You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Ship Shape


We wont be beaten on price!

Port Isaac, Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


18th-century holiday house is just 100 yards away from Port Isaac, made famous by the TV series ‘Doc Martin’

This end-terrace holiday cottage which benefits from a parking space was once an old pilchard trading house and is only 100 yards from the picturesque harbour of Port Isaac, made famous by the TV series ‘Doc Martin’. Set over four floors, this 18th-century grade II listed house is full of seaside character having been lovingly restored and totally refurbished by its owners. The cottage nestles amongst the narrow streets of Port Isaac which are filled with traditional North Cornish properties, pubs, interesting shops and restaurants. With the beach only a stone’s throw away, this is an ideal spot to take advantage of fabulous fishing spots, rock pooling and stunning cliff top walks along the South West Coastal Path, taking in the breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. You are ideally placed to visit the many tourist attractions that this area has to offer including Tintagel, the mythical home of King Arthur, Boscastle and Padstow with its array of shops, pubs and restaurants, including Rick Stein’s famous seafood restaurant. From here the ferry can be taken across to Rock with its shops, restaurants and bars. In the centre of Padstow, bikes can be hired to cycle the Camel Trail, a disused railway line along the Camel Estuary where an abundance of birdlife can be seen, to Wadebridge and then all the way to Bodmin. The Eden Project is within driving distance as are the many beautiful gardens of the South Coast. There are many stunning sandy beaches within easy reach, ideal for a family day out, dog walking or a day surfing. Shops, pub and restaurant 20 yards.

Ground Floor:
6 open-sided steps to...
Kitchen/dining room: With wood burner, electric range, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, beams and slate floor.
First Floor:
Living room:
With Freeview TV, DVD player, CD player and sofa bed (for flexible sleeping arrangements).
Second Floor:
Bedroom 1:
With ¾ double bed (access from one side only).
Bedroom 2: With bunk bed.
Bathroom: With shower over small bath, and toilet.
Third Floor:
Bedroom 3:
With double bed and en-suite with toilet and low ceiling.

Central heating from wood burner, logs available locally. Electric heaters, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot, highchair and stairgate. Parking for 1 car, 400 yards. No smoking.

Show amenities 


  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Stairgate
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles

Customer Comments

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 20/07/2018
    The main bedroom-had to crouch/crawl to get in and out of bed given the low ceiling. We as a couple found the other bedrooms too small to use and the beds not suitable for two people. The tv was difficult to operate. The external door could not be locked from inside. The cottage is in a great location close to the harbour and all the restaurants.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thanks for your feedback we are so pleased you thought the cottage was in a great location. We do only advertise as a 5 person cottage as we realise the quirky nature of the bedrooms isn’t suitable for all. Sorry you had difficulty with the TV, we have installed free-sat as there is no reception in the valley which does make things slightly more complicated but ensures guests are able to view all the channels.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 25/06/2018
    Ship Shape is pint-sized luxury accommodation in a distinctively charming location. Port Isaac is like some Italian fishing village reeking with allure. The listing says “dogs welcome”, but a more accurate descriptions would be “dogs welcome in kitchen”. The owners request that you keep any dogs contained to the kitchen and provide a baby gate to block of the rest of the property from them. Our dogs were not so happy to be exiled there during our stay (coincidentally, the command to punish my childhood dog was “Kitchen” which sent him off to his bed in the kitchen). The whole property is a bit squoze in. The second bedroom has a bed that is more of a one-and-half sized bed than a proper double bed. And even then it pretty much fills the room so completely that you can barely walk around it. The main bedroom is situated on the "top floor", aka converted attic crawl space. And crawl you do have to do most of the tie to get around it. It's 5’ 8” at the apex, but that means that most of the room is half that height. Still, my wife was pleased that I was forced to use the toilet sitting down. The property is beautifully decorated and maintained, and is located superbly in the heart of this great seaside destination, but be prepared for cozy accommodation at bedtime.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Wonderful feedback thank you for taking the time to review. We have two dogs ourselves and find they are very happy and comfortable downstairs on the cool slate floor in the summer or cosied up next to the log burner in the winter. Main Bedroom is also advertised as limited head space, we love the quirkiness of it. Hope to welcome you again.

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 22/06/2018
    The location was great. Unfortunately the weather was not great until the last day. The attic bedroom in Ship Shape was not comfortable having to bend all the time. The house was not ideal with dogs if the rules were to be obeyed.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for taking the time to review Ship Shape your feedback is so important to us. Sorry you didn’t have good weather whilst you were visiting but hope you managed to make the most of your time in Cornwall.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 08/06/2018
    We all enjoyed Ship shape , the best part being it’s location although getting to it and parking was a pain. It was equipped well but thought the washing machine a waste of time and space as no where to dry any washing ? A dishwasher would be far more useful . We had a giggle each time the loft toilet was used as we had never seen one like these in action , so noisy! but hey better than not having one . We all struggled trying to close doors as none of them closed hence I suddenly realised the reason for big balls of rope door stops in every room , the only way sometimes to keep the doors shut . I got stuck in the main bathroom as the latch stuck ...again causing fits of laughter . We thought the cottage quirky , cosy and did feel at home , the only reason we wouldn’t stay again was that I didn’t take into account as hubby complained not much of a view, he likes to see the sea and enjoys watching life going on around , so that’s my fault . I wouldnt hesitate in recommending ship shape to others though,although I do think on reflection the letting rate was a bit high, but there again it was tastefully furnished , with nice quality items but it’s sad that others did not treat it like home as the covers on the most comfortable lounge furniture were a bit dirty in places , we tried turning them over but they were worse the other side . Oh the beds were lovely to sleep on , with nice clean sheets so in all , we did have a nice stay .

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ship Shape and found it quirky, clean and cosy. Such great news to hear you wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it to others. The washing machine is in fact a washer dryer we are so sorry that you missed this in all the information. Thanks for taking the time to review it means a lot to us.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 04/05/2018
    The cottage is beautiful and located in an amazing location . Improvements that could be made are, upgraded heating to allow for hot water , it can get cold with just the electric heaters . Provide Ariel to allow for TV channels . New bed sheets required . Everything else was great 👍

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks so much for your feedback - it is really valuable to us. There is an emersion heater for the hot water as mentioned in the house details and the central heating system works off a back boiler on the log burner. We have a Freesat box for the TV due to no reception in the valley; this has all the TV channels. I’m sorry you didn’t contact the caretaker who would have assisted you with this during your stay and hope you will visit again.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 06/04/2018
    Overall pleased with our stay, lovely character in the cottage right amongst it all in the harbour. Felt it could have been a little cleaner upon arrival and tough to heat the place on a cold day.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Pleased you had a good stay, thank you for your feedback we have fed it back to our caretaker in order to improve. Sorry you had trouble with the heating despite the extensive instructions. We hope to welcome you again soon.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 16/02/2018
    We enjoyed our stay at Ship Shape cottage. It is in a prime position, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The only reason we did not give a top score of 10 for Overall Rating and Comfort & Equipment was that it is quite hard to heat the cottage over the four floors if it is really cold. We stayed in February and even with the wood burner going in the kitchen area, it still seemed chilly in this room. I'm sure we will return in the warmer summer months.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it means a lot to us. We realise that the heating system is slightly more complicated than most people are used to, which is why we leave detailed instructions, extra electric heaters, and electric blankