Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Moorings

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Shaldon, Devon
Grade 4 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps14
Bedrooms8
Bathrooms3
Pets 3
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 268 0766Call us on 0345 268 0766
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

The Moorings simply has it all; beautifully presented rooms, fantastic location overlooking the River Teign and plenty to do nearby.

Situated just ½-mile from the sandy beach, this detached holiday property enjoys a wonderful panoramic outlook over the River Teign and the countryside beyond. Decorated and furnished to a very good standard, it offers an ideal base with views over the River Teign from the balcony. There are French doors leading to the garden. Situated within walking distance of Shaldon centre, it is well placed for a range of shopping facilities in addition to inns and restaurants. Leisure activities here are very much water based with sailing, angling, swimming and diving available either in the River Teign or from the coves and beaches nearby. The Ness headland watches proudly over the mouth of the estuary, guarding the waters between Shaldon and the busy Victorian town of Teignmouth. The river beach and estuary will delight visitors, not to mention the famous Shaldon ferry which plies the river to Teignmouth throughout the day. The children will love the sandy beaches reached through Smugglers Tunnel. Both Dartmoor National Park and Exeter are only 20 minutes’ drive away while the famous South Devon Coast, with wonderful sandy beaches, is barely 3 miles. Exeter and Newton Abbot Racecourses, several golf courses, loads of family theme parks, Paignton Zoo, sailing and fishing are all within easy reach. Numerous National Trust properties are close by including Agatha Christie’s home, ’Greenway’. Steam trains travel from Kingswear to Paignton, and Totnes to Buckfastleigh. Visit historic Dartmouth with a bustling boat harbour and a castle, or Salcombe with its beaches, sailing and water sports is also easily accessible. Shop ½ mile, pub and restaurant ¼ mile.

Ground Floor:
Kitchen/dining room: With range with electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tiled floor and bi-fold doors leading to garden.
Playroom: With Freeview TV, DVD player, board games and tiled floor.
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds.
Bathroom: With shower over P-shaped bath, and toilet.
4 steps to...
Bedroom 3: With double bed.
Bedroom 4: With ¾ double bed.
Bedroom 5: With single bed.
Shower room: With shower cubicle and toilet.
First Floor:
Living room: With Freeview TV, DVD player and patio doors leading to decked balcony.
Bedroom 6: With double bed and en-suite with Jacuzzi bath, shower attachment and toilet.
Bedroom 7: With kingsize bed and French doors leading to balcony.
Bedroom 8: With twin beds and low sloping ceiling.

Gas central heating, gas, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. 2 travel cots and 2 highchairs available on request. Welcome pack. Enclosed lawned garden with sitting-out area, garden furniture, barbecue and playhouse. Decked balcony and decked area with garden furniture. Balcony with outdoor furniture. Bike store. Ample parking. No smoking. Please note: There are steps from the ground floor balcony to the further decked area and the garden. There is a step to the playhouse and drop at the side.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Sea View
    Sea View
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Baby and Toddler Friendly
    Baby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 8

    09/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/05/2018
    We struggled for a long time to find a house with 8 bedrooms that could accommodate 8 adults and 8 children of various ages. The Moorings fitted the bill perfectly! The house is well equipped and feels very homely, not like a stereotypical holiday rental property, it is a home from home. The layout is a little quirky, with bedrooms spread across all levels but it wasn't a problem. One double bed was felt to be uncomfortable and the shower room is very small, but overall the house is comfortable & well-appointed. We loved the garden and were blessed with weather good enough to make great use of it - especially the children who loved the playhouse and trampoline. The views from the house are stunning too. The location is good, Shaldon is lovely and beaches, ferry, pubs etc were easily accessible by car or a 15min walk (30mins with children!).


  • 8

    14/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 13/04/2018
    It was a fabulous week spent in the house..14 of us and we never felt crowded. The rooms are a lot bigger than the impression you get from the photographs and all the bedrooms are large and comfortable. The view of the estuary is by far the best thing about this house and it’s ever changing image changing with the tides never disappointed. We had a few problems that were sorted immediately including a new dishwasher that was up and running within hours. Highly recommended for large groups who want to relax and enjoy a beautiful part of the country.


  • 10

    07/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 02/04/2018
    Great house!


  • 9

    03/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 25/02/2018
    We had a wonderful time in shaldon It was great getting the whole family together


  • 10

    23/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 14/01/2018
    Lovely house which suited a large group of couples for a birthday weekend.


  • 10

    06/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/01/2018
    A fantastic way to spend my 60th birthday with three generations of the family. Beautiful house with beautiful views in my favourite place.


  • 8

    12/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 01/10/2017
    Fantastic stay for my parents anniversary. Spacious, clean home with plenty of room for all of the family. Complimentary hamper was a lovely touch!


  • 9

    01/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 25/09/2017
    The Moorings was a great place to stay for a family occasion. We felt very relaxed there and had a great time.


  • 7

    27/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2017
    We had a great holiday at the moorings.A few niggles .The garden is a bit uncared for tubs with weeds in a broken garden furniture and uncut grass. The house itself doesn't have enough bathrooms when full to capacity the only bathroom for the 3 upstairs bedrooms is ensuite.This put pressure on the downstairs 2 bathrooms in the morning when we were all getting ready to go out.The showers themselves are not great with fiddley mixer Taps. Some of the beds were very uncomfortable mattresses needed Replacing. Overall a lovely holiday home that's a little tired in places and could do with a bit of tlc.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: Regarding your few niggles, we are sorry that the grass in the garden was not mowed when you arrived but unfortunately it was raining heavily that day so the gardener was not able to attend, the grass had been mowed the previous week and the pots weeded. Regarding the garden furniture we are sorry if a chair broke, we would have replaced this. The gardener did attend on the Tuesday but was unable to park as the 7 parking spaces were full. Had you have contacted us about the inconvenience of the garden we would have strived to rectify this immediately. This property was our family home, we raised our own 5 children there and several foster children and had no problems with bathrooms. Many families and groups enjoy holidays at the moorings as previous reviews support. We are sorry that you felt the showers were not acceptable, we have received no other complaints about this.We are sorry that you felt the beds were uncomfortable this again was something we could have tried to resolve had you informed us at the time, beds are often personal preference, we have a mixture of sprung and memory foam mattresses. Overall you have stated that the holiday home was tired in places, we try our best in Summer season, obviously the 5 hr changeover time does not allow for redecoration in high summer period we always carry out maintenance during the winter period and we feel the property decoration is in an adequate state. This property is a home from home, not a boutique hotel so there is a homely feel as opposed to boutique.

  • 8

    15/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 11/08/2017
    Generally we enjoyed our stay. One of the beds was uncomfortable and we had to use a duvet to sleep on. For the number of rooms 2 bathrooms and 1 shower was not quite enough for14 people. There is plenty of room to add another shower room and a separate toilet


  • 9

    23/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 21/07/2017
    An excellent base for a family holiday. Only criticism is that the shower room in the annexe is extremely small, other than that very well equipped. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.8 out of 10 – based on 12 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.