife lovers, with deer and other animals freely wandering through this small, select woodland retreat. Small on-site shop. Pub and restaurant 0.5 miles.

Three steps from car park to entrance. Ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen. 2 bedrooms: 1 double, 1 bunk (2ft 6in for children). Shower room with toilet.

Electric heaters, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Freeview TV. DVD. Playstation. CD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Shared laundry room with coin operated washing machine and tumble dryer. Dishwasher. Wi-fi (in adjacent pool hall). Private garden with furniture. Barbecue. Parking (2 cars). Shared indoor swimming pool (3.6m x 6m, depth 1.2m), Jacuzzi and sauna, March-mid November. No smoking. NB: Unfenced pond in grounds.

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Free PetsFree Pets
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • Swimming PoolSwimming Pool
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 2015-11-07
    Warm, cosy and snug, set in woodland. A wildlife paradise. Feels very private, yet is close to the swimming pool and sauna. Nice comfy bed and plenty of storage space in the room. Had everything we needed in the chalet. Good television and interesting books to read. Surprisingly roomy shower room and everything you needed in the kitchen. The dishwasher proved useful! Walkers and wildlife enthusiasts could stay all week and never need their car. The beautiful Loughrigg Tarn, known to Wordsworth, can be accessed from the top of the estate and there are numerous longer walks for serious hikers. The Talbot Bar, at Skelwith Bridge, is a short walk or car ride away. Excellent meals, very welcoming to locals and holidaymakers alike, and dog-friendly. Ambleside has everything you need including a good range of Takeaway food outlets. Should the weather not be so good, there are numerous other lakes and tarns nearby including Coniston Water and all the villages have lots of shops for visitors. Further afield, the unusual Dock Museum at Barrow in Furness, would keep children occupied on rainy day.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 2015-07-25
    Place was dirty. Hoover needed filter changing so only used once due to smell of sick. Floor in shower dirty with dark brown staining especially near toilet. Damaged door of shower room. Door came off too easily on wardrobe so unsafe. Disappointing holiday

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 2015-09-12
    Perfect location for exploring the lakes. Quiet and secluded . We were visited by wild rabbits and at night could hear the owls. Would recommend the local Talbot bar pub we went there 3 nights for meals. Only downside is second room is more like a closet. Not really suitable for more than 1 small child as limited space for wardrobe. We were a couple with 2 border collies though so it was a lovely lodge for us

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 2015-08-22
    Beautiful property in the perfect location to explore the lakes. Only one gripe would be the mattress on the double bed in the main bedroom. Old and uncomfortable, meaning poor sleep. If this was replaced my overall rating would have been 10/10.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your review, and we were pleased you had a good holiday. It was a shame you found the mattress uncomfortable, but it is worth noting that all mattresses in the property were purchased new in January 2014. It is difficult to get something that suits everyone, some prefer softer and some harder. We tried to get something in the middle. However, since this is the second time someone has passed comment on the mattress in the main bedroom, we have purchased a ‘topper’ for additional comfort and this will be in the property very soon.

View All Guest Reviews

7.8 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site