By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Shortlist
Back to Search

Heath View Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Westleton
Grade 3 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Sleeps5
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms1
Pets0

Why Us?


This Cottage is brought to you by:

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

This property is close to Dunwich Heath (NT), Minsmere RSPB reserve and Blyth Estuary, as well as the Suffolk Heritage Coast.

Ideal for coast or countryside

Located facing heath and farmland in the village of Westleton with two pubs and a shop, this semi-detached holiday home is close to Dunwich Heath (NT), Minsmere RSPB reserve and Blyth Estuary. It has a summerhouse/playroom with a selection of toys. Southwold and Aldeburgh are 20 minutes drive, and attractions of the Suffolk Heritage Coast are nearby. Sports centre at Leiston and boating available at Southwold and Thorpness. Heath walks direct from the door. An ideal area for cyclists. Children will enjoy the playground in the village. Shop and pub 300 yards.

Ground floor: Living room. Dining room/kitchen. Conservatory. Shower room. Separate toilet. First floor: 3 bedrooms: 1 double, 1 twin, 1 single.

Open fire in living room (no fuel provided). Oil central heating, electricity and bed linen included. Video. CD. Ceramic hob. Electric oven. Microwave. Washing machine. Fridge/freezer. Wi-fi. Enclosed garden with patio and furniture. Summerhouse/playroom. Barbecue. Parking (2-3 cars). No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Open FireOpen Fire
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • WifiWifi
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • No PetsNo Pets
  • Car Parking - On SiteCar Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 22/10/2016
    Repeat visit.very happy


  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 24/09/2016
    Unfortunately the cottage was not what we expected, the three piece suite as not comphy the stairs creaked, and as the loo was downstairs, it was very annoying in the middle of the night trying to be quite. The kitchen lacked a suitable vent to the outside, for all the cooking smells. The toilet pan was very loose and needs fixing, it could be dangerous. The worst thing was getting the car out onto the main road, because of the steepness, we had to drive out quite slowly if we didn't, the car front hit the road, and it was made worst, with the locals driving like maniac's. It was also spoilt by our welcome pack a packet of discounted biscuits and a pint of UHT milk which we left, for the money we paid it was very disappointing.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We were really sorry to hear that these guests were unhappy with their stay and that it was not what they had expected, especially as they seem to contradict those left in the visitors book. We try hard to ensure our guests are comfortable & enjoy their stay & have followed up to see if any actions can be taken.. We are grateful when guests let us know if any issues have arisen so we can do our best to put them right. Given the need for an extractor has been raised we checked the cottage and found that excessive spillages in the oven were causing a problem in the kitchen. The cooker has been commercially cleaned & lined with teflon, a non-stick oven liner fitted, and a new fan has been installed in the oven; the cooker is also normally checked and cleaned where necessary after each let as part of the check and cleaning process. We have also started looking into whether we can install an extractor in the kitchen, mindful of the conservatory backing onto the kitchen and the limited space in which it could be installed. We found that one of the toilet pan bolts had sheared and so both have been replaced and it has been re-secured. It is unfortunate that Mr and Mrs Cox found driving out of the cottage difficult. Westleton is a working country village which does have through traffic which sometimes is busier than others. It has an inn, a post office/shop, a small garage & a pub plus it is surrounded by heath and farmland. It is also located nearby to National Trust land and RSPB Minsmere. The road through the village has a 30 mph speed limit and to support and reinforce this we have put 30 mph signs on two of our refuse bins. Villagers also have a speed gun which they use from time to time. We were sorry that the milk, biscuits, tea, coffee and sugar left for our guests wasn’t felt to be helpful on this occasion; we normally try to buy our biscuits from the National Trust at Dunwich Heath, but this has not always possible, however we have noted the comments.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 06/08/2016
    Westleton is a very pleasant village with a useful shop. Heath Cottage is convenient for various seaside towns and other attractions nearby. We found the downstairs bathroom and toilet inconvenient and the concrete garden was dieappointing. We were otherwise happy enough with the house which was well equipped.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 04/06/2016
    A lovely warm cottage, well situated for walking, places of interest and eating establishments. Close enough to walk to the coast cross country. Cottage has good outside seating, the downside is the downstairs bathroom.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 16/04/2016
    Unfortunately we had a problem as the shower switch fused all the power points and we had to leave after a couple of days as we were not prepared to face the upheaval of the work required to install a replacement. However, in the end we were fairly treated by the owners and received a satisfactory refund. The property was very clean and well looked after, but the 300 yards to shop and pub were extremely optimistic. Our main grumble would be the distance from the upstairs bedroom to the downstairs toilet which meant any calls in the night were a problem. The compensations are obviously the lovely surrounding countryside, Snape, Southwold, Aldeburgh and the local pubs.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We were very sorry indeed that you had a problem with the shower on the Sunday evening. No-one wants anything like this to happen and we did our very best to assist, repair and compensate you. Having been contacted by neighbours at 7.55 p.m., with their help all electrics (other than the shower) were restored by 8.07 p.m. and we had also contacted the electricity supplier and Distribution Company to check that there was not a power cut. The shower and electrics were checked by a local competent electrician by 9.00 p.m. who confirmed that the electrics were safe but the shower unit had broken down and needed replacing. We immediately contacted our Electrical Contractor who confirmed that the shower would be replaced by 5.00 p.m. the following day. Messages were left to update you on your mobile phone and you were also kept informed by our neighbours that evening. We left a further message again apologising to you on your mobile phone the following morning also offering to treat you to lunch and confirming that the shower would be replaced by 5.00 p.m. that day. Not being able to reach you directly, we contacted Cottages 4 You who managed to make contact and also advised you we were happy to reimburse you for the night in view of the disruption. We were really sorry that you did not feel able to take up these offers or stay on at the cottage, especially as we understood from our Regional Manager that it was a lovely day on 11th April. However, we respected your wish to cut short your holiday and gave an appropriate refund. It was very regrettable that you had a problem with the shower and that you were not able to stay for the duration of your holiday. We try hard to provide a homely base for our guests to enjoy the benefits of the local Suffolk Coastal area and everything it has to offer. The property and all electrical equipment is subject to all the required electrical checks by our Electrical Contractor, however, unfortunately equipment will sometimes go wrong. On this occasion our Contractor checked on the model required the following morning and ensured that a new shower was fitted and operational by 5.00 p.m. that day (11th April). It is true that the cottage has a downstairs toilet as is outlined in the property description; at this time there is little we can do to alter this. The shop, inn and pub are all located in the village of Westleton.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 18/03/2016
    Excellent location for Suffolk Coast and Heaths


  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 07/03/2016
    Brilliant holiday in AONB We felt the cottage needed a good sort out and bringing up to date.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 12/02/2016
    Fantastic


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.0 out of 10 – based on 12 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast