Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

The Oaks


We wont be beaten on price!

Llanwyddyn, Powys
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Perfect location for that family holiday in mid-Wales, with plenty of attractions for all ages.

Dating back to the early 1900s, The Oaks is a detached holiday home, originally the home of the engineer to the Lake Vyrnwy Estate and is built of stone with a slate roof. The house has retained many of its original features including panelled doors, parquet wood flooring, sash windows and cornicing, plus the addition of a woodburner all to capture the charm and character. With a large well tended garden and small babbling brook that runs alongside with fantastic views over the local woodlands and mountains from the top this really is a fantastic position for a holiday let. Llanwddyn is a small village within the Lake Vyrnwy Estate, a National Nature Reserve. The area is popular with visitors who can enjoy bird watching, walking, cycling and riding around Lake Vyrnwy and through the Cambrian Mountains and Berwyn Range. There is a post office, cafe and several gift shops which sell local crafts and produce. An award-winning hotel is situated nearby and has a restaurant and spa facilities and offers pheasant shooting and trout fishing in season. The area is a great base from which to explore mid and North Wales, Shropshire and Cheshire, within easy driving distance are Bala Lake, Dolgellau, Oswestry and Welshpool, there are 4 National trust properties nearby, Powys Castle, Chirk Castle, Erddig and Attingham Park. The west Wales coastline is less than an hours drive, similarly are Chester and Bangor on Dee racecourses. Llangollen, Betws-y-Coed and Snowdonia are around an hour and well worth the journey. Outdoor pursuits are available locally with a wide range of activities on offer from gorge walking, white water rafting, canoeing and sailing. Shop 1½ miles, pub 1¼ mile and restaurant 50 yards.

Ground floor: Living room. Second living room. Dining room. Kitchen. Utility room. Separate toilet. First floor: 5 bedrooms: 2 double, one (5ft) with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower cubicle and toilet, 2 twin, one with en-suite shower room and toilet, 1 single. Bathroom with shower attachment and toilet. Shower room with toilet.

Woodburner in living room (initial fuel included). Gas central heating, gas, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Freeview TV. DVD. Gas Aga. Washing machine. Dishwasher. Freezer. Wi-fi. Large lawned garden with patio and furniture. Ample parking. No smoking. Couples and family bookings only. NB: Stream forming boundary of garden.

Show amenities 


  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 04/01/2018
    This cottage has the potential to be amazing but unfortunately was let down by the lack of heating and poor showers. Plenty of space for the family but we were limited to 2 downstairs rooms due to the erratic heating system. We never managed to get the drawing room warm despite lighting the fire, we were here at New year with snow for some of our stay so this may be better at other times. The location is beautiful and we had many enjoyable trips out. We also enjoyed playing games around the kitchen table.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 30/10/2017
    Lovely, homely and comfortable. Lots of room and beautiful big kitchen. Furnishings not new, but beds really comfy. We were pleased to find amenities so close. Walk out of the drive either right or left and you find coffee shops and craft shops. A children’s playground and a sculpture walk within easy distance too. The house gardens are lovely but up a steep slope so not for pushchairs/mobility issues

  • 2

    Confirmed guest, 20/10/2017
    Showers were poor and barely trickled so hard to get properly clean. cooker didn't work properly and the hob wouldn't turn off as the knobs were broken. Heating unable to adjust ourselves which meant it was very cold throughout our stay. No fuel supplied for log fire despite this being stated as initial fuel included. Safety throughout the property was poor for young children including TV balanced on a wobbly table unfit for purpose and loose wires coiled at toddler height. Would not recommend for families with children under 6 or who need access to outside space as garden was unusable for the children.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: Thank you for your feedback, there are 3 showers within 4 bathrooms, the pressure of one of the showers isn’t as strong as the others, this is due to the location and is beyond our control. The other 2 showers are very good and there are also 2 baths.The cooker is in full working order however, we were alarmed to discover that you had not turned the hob off potentally causing a problem. The heating is on 24 hours a day, at 21 degrees, yuu did contact us and we turned it up to 25 degrees to accommodate your request. The fuel is by the fire in a copper bucket together with kindle and lighter and we noticed you had chosen not to use it as it wasn’t touched. This is a large Edwardian house with period furniture and the TV is on an sturdy antique table. There are no loose wires however there is the tv ariel which is behind the TV. The property is fully enclosed with a gate at the front and two gates separating the front and the back, so they can be enclosed in either the front garden or the back. We have a number of guests with young children who are very happy and return regularly and I'm sorry our house wasn’t suitable for your needs.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 10/09/2017
    Fabulous house, stunning location a real treat to stay there. Loved it. Thanks very much.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 04/09/2017
    This is the second time we have stayed at the house , as we fell in love with the area and and house.

View All Guest Reviews

6.9 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.