Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Warleigh Lodge

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Tamerton Foliot, near Plymouth, Devon
Grade 4 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
m=drB71Jek1qg
Sleeps6
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms2
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Tamerton Foliot is a peaceful village, super for a relaxing holiday yet within easy reach of all the nearby attractions.

Once the guardian of the entrance to the manor house, Warleigh Lodge is an attractive stone, detached holiday cottage of Gothic style architecture, with superb countryside views across the River Tamar to Cornwall in the distance beyond. The lodge has a large garden with lawn and small woodland copse. Close to the village of Tamerton Foliot, a suburb of Plymouth, it is in a quiet location surrounded by open country, and could hardly be better placed for access to the many varied attractions of the surrounding area. Dartmoor (15 minutes’ drive), home of Dartmoor Prison, and the ’Hound of the Baskervilles’, its many tors, moors and the well known and loved Dartmoor ponies roaming the high moorland; or travel towards the coastline and explore the many coves and sandy beaches of both south Devon and across the bridge into Cornwall. Many beaches to choose from are less than half an hour’s drive away. Plymouth and the waterfront region (20 minutes’ drive to the city centre) is a fascinating mixture of bustling modern city, with a shopping mall with all the high street brands, and maritime history. Visit the Hoe with Smeaton’s Tower and superb views of the bay across to Cornwall. The historic Barbican area is worth a visit with its cobbled streets, national marine aquarium, Plymouth Gin Distillery, harbour with fishing boats, antique shops and individual boutiques. Shop and pub ¼ mile.

All on the ground floor:
Living room:
With open fire, TV, DVD player and CD player.
Dining room/conservatory: With French doors leading to garden.
Kitchen: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge, dishwasher and washer/dryer.
Bedroom 1: With four poster double bed and en-suite with bath, shower attachment and toilet.
Bedroom 2: With kingsize bed and French doors leading to garden.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.

Electric heaters, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Initial fuel for open fire included. Lawned garden with patio, garden furniture and barbecue. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking. Please note: This property has a security deposit of £200.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Heritage Collection
    Heritage Collection
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 10

    07/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 02/04/2018
    Lovely walks, lovely views. Brilliant garden for the dogs. Will love to visit in the summer.


  • 10

    24/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/03/2018
    Lovely cottage, very spacious and comfortable. Perfect for our dog, great garden and walks from the door. Beautful views too. We had a really good time.


  • 4

    01/11/2017
    Confirmed guest, 20/10/2017
    We had real concerns with this let. It is located in an excellent position and could really benefit from some TLC. The owners over time apparently have made improvements but it really lacked a homely feeling. The cleanliness was average and suffice to say that we had to buy bleach! The kitchen is very small and there were a number of things not working and with a need for attention to detail when cleaning. We reported a couple of things which had been remarked on by earlier visitors and not acted upon - again no action.The garden is large but not dog proof (we knew that). The wifi signal is very poor, the TV is small and old. I do not wish to add anything else but easily could. The content of the house book was very poor.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are sorry that you did not enjoy your week at our home. It would be best if I addressed all your points in order as they are, (as you mentioned in the visitor’s book) more or less the opposite of the vast majority of previous reviews over the last 10 years (approximately some 1,200 people have stayed during that time) that we have been renting out our home to visitors. As regards cleanliness, we changed our cleaning company over to one dedicated person in December 2016 and since then have had a number of comments as to how clean our home is. We do not keep bleach in the Lodge as it is not to be used because of the cess pit requirements as no strong chemicals are allowed. This is clearly listed the house book. The TLC we have shown is reflected in the improvements that we have made in the last two years, at considerable expense, with the installation of a new bathroom, a new kitchen and adding a 20 square metre conservatory with additional heating for all year round usage and offering breath taking views form Devon into Cornwall. The kitchen is small (this is shown on the photos on the website, picture numbers 3 and 4) – if only we could make it bigger! We do visit the Lodge as frequently as we can and act on constructive criticism. I was there in July and my wife visited three months later on the day you left (we do live 200 miles away) so the microwave was replaced immediately. We also purchased a kitchen tray and a cafetiere which, as you say, had been mentioned in the visitor’s book. In the guest book you also mentioned that the cooker temperature was not correct. However, all cookers do vary and you are the first guest that reported an issue (the cooker was brand new in 2012 and is tested by a qualified electrician annually). My wife had no problems with the cooker the week after your visit. The plot size is 0.40% of an acre (17,400 square feet) so we do not advertise the garden as dog proof because any determined dog will find a way no matter what fencing you have. However, our well behaved Golden Retriever Lilly, has never escaped from the garden as we do check the fencing frequently for any problems. We do not list WIFI as being available at the Lodge because, as it is so far from the exchange, the best signal is poor, and until BT lay better cabling we cannot improve it. That is why we specifically do not mention availability of WIFI in the Lodge at all in any advertising. We merely offer it free as a courtesy when guests arrive so that they can access emails. If it were possible to improve it, then we would do so and would then include it in the advertised facilities. The TV is only 7 years old and is in full working order. Once again, no previous guest has reported an issue with the TV. The house book is the standard book issued by the Agency. Once again, no previous guest has reported an issue with the house book. I do know that the weather was poor the week that you stayed, and with 8 adults and 2 dogs in a small house, it is always helpful to have good weather to enjoy the views and the sunsets.

  • 9

    19/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2017
    It is a n attractive and comfortable house, and is situated witha superb view of the countryside and estauary, but there were certain shortcomings : 1. The directions for finding it need to be improv ed and better presented. We wasted an hour searching around endless Plymouth suburbs. 2. Although it has an open fire, no materials were provided on arrival. It is the first ever rented house with a solid fuel fire that I have taken that has NOT provided at least sufficient fuel for the first day. Moreover, the visitor notes on where to obtain supplies were vague. 3. It would be helpful to have more information about the countryside north of Plymouth, including pubs and restaurants, as we fouhd that it is very attractive, yet there was little in the visitor book about this.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your review and your score of 9 out of 10. We see from your review left in the visitor’s book that had a great weekend, found the beds comfortable, and that you hope to be back. We welcome back guests who leave the Lodge as clean as you did. The directions that we supply are the same as we have been supplying to all the guests that have visited over the last 10 years that we have been inviting guests into our home. So I am unsure as to how to change or improve them as no other guest has raised this as an issue before. You do sometimes find that satnavs are inaccurate in locating the Lodge and can lead you down to the river. There is a large pile of logs at the back of our carpark which are all free of charge but it seems we did not leave any in the house so sorry for that. The garage that sells logs is on the only major route to the Lodge and also the big Tesco as per the house book. The area North of Plymouth is largely unpopulated as it does include Dartmoor so we have only included details of two pubs to the North of the Lodge in the visitor book that we have visited, one in Yelverton and one in Milton Combe. Also, Brentor Church with its mysterious myth about the devil is listed in the house book and is well worth a visit! We will have to investigate more in the future as we tend to head straight for Dartmoor to walk the dogs.

  • 10

    05/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 04/08/2017
    Loved it. Would stay again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner- Thank you for your comments which are appreciated.

  • 10

    04/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 30/06/2017
    Nice place


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.0 out of 10 – based on 13 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.