By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Back to Search

Martham Ferry Boat Yard - Ferry View

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Grade 5 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Pets 1

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


A large holiday home positioned right by the River Thurne with its own private mooring and attractive views from the first floor balcony.

Enjoying a beautiful waterfront location, these three holiday properties (refs CBBH, CBBJ and CYY) have their own private mooring and superb views over the River Thurne and a National Trust wildlife reserve (which featured in the BBC1 TV series Secret Britain). Both Ferry View, standing detached, and Heigham View, one of a pair, have a games room with full size snooker and table tennis tables and offer spacious accommodation for larger groups, as well as a first floor balcony where guests can take in the abundant birdlife. Heigham View additionally has the benefit of a second sitting room/games room with 65in 3D TV with blue-ray/DVD and surround sound. Ferry Cottage is a detached, two-bedroomed property with rooms all on the ground floor. All offer the very best in waterside living. For the fisherman, this part of the Broads offers some of the best coarse fishing anywhere in the UK (fishing licence required). For the nature enthusiast, everything is on the doorstep - walking and cycling can be enjoyed along a network of quiet lanes and the river and the Broads can be explored by boat, which can be hired directly from the owner. Winterton-on-Sea is a short drive away with its wonderful sandy beach and dunes. This is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and the north beach is home to a colony of grey seals.
The BeWILDerwood Outdoor Adventure Park at Horning offers treehouses, zip wires, jungle bridges and more - all adding up to a great day out for children. The fine city of Norwich with its cathedrals, castle, museums, theatre and vast array of cafes and shops is half an hour away. There is a wealth of National Trust properties to visit in the area, which include Felbrigg Hall, Garden and Park (one of the finest Jacobean houses in East Anglia), the beautifully landscaped Sheringham Park and the magnificent Blickling Hall with its woodland and lakeside walks. Horsey Wind Pump is only 3 miles away (and a good destination for a boat trip).
For a special meal or family celebration a gourmet meal can be arranged with the owner. There are shops and pubs in the village 1 mile away.

Utility. Large games room. First floor: Spacious living/dining room with wood-burning stove, French doors to large balcony, and large well-equipped kitchen area. Two double bedrooms, one with
en-suite bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet, one with en-suite shower room and toilet. Two twin bedrooms, one with en-suite shower room. Shower room with toilet. Spiral stairs to second floor: Double bedroom with two additional single beds (each for +1), TV, dressing room and en-suite bathroom with separate shower cubicle and toilet.

  • Two Freeview TVs
  • Small DVD library
  • Blu-ray
  • Microwave
  • Tumble dryer
  • Freezer
  • Small garden
  • Balcony with furniture
  • Parking (for 3 cars)
  • Games room with full-size snooker table, table tennis, pool table and table football
  • No smoking

  • Wood-burning stove - initial fuel included, thereafter available locally
  • Electricity, full oil central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Travel cot
  • High chair
  • DVD
  • Radio/CD/iPod dock
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Wi-fi
  • On-site fishing
  • Private mooring available
  • Gourmet cooking available by arrangement
  • NB: Unfenced river in grounds

Read more 


  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Games RoomGames Room
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Woodburning StoveWoodburning Stove
  • Christmas Themed CottageChristmas Themed Cottage
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Luxury CollectionLuxury Collection
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • Open PlanOpen Plan
  • Car Parking - On SiteCar Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 03/10/2016
    Generally a great place: Cleanliness was an issue TBH. Wi-Fi was a big issue: We think it was turned off at 11.45PM each night. Reason we know this is because we are a telcoms provider! We was streaming music from spotify and then just went off ! And on again at 6.30AM . When we questioned the owner the reply was " Well you know what you should do ? What we asked ? Talk to each other was the smug reply.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 26/08/2016
    What a shame! The property management is shambolic - chipped crockery, dirty outside furniture , constantly dripping gutters, smelly top bathroom, hinges coming off kitchen cupboard, games equipment that should have been replaced a very long time ago. Outside areas are used by the boatyard despite them being part of the letting area, so people are tramping over your garden area, so awkward to sunbath or BBQ. The mooring area attached to the letting also used by all and sundry so there is no peaceful area at all. None of our party of 9 would go back to this property.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thanks for your comments. We were obviously sorry to hear that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay. During the busy summer period there is someone on site seven days a week and if you have any complaints or requests you can report them to us at the time and we can deal with them straight away. The three chipped items have been replaced, the kitchen cupboard door has been fixed (we offered to do this while you were there but you declined). During your stay we had to recover and repair a boat for a customer. As it was an exceptionally busy time we had to use some of the mooring space outside the property. This is the only time this has ever happened and we did all we could to minimise any inconvenience, leaving plenty of room for another boat, fishing etc.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 27/06/2016
    Everything you could want. Beach a few miles away. Boat hire and fishing outside your front door. Amazing property. Equipped with everything you could need. I would recommend this property to anyone. I wish I had booked for a longer stay. Will definitely be booking again.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 23/05/2016
    Fantastic location, lovely and clean. Perfect for a weekend away. Only slight issues were lack of wifi as well as phone signal. The house was not very well sound proofed, so could get quite noisy.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 14/03/2016
    Our stay at Ferry View was fantastic. With 10 of us staying the space the house offered and range of facilities were excellent. I am already looking for an excuse to book another weekend away.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 07/03/2016
    Lovely house, So much glass, giving stunning views from all aspects. A great property for a large party.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 08/02/2016
    Great, comfortable stay in a lovely house - Games room absolutely fantastic. Kitchen extremely well equipped. You need to get your own wood for the wood burning stove so may want to stop en route for that. Easy to find and very peaceful - nice to have so many bathrooms for a big party and didn't have issues with hot water as you often do in these properties with a big group. Very warm and comfortable property. Go and see the seals if you have time. Would definitely book again.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 25/01/2016
    We were a group of 12, ages ranging from 13 - 76, and the property had something for everyone. The games room was especially an added bonus and enjoyed by all. We went during January and the property was lovely and warm. We would most definitely like to come back in the summer and take advantage of the river activities.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 14/12/2015
    Booked this for my 40th birthday, there were 12 in our party & there were plenty of room for us all to rattle around in. It is in a idealic location & we even see otters from our windows. Would love to return & highly reccomend :) x

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 23/11/2015
    We have stayed at this property a few times over the last few years and have always loved it. This year we thought it showed a few signs of wear and tear, and needs updating. For instance, although there was plenty of cutlery it was really poor quality and every fork bent in half when used. It seems that as things are being replaced the quality is being sacrificed. These are only minor points and will not stop us returning, but as this is graded as a 5* Property I would expect it to be kept to the standard it used to be.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. We always review cutlery, crockery, pots and pans etc. before Christmas and will take note of your comments.

View All Guest Reviews

8.9 out of 10 – based on 17 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 16 Property Ref: CBBH View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: CBBJ View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast