Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Old Farmhouse

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Lanivet, near Bodmin, Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps6
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

Enjoy on-site walks, discover the Eden Project, or simply relax in front of the wood burner with a good book.

Forming one half of an old farmhouse with the friendly, welcoming owners living next door, this holiday home is spacious, well equipped and ideal for family holidays at any time of the year. It has two wood burners, making the living and dining rooms really cosy during autumn and winter breaks. Situated just off the caravan and camping site of Mena Farm means that guests have full use of the facilities at Mena Farm, including the fishing pond, games room, TV lounge and 9-acre dog walking paddock. The property is located in central Cornwall, just 4 miles from the Eden Project and is a 5-minute drive through country lanes from the A30, making it easy to explore the whole of Cornwall. Beach 10 miles. Shop on-site, pub and restaurant 1½ miles.

Ground Floor:
Living room: With wood burner, Freeview TV, DVD player, CD player and slate floor.
Dining room: With wood burner and wooden floor.
Kitchen: Farmhouse style with gas/electric range, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer and tiled floor.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With super kingsize bed.
Bedroom 2: With double bed.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds.
Bathroom: With slipper bath, shower cubicle and toilet.

Oil central heating, gas, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Initial logs for wood burner included. Travel cot, highchair and stairgate available on request. Games barn with pool table, air hockey, table tennis and table football (shared with guests at Mena Farm). Courtyard with garden furniture. 9-acre dog exercise field shared with guests at Mena Farm). Fishing on-site (£5 per day, licence required). Bike store. Private parking for 3 cars. No smoking. Please note: There is a pond in the grounds.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 8

    05/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 02/06/2018
    We had a lovely week at Mena Farm. The cottage is set out in the country adjoining the Mena camp site. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we were able to take in the scenery whilst exercising the dogs. We were a family of 6 4 adults and two children aged 9 & 5. They loved the outdoor play area and had hours of fun playing. The facilities in the cottage are good, however the only negative was the bathroom, more the shower. Unfortunately the shower spray was very poor so much so that the spray was more of a trickle! The bathroom itself is nice a spacious with a slipper bath. We did try to use the bath but it took forever to fill up...we gave up and it also used all the hot water. So in essence looked nice but not really useful. As a minimum the shower needs to be replaced. The drive area to the house was private and secure. It was lovely to be able to sit outside and enjoy the sun. The yard area would benefit from a patio set or a table to go with the chairs already provided. (there was a wooden picnic table but the bench was very narrow and uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time) The kitchen facilities are great, it was easy to cook for the family rather than spending lots of money eating out. We did use the wood burner one evening and although you have to pay for the wood as this is an added extra it soon warmed the house up and made it cosy. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. It was an ideal central location and I would stay again. In fact we didn't want to come home.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Many thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you all, and to see the children making the most of the facilities here. We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mena overall. We are disappointed though that you didn’t mention any of the problems you detail in your review whilst you were here. It’s a little frustrating from our side, knowing that we could have resolved those issues for you during your stay. For example, there isn’t a limit to hot water, as it is instant and continuous, so we could have adjusted the water pressure for you. Also, we provide plenty of free firewood for guests to use, it is only the bags of logs that you need to pay for. We’re happy though that these issues wouldn’t deter you from returning to Mena, and we’d love to see you all again in the future. Thanks again and all the very best.

  • 10

    22/11/2017
    Confirmed guest, 28/10/2017
    We had such a great time. Kitchen was very well equipped. We loved the log burner in the living room - so cosy. The kids really enjoyed collecting the chicken eggs and playing on the campsite. Ali and Neil were fab hosts, so helpful and accommodating. Located close to a30 meant it was a great base (but far enough away not to be bothered by noise).

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Many thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Old Farmhouse. We very much hope that we get to see you again before too long.

  • 9

    13/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 02/09/2017
    AS IT WAS A PROPERTY FOR 6 PEOPLE & ONLY HAVING I TOILET WAS A PROBLEM IF THE BATH OR SHOWER WAS IN USE.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- Thank you for your kind review, and were glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Mena Farm.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.7 out of 10 – based on 6 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.