21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you 21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Duvale Cottages - Orchard Barn

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Bampton, near Tiverton, Devon
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×
Sleeps28
Bedrooms10
Bathrooms7
Pets 2

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Devonshire Heartland, Somerset and the North Devon coastline on your doorstep, this property is in an excellent countryside location.

Riverside location

Close to Exmoor National Park

Shared use of 30-acres of unspoilt garden

Fishing lake (licence required, at cost)

Set in the Exe Valley, and very accessible from major roads, are these beautiful properties which all offer the perfect holiday retreat, all or part of the complex can be booked for large groups, parties or family gatherings. The four properties can accommodate up to 99 guests when booked together. It would make an ideal venue for a wedding, with facilities allowing up to 130 guests to attend, by arrangement. With the River Exe, Devonshire Heartland, Somerset and the North Devon coastline on your doorstep, the properties are situated in an excellent countryside location offering a good base to explore the beautiful area and are within easy driving distance of Exmoor National Park and the Devon and Somerset border.
Golf, horse riding, cycling and fishing are available locally, and clay pigeon shooting, fly fishing and river salmon fishing can be arranged locally. Rod hire available. Many delightful scenic countryside walks can be found from your doorstep including the spectacular scenic coast between Minehead and Combe Martin. Tiverton, 7 miles, offers a selection of shops, restaurants and pubs as well as the famous Grand Western Canal and Bickleigh Castle.
The nearest coast with sandy beaches and family attractions including Somerset World and West Somerset scenic steam railway is at the seaside resort of Minehead. The medieval town of Dunster with its magnificent castle, deer park and mill and the historic cathedral city of Exeter with its variety of shops, restaurants, theatres, race course and the Maritime Museum are both 20 miles away.
Delightful Bickleigh, 8 miles, has lovely thatched inns overlooking the river serving good food and local ales, the perfect location to get away from it all. Taunton, Ilfracombe, Sidmouth, Seaton and Exmouth within easy driving distance. NT properties within easy reach include, Knightshayes Court, Powderham Castle and Castle Drogo to name a few. Brampton, 2 miles, where sailing is available at nearby Wimbleball Lake. Shop 1½ miles, pub ¼ mile.

Ground Floor:
Living room 1:
With wood burner, Freeview TV, DVD player, CD player and beams.
Living room 2: With wood burner, Freeview TV and beams.
Living room 3.
Kitchen/dining room:
With Rayburn, electric cooker, microwave, fridge, 2 freezers, dishwasher and beams.
Utility room: With washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With twin beds and en-suite with walk-in shower.
2 separate toilets.
3 separate staircases to first floor.
First staircase to...
First Floor:
Bedroom 2:
With double bed, single bed and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds and single bed.
Bedroom 4: With twin beds.
Second staircase to...
First Floor:
Bedroom 5:
With double bed, single bed and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 6: With double bed and twin beds.
Bedroom 7: With double bed.
Third staircase to...
First Floor:
Bedroom 8:
With double bed, twin beds and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 9: With double bed and single bed.
Bedroom 10: With twin beds.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.
Shower room 1: With shower cubicle and toilet.
Shower room 2: With shower cubicle and toilet.

Oil central heating included. Logs for woodburners available locally. Rayburn available £100per week, £50 per short break. Games room with pool table. Large enclosed gardens with private terrace and garden furniture. Please note: Couples and family bookings only.

All properties: Electricity, bed linen and Wi-Fi included. Towel hire. Travel cot and highchair. Barbecue. 30-acres of natural unspoilt grounds (shared). 2 dogs welcome, must be kept on lead at all times. Ample parking. No smoking. Please note: There is a lake in the grounds.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Walk-in Shower/Bath
    Walk-in Shower/Bath
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 6

    04/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 25/09/2017
    Short break 3 nights for family birthday celebration. Barn was OK but not great. Lots of space as we only had 9 couples staying so did not need all the beds but needed the privacy. Kitchen was quite cramped for us so would be worse if the place was full. The long dining table was irritating as there was barely space to squeeze by when people were sitting down and it was difficult for those sitting on wall side to get in and out. Lounges (3 of them) were good with loads of comfy sofas/armchairs. Loads of space to park cars right out front and nice big lawn area. Bedrooms and en-suites / bathrooms reasonable and water pressure OK unless several people showering at same time. Some irksome things: on arrival owner's key concern seemed to be about guests ensuring the shower doors were properly closed. We ran out of toilet rolls - owner supplied 1 for each toilet but then guests are expected to supply additional as "it's self catering" - we did not expect this and have never encountered this practice in self catering holidays but to be fair owner did then supply extra rolls. One of the guests broke a dinner plate. Owner deducted £10 off our deposit which seemed excessive - owner said they are expensive plates, really? Signs up everywhere asking guests to strip beds before departure - we did but I have never stayed in a self catering place that demands this.


  • 10

    15/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 10/07/2017
    Lovely stay to celebrate my parents wedding Aniversary plenty of room for all the family. Lovely garden for the children to let off steam. Overall great stay.


  • 6

    27/11/2016
    Confirmed guest, 20/11/2016
    Overall, the stay at the property was comfortable and convenient - it was large enough to comfortably accommodate the group and isolated enough for us to make a lot of noise without disturbing anyone. There were a few things which let the stay down: I appreciate this is a business, however the extra charges thrown in were extremely steep. £70 for heating for 2 nights - my quarterly bill doesn't even come to this much!! £20 per log for the log burner - needless to say we didn't touch the logs!! We were way too warm anyway with the heating cranked up. £30 to clean a spot stain on the carpet because the owner didn't feel that a can of vanish and some elbow grease would do the job and instead necessitated the hire of a cleaning machine. 10am is a little early to ask people to leave and it's very unpleasant having the owner lurking around while we try to enjoy the last of our weekends - as a group we don't see each other often so it's a pity the goodbyes had to be brief as we felt we were being shooed out of the property. It may be worth investing in a mobile signal booster - the complete lack of signal made it difficult to stay in touch with people arriving and we were unable to call taxis to ferry us into town. If the landline is there only for emergency calls it's worth putting a sign next to the phone. Overall the stay was comfortable but expensive and no time to relax on the final morning.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; I’m awfully sorry that you felt you were rushed out of the property, you did book with the Agents and the departure time states 10am. From memory, I came across at 9.50am to say hello and ask how your stay was and I explained this because sometimes I pop across at 10am and everybody has already left. The spot mark was actually 50cm by 50cm as I sent you a photograph of it, had it been a spot mark we may not have charged. There are 3 boilers in the house and that is the heating cost to run them.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.2 out of 10 – based on 5 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 12 Property Ref: 24154 View Accommodation
Sleeps 26 Property Ref: 9985 View Accommodation
Sleeps 34 Property Ref: 18429 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers