You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 22,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

West Mains Cottage

Kirkinner, near Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

09/06/2019
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Pets 3
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?



What we love


Description

A perfect base from which to explore, with beaches, the Galloway Hills and Newton Stewart all within easy reach.

Steps to entrance. All on ground floor: Living room with beams and wooden floor. Steps to second living room with double sofa bed. Dining room/kitchen with beams and patio door. 1 step to 2 bedrooms: 1 double (5ft), 1 twin (zip & link, can be 6ft double on request). Bathroom with bath, shower cubicle and toilet. Shower room with toilet.

Multi-fuel burner in living room (initial fuel included). Partial Economy 7 central heating, electricity and bed linen included. Travel cot and high chair on request. Satellite TV. Freeview TV. DVD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washing machine. Freezer. Wi-fi. Small, enclosed, lawned garden with patio, sitting-out area and furniture. Parking (2 cars). Welcome pack. No smoking. NB: Fenced pond in garden. There are 2 steps leading from the living room to the hallway.

This pretty, detached holiday cottage is set amidst rolling farmland in this very scenic area, with lovely beaches, challenging hills and some of the best cycling around. West Mains Cottage is by the Royal Burgh of Wigtown, home to Scotland’s very own national book town, which has become a much-loved institution. It is a must for lover of literacy and is graced by many a famous author, offering lectures and book signings. Wigtown Bay Local Nature Reserve is the largest local nature reserve in Britain. Migrating Solway Geese and the wetland native birds make this an ornithologist’s dream. Newton Stewart is known as the ’Gateway to the Galloway Hills’. These hills are not as lofty as their northern neighbours but are equally challenging. With names like Rig of the Jarkness, the ranges of the Awful Hand and Dungeon, these could be straight out of a Harry Potter tale! The Rhins of Galloway is the most westerly peninsula in Galloway, and at its tip is the Mull of Galloway, with its stunning views and lighthouse. Throughout this peninsula, there are secluded bays, beautiful sandy beaches and superb fishing opportunities. The jewel in the crown of this area is Portpatrick, whose name refers to the legend that St Patrick crossed the North Channel in a single leap. On a clear day you can almost reach out and touch Ireland. There is also fishing and golf nearby. Beach 6 miles. Shop 2 miles, pub and restaurant 1 mile.

Read more 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Satellite TV
    Satellite TV
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • More Than Dog Friendly
    More Than Dog Friendly


Customer Comments

  • 10

    22/07/2019
    Confirmed guest, 20/07/2019
    We had a fantastic holiday in this wonderful, peaceful cottage. It is a fantastic place for people with dogs as there is an old airfield just over the road and beaches galore within a few miles. The local pub was great and the locals really friendly. The cottage is ideally placed for the towns of Newton Stewart and Wigtown, the coast, several decent pubs and all the local attractions. We felt at home as soon as we entered the door and were sad to leave but we hope to return soon.


  • 4

    30/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/06/2019
    We had a lovely week away with what can only be described as amazing weather. The area is picturesque and the beach at Luce bay was wonderful. The reason for the low marks about overall satisfaction etc. is mainly due to the fact that, as generally polite people, the previous guests had failed to point out the many faults we found to the owners therefore not allowing them the opportunity to fix the problems that we discovered during our stay. Both the showers had issues from leaking shower heads, broken riser rails, damaged hoses and one was very slow to drain almost filling to the bottom of the door. The toilet flush mechanism was damaged. One of the patio doors was almost falling out of its runners. There were wasps entering the cavity around the patio doors. The extractor in the kitchen had no buttons and could therefore not be used. All of these issues, and many more, tainted what should have been a fabulous stay. I left a list of things that needed looking at in the comments book but would like to say that in no way do I lay the blame entirely with the owners. If, instead of not wanting to offend, previous guests had left an honest review then things would be far better. I think it is a bit much when you have to refit a wardrobe door as it almost fell off when it was first opened! Obviously not mentioned by the previous guests! This property should, and could, be a wonderful place to take a holiday but unless we all play our part then it will remain an ok place to take a holiday!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. As you say we do need, and welcome, feedback from customers as we are unable to put right things that we don't know about. We don't get the opportunity to stay in the cottage as much as we would like, and it is only when you are staying there that many of these issues come to light. Our caretaker and cleaner do a wonderful job in the time they have available to do the changeover but they are not staying there and using the facilities. I understand that the issues you have listed have been addressed where possible and I have a week booked in the cottage later this month which will allow me to see if anything else needs doing. We do always request that customers let us know straight away if they have any issues at the cottage so that we can try and rectify during their holiday. We are always disappointed when customers do not enjoy their stay in our much loved cottage.

  • 8

    21/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2019
    Perfect location to explore the Galloway Forest and coastline. Wigmore is 3 miles away where there is a Co Op. and excellent base for book shops being Scotlands Book Capital. The cottage was perfect for our 3 dogs, with secure gardens. A little dated re decor., but clean and comfortable beds and armchairs, sofa etc. Kitchen needs a few extra cooking items eg colander and grater, and we need to buy a new tin opener as the provided opener was broken. Not a problem. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at West Mains Cottage. On a farm lane with farm vehicles but this was expected and did not cause any problems. Disused WW2 air field opposite cottage was perfect for walking the dogs, and was full of bird life and wild flowers. Loved it. Would very happily return here.


  • 9

    26/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2019
    We loved the cottage, really lovely and very comfortable. The weather was beautiful all week. We sat out in the garden several times and the dog ran in and out as she pleased. This cottage was one of the best we have been in and we would deffinately recommend it.


  • 8

    08/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/01/2019
    Lovely relaxing place- if it had been cleaner would have given 10/10


  • 8

    11/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/09/2018
    Excellent for dogs. Not spotless but ok. Some areas in cottage a little dated but wonderful location for star gazing. Definitely going again


  • 10

    02/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/09/2018
    4 th visit and first summer one,absolutely love this place


  • 10

    22/07/2019
    Confirmed guest, 20/07/2019
    We had a fantastic holiday in this wonderful, peaceful cottage. It is a fantastic place for people with dogs as there is an old airfield just over the road and beaches galore within a few miles. The local pub was great and the locals really friendly. The cottage is ideally placed for the towns of Newton Stewart and Wigtown, the coast, several decent pubs and all the local attractions. We felt at home as soon as we entered the door and were sad to leave but we hope to return soon.


  • 4

    30/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 29/06/2019
    We had a lovely week away with what can only be described as amazing weather. The area is picturesque and the beach at Luce bay was wonderful. The reason for the low marks about overall satisfaction etc. is mainly due to the fact that, as generally polite people, the previous guests had failed to point out the many faults we found to the owners therefore not allowing them the opportunity to fix the problems that we discovered during our stay. Both the showers had issues from leaking shower heads, broken riser rails, damaged hoses and one was very slow to drain almost filling to the bottom of the door. The toilet flush mechanism was damaged. One of the patio doors was almost falling out of its runners. There were wasps entering the cavity around the patio doors. The extractor in the kitchen had no buttons and could therefore not be used. All of these issues, and many more, tainted what should have been a fabulous stay. I left a list of things that needed looking at in the comments book but would like to say that in no way do I lay the blame entirely with the owners. If, instead of not wanting to offend, previous guests had left an honest review then things would be far better. I think it is a bit much when you have to refit a wardrobe door as it almost fell off when it was first opened! Obviously not mentioned by the previous guests! This property should, and could, be a wonderful place to take a holiday but unless we all play our part then it will remain an ok place to take a holiday!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. As you say we do need, and welcome, feedback from customers as we are unable to put right things that we don't know about. We don't get the opportunity to stay in the cottage as much as we would like, and it is only when you are staying there that many of these issues come to light. Our caretaker and cleaner do a wonderful job in the time they have available to do the changeover but they are not staying there and using the facilities. I understand that the issues you have listed have been addressed where possible and I have a week booked in the cottage later this month which will allow me to see if anything else needs doing. We do always request that customers let us know straight away if they have any issues at the cottage so that we can try and rectify during their holiday. We are always disappointed when customers do not enjoy their stay in our much loved cottage.

  • 8

    21/06/2019
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2019
    Perfect location to explore the Galloway Forest and coastline. Wigmore is 3 miles away where there is a Co Op. and excellent base for book shops being Scotlands Book Capital. The cottage was perfect for our 3 dogs, with secure gardens. A little dated re decor., but clean and comfortable beds and armchairs, sofa etc. Kitchen needs a few extra cooking items eg colander and grater, and we need to buy a new tin opener as the provided opener was broken. Not a problem. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at West Mains Cottage. On a farm lane with farm vehicles but this was expected and did not cause any problems. Disused WW2 air field opposite cottage was perfect for walking the dogs, and was full of bird life and wild flowers. Loved it. Would very happily return here.


  • 9

    26/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2019
    We loved the cottage, really lovely and very comfortable. The weather was beautiful all week. We sat out in the garden several times and the dog ran in and out as she pleased. This cottage was one of the best we have been in and we would deffinately recommend it.


  • 8

    08/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/01/2019
    Lovely relaxing place- if it had been cleaner would have given 10/10


  • 8

    11/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/09/2018
    Excellent for dogs. Not spotless but ok. Some areas in cottage a little dated but wonderful location for star gazing. Definitely going again


  • 10

    02/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/09/2018
    4 th visit and first summer one,absolutely love this place


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.0 out of 10 – based on 13 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE