You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

The Sunday School

Enniscaven, near St Austell, Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

31/12/2019
View Map Shortlist
Sleeps 4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms 1
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

The Sunday School sits quietly behind the owner’s converted chapel, which is an ideal base to enjoy both the north and south coasts of Cornwall.

Perfectly situated to enjoy the benefits of Cornwall and sitting quietly behind the converted chapel, overlooking the Cornish countryside, this converted Sunday School provides an ideal holiday base from which to explore the county. Cycling and walking on the official ’Clay Trails’ within the area are a must, along which you can explore the area and even reach the world famous Eden Project. St Austell, with its leisure centre, is approximately 6 miles, as is the village of Charlestown, home to ’tall ships’ and a shipwreck heritage museum that houses artefacts from the Titanic. To the north of the property, the fishing village of Padstow, with its numerous restaurants (local seafood is a speciality), is easily accessible. Also available is bike hire (the famous Camel Trail), fishing trips and diving. Newquay, with its excellent surfing beaches, is approximately 12 miles away, and close by is Jamie Oliver’s restaurant ’Fifteen’. On the south coast, the ancient fishing port of Fowey is within 10 miles and was home to Daphne Du Maurier. Fowey has many events throughout the year, such as the Du Maurier festival and the Fowey Royal Regatta. It is also home to many galleries, pubs, restaurants and shops. Sea fishing, sailing and diving trips are available locally. Bodmin Moor is also close by and provides an excellent location for horse riding, walking and mountain biking. The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Lanhydrock House, Restormel Castle and Crealy Adventure Park are all within an easy drive. Beach 6 miles. Shop, pub and restaurant 1 mile.

All on the ground floor:
Open plan living space.
Living area:
With 32" Freeview TV, DVD player, iPod dock, CD player and French doors leading to courtyard.
Dining area.
Kitchen area:
With electric range, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and wooden floor.
Bedroom 1: With zip and link super kingsize bed (can be twin beds on request).
Bedroom 2: With kingsize bed.
Bathroom: With bath, shower attachment and toilet.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels, hot tub towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot and highchair. Welcome pack and doggy extras. Enclosed, lawned garden with patio, sitting-out area, garden furniture and barbecue. Hot tub (private). Bike store. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking. Wheelchair access.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Romantic Getaways
    Romantic Getaways
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Wheelchair Access
    Wheelchair Access
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Baby and Toddler Friendly
    Baby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Entrance Ramp/Level Access
    Entrance Ramp/Level Access
  • Hot Tubs - Private
    Hot Tubs - Private
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • More Than Dog Friendly
    More Than Dog Friendly


Customer Comments

  • 10

    23/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/03/2019
    Just got home from a week break at the Sunday school, absolutely fantastic. Everything was just perfect. Will definitely be booking here again.


  • 10

    16/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 02/03/2019
    Fantastic stay, thanks so much to Sharon and Brian


  • 10

    19/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 12/02/2019
    This is our third year staying at The Sunday School and it is a much needed luxury break in winter! It is warm and welcoming, Sharon is a delightful hostess, the hot tub is secluded and the furnishing very comfortable. Let me talk you through it. The gates to the private parking area are left open and there is enough space to turn your car to drive out if you don't wish to reverse. (Our car is not a small one.) The entrance hall is wide (umbrella provided if needed) and to the right is the main bedroom, the side lights welcoming, the heating warming, the bed made up with scrupulously clean linen. Dressing gowns, hot water bottles, towels, blanket, pillows and cushions, hair dryer are all provided. We unpack and put the kettle on. On the table are large scones, jam (we asked for more and it was provided within minutes) cream and butter. Tea, coffee, milk and sugar are all there. In the fridge were sausages and bacon, eggs and baps, baked beans, breakfast cereals, sauces, salt and pepper and oil so breakfast (and lunch) are taken care of. In the lounge rests a basket with wine, biscuits, 3 types of fruit and chocolates. Outside the hot tub awaits - private, for your own use 24 hours a day. Each day Sharon or Brian come round to clean it. 2 bulbs blew in the bedside lights - fixed within a couple of hours. It is clean, smells fresh (never a hint of dog), is comfortable and you can relax on the large L shaped sofa and watch the large screen TV or read a book, play a game or chat. We feel totally at home. You will never find a better holiday cottage than this. (plus it's a very good price, esp with all the food and extras) And as for Joe of Sheffield, his wife's review (you can read it in the visitor book) is 'will miss this place... Sharon...defo went the extra mile...Beautiful cottage came with everything needed...we all really enjoyed our stay.' I agree with her.


