Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again New home of cottages4you Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience New home of cottages4you
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.


Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Salthouse, near Holt, Norfolk
Grade 5 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


From this coastal hideaway for two, discover all that the North Norfolk Coast has to offer.

A wonderful, sensitively designed, single-storey barn conversion, is situated on the North Norfolk Coast, close to the salt marshes and Salthouse Heath, RSPB bird reserve and under half a mile’s walk from Salthouse beach. This adjoining holiday cottage has perfectly designed interior for a cosy week’s escape from the city, and ideally situated for walkers and bird enthusiasts, with miles of coastline, footpaths and country lanes on the doorstep to explore. Tucked away on an unmade lane, this holiday cottage is within easy reach of a village shop and delicatessen, crab and shellfish shop and café. It is also a short walk from one of the best village pubs in the area, with excellent food, wine and ale, along with wonderful views across Salthouse marsh. Renovated to retain its original features including exposed beams, wood clad ceilings and reclaimed flooring. Decorated and furnished to provide a perfect retreat for relaxation and exploring the delights of Salthouse and the North Norfolk coastline. Boasting an open-plan living room with a wood-burning stove and a well-equipped kitchen/dining room. Furnished with character, including vintage chairs and table, beautiful sofas and atmospheric lighting. The property includes an enclosed walled garden, with views to Salthouse Heath and the spectacular Salthouse church, a perfect spot to sit, relax and dine in. The Georgian market town of Holt is 4 miles, with a supermarket, shops, cafés, restaurants and inns. Explore Blakeney Quay, 2 miles or a little further, Wells-next-the-Sea, Holkham Hall and Holkham beach, 10 miles. Beach 1/2 mile. Shop and pub 1/2 mile.

Beamed living/dining room with wood-burning stove, reclaimed parquet floor and kitchen area with original pamment tiled floor. Two steps to double bedroom with 5ft bed, views to mature walled garden and en-suite wet room with toilet.

  • Wood-burning stove - intial fuel included, thereafter available locally
  • Electricity, full electric central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Freeview interactive smart TV
  • Bluetooth speaker
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Wi-fi
  • Enclosed walled garden with sitting-out areas and furniture
  • Roadside parking
  • Welcome pack
  • No smoking

Show amenities 


  • Dishwasher
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Romantic Collection
    Romantic Collection
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Wifi
  • Luxury Collection
    Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Heritage Collection
    Heritage Collection
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • All En-suite
    All En-suite
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Ground Floor Wet Room
    Ground Floor Wet Room
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 28/12/2017
    This small cottage is perfect for a couple. Close to the coast with many walks and bird life and to the magnificent Salthouse Church, there is plenty to do on the doorstep.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 29/09/2017
    Unpleasant smell coming from kitchen units all week. Bathroom not isolated from the bedroom and hot water was lacking. Otherwise it was warm, comfortable, quirky and peaceful with a pretty garden. Four days was enough considering there was no landline and no mobile signal. We appreciated the welcome pack.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 01/09/2017
    We loved the attention to detail in the cottage: stylish and tasteful even down to the choice of window handles! Comfortable and cosy with lovely green aspects of garden and courtyard from the rooms. Table in the sunny part of the garden was much used. Salthouse is a lovely spot with easy access to country, coast and salt marsh walks, shop, fresh seafood and a good pub.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2017
    Very sparse , windows and entrance dirty, garden overgrown.Bed clean , bathroom clean.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- Thank you for your recent feedback about Seasong. However we are surprised to receive such a low score from you when something was broken during your stay which we made sure was addressed straightaway, and attempted to contact you both by email and text but unfortunately had no response. We take great pride and work hard to ensure Seasong provides both a unique and comfortable experience on the beautiful North Norfolk coast for our guests.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 11/08/2017
    We enjoyed a great week that even slightly less-than-perfect weather couldn't spoil, and Seasong is a super cottage that's easy to feel at home in, providing a perfect base to discover the North Norfolk coast. As for the location, if you're looking for somewhere that gets you away from it all on a coastline that can take your breath away in its grandeur (even in horizontal rain), it's difficult to imagine anywhere that could improve much on Salthouse. Local amenities are limited, but score highly purely because of the local pub The Dun Cow which is in a great setting, does better than average food for a pub and is run extremely efficiently at busy eating times. One minor gripe: given that the cottage has a washing machine, the lack of an iron and board seems an odd oversight that hopefully will be rectified. Would happily return and recommend to others.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: Thank you for your positive feedback about Seasong. We can confirm that we have now provided an iron and ironing board for our guests.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 30/06/2017
    A lovely location but we were disappointed by a few things that could easily have been fixed and would have made our stay more enjoyable. For example:- -Lots of lamps but bulbs missing from two crucial ones. -A "dining" table which wasn't designed as such, so my husband's legs wouldn't fit under. -A washing machine but no tumble drier or outside line. -A limited amount of hot water for showers . -The bare minimum of cutlery.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 16/06/2017
    This cottage is stated as being part of the 'luxury' collection. To our mind luxury includes maybe large towels, complimentary toiletries, a hairdryer, a microwave...but a basic requirement would be a dustpan and brush! Having read the reviews before we left, especially the owner's response that the issue with the drains was rectified, we were very disappointed to find that this is not the case. The smell from the drains was off putting to say the least, despite having the windows and door open. We suggest that this is an issue that needs rectifying as a matter of urgency. We acknowledge the fact that Seasong is an old building, but this is not really an acceptable reason. Although we had a lovely time exploring the area I'm sorry but we won't be returning.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are sorry to hear you did not get what you had hoped from your stay at Seasong. We value all feedback and would like to make the following points: After heavy bouts of rain we sometimes get a slightly damp smell which is the nature of these old brick and flint buildings, this is rare and it soon dries out. However we have now put down a membrane to help prevent any slight odour in the future. We supply a set of four quality towels, two hand and two standard size, it would appear these didn't seem sufficient and so we will look into supplying larger towels for our guests. We provide a good quality Stoves oven and hob for guests enjoyment as listed on the website. Finally, a hairdryer is supplied in the wardrobe which perhaps was overlooked.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 09/06/2017
    Great cottage in great area, generous welcome pack.

View All Guest Reviews

8.1 out of 10 – based on 25 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.