You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

The Old Granary


We wont be beaten on price!

Nowton, near Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps 8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms 3
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Visit the Historic town of Bury St Edmunds and enjoy its Theatre Royal, Abbey Gardens and Nowton Country Park.

This lovingly restored granary is set in on a 350-acre working arable farm. Located 3 miles from the historic town of Bury St Edmunds, famed for its Theatre Royal, Abbey Gardens and Nowton Country Park. Only a short drive to West Stow Anglo-Saxon village and Banham Zoo. The Suffolk Heritage coast is only a 45-minute drive. Aldeburgh, Snape, Cambridge, Newmarket and Lavenham are all within easy reach. Shop 2 miles, restaurant and pub ½ mile.

Ground floor: Living room with beams. Dining room with beams. Kitchen. Shower room with toilet. First floor: 4 bedrooms: 1 double with en-suite shower room and toilet, 2 twin, 1 bunk. Bathroom with toilet.

Woodburner in living room (initial fuel included). Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot. High chair. DVD and small library. CD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washing machine. Dishwasher. Fridge/freezer. Enclosed courtyard with sitting-out area and furniture. Barbecue. Ample parking. No smoking.

Show amenities 


  • Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 03/01/2019
    If you want to get away from everyday life this cottage is perfect. It’s quiet and clean. Enough space for my 2 children. Lovely walks around the cottage. You do have to drive to local amenities

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 01/12/2018
    Loved our stay at The Old Granary, peaceful setting in the middle of the countryside but only a few miles from Bury st Edmonds. Large and spacious with plenty of room and a very well equipped kitchen. The only couple of things that could be improved are the mattresses and the showers, but they didn’t spoil our stay. Owner was also very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 10/10/2018
    Lovely and spacious holiday cottage, with a beautiful feel to it. Situated in the countryside and yet very close to Bury St Edmunds and to some lovely walks too. The big dinner table was a bonus considering we occupied all rooms. The addition of wifi would make it outstanding.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2018
    This was probably four star a few years ago BUT; not a single bathroom works. Bulbs are missing so you can't see. None of the large machines work including the TV. No Wi-Fi. Hard floors and hard towels. Patio area untidy and unusable. No pretty views. Hard grass area. Soft beds. Aggressive dogs border garden and growl all the time. Horrible grumpy neighbour next door with a building site as your view. I spoke to the owner who said they would do the repairs but a month on they hadn't. Surfaces gleaming but they hadn't done any hoovering. This place needs updating and cleaned better as right now I don't think it should be 4 stars.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your review. I am sorry you appeared to have problems whilst staying at my cottage. I was quite surprised to read some of the difficulties you had, as the property is cleaned and checked regularly (between customers) and we have not found any issues with the bathrooms, lights or large appliances. The property is regularly checked by the company representative and it is she who awards the star rating as per Visit Britain standards. The property was also inspected by Visit Britain and achieved a 4 star grading. I am not sure why you felt you couldn’t use the patio area, but the hard grassed area was due to the hot weather we have had lately – unfortunately I could not do anything about that. I am sorry you had problems with our neighbour and his dog – this again is something out of my control, as is his building work, but as it is going on at the other side of the cottage from the garden, it should not encroach on customers too much. As always, if customers are having problems whilst in the cottage, I am just a phone call away, and will endeavour to help as soon as possible.

View All Guest Reviews

7.7 out of 10 – based on 7 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.