  • 10

    15/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 08/02/2019
    2 adults and a dog. Lovely cottage, great contained garden that the dog loved. Everything you need was here, kitchen has everything needed. Spotlessly clean and the hot tub was lovely after lots of walking!! I couldn’t recommend this cottage any higher, if only I could score it 11.


  • 10

    25/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 20/01/2019
    Wonderful stay at the Sunday School as a group of 4 adults. We had a nice walk around the Goss Moor Trail, which the dogs loved but my legs didn't appreciate as much. However, the hot tub helped! Sharon is also a wonderful host, very attentive and lovely. We will definitely look to stay again.


  • 5

    11/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/01/2019
    All the photos look great. Sharron is nice and welcoming. Arrived, no parking in the carport as shown on photos and parking is very tight for large cars. The beds in all the rooms are not the same as the ones in the photos, metal frames. On arrival we was told the heating was broken and only comes on 6 times a day (we went for new year week!) one of the 6 times being in middle of the night. Roasting and living room was cold from 6-10pm in the evening had to your a blanket!! Then to be woken up by barking dogs at 6am (neighbours or owners) to top it off it smelt lovely on arrival but after a day it smelt of dogs!! Nice touch with bacon and sausage in the fridge and fresh duck eggs! But would not stop here again. Very small fridge, and the hot tub is not very well lit on the garden area. Children cannot go in the hot tub for insurance purposes. Kitchen is very dark to work in and the cooker hood light did not work. Check out was very promt... hostess approached at 10am on the dot as we left.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for taking the time to write a Reevoo and in the guest book but this seems to be contradictive. I am so sorry you feel this way; I wish you had raised your concerns to myself to solve your issues directly whilst you were here to make your stay more comfortable. I am glad you liked the bacon, sausages, duck eggs, milk, baked beans, cereal, butter, baps, afternoon tea, chocolate, fruit, biscuits, and wine of the welcome pack. The beds have been changed to be kept up to our high standards to be able to keep getting the customer’s choice award 4 years running. The heating is in full working order and the bulbs have been replaced on the cooker hood. Children can use the hot tub with supervision at all times; it is the infants that are not allowed. The garden area has a diffused glass on it due to the evening wildlife; as we are rural the area has working dogs, most guests enjoy the sounds of rural life and watching bats and birds of prey. There is ample parking (if your driving skills are compromised we are more than happy to change the arrangements). I do like to come and say goodbye and thank you for staying with us. We apologise that this is at 10am but this is your contractual time upon leaving, but I do not mind if this is later.

  • 10

    22/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 07/11/2018
    This is our 3rd time at the Sunday School and we’ve already booked for the future. We have stayed in many cottages, but this is the best by far and nothing will ever match it. It is so cosy and warm, and has everything you need to ensure your stay is home from home. I don’t know what Joe from Sheffield is on about, I’d much prefer to have updated comfortable furniture! Also there is plenty of parking space for our large 4x4. The hot tub is amazing ( we’ve sat in it at midnight gazing at the stars) and the welcome pack is the best we’ve ever received- lovely locally sourced food. Thank you so much Sharon and Brian for providing such a lovely, relaxing place to stay. We will be back many more times


  • 10

    20/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 19/10/2018
    Another amazing stay and already booked to go back next year.


  • 10

    03/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 05/10/2018
    Once again an absolutely fantastic stay at The Sunday School. Quite definitely the best holiday cottage we’ve had the pleasure of staying in, all other cottages don’t even come close to this one. Sharon Is so thoughtful and provides everything you need and more so very generous. We’ve been going for the last four years and we’re looking forward to our fifth visit in September. A beautiful stay every time.


  • 10

    29/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/09/2018
    Just returned from a fabulous week in this cottage ! Absolutely gorgeous, the hosts couldn’t do enough and the cottage was of a fantastic standard , the welcome packages for us and the dogs were a lovely touch after a long drive. We were lucky the weathers was gorgeous but it wouldn’t have mattered as the cottage is so homely and cosy. Will definitely go back but it’s already pretty full for next year and no surprise! Cannot say enough good words about it ! Truly fantastic , thank you !


  • 10

    21/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/08/2018
    By far the best accommodation I have ever stayed in you would have to try really hard to try and find another of this quality already rebooted for next year


  • 10

    05/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/06/2018
    The Sunday school is the best cottage we have stayed in. The accommodation is so cosy and there is everything you need plus more, the locally sourced welcome food on arrival was lovely. The hot tub was a welcome relaxation after walking the coastal walks & enjoying the beaches. The owners are so friendly and helpful if you need them during your stay. We have already booked for 2 more stays


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.6 out of 10 – based on 24 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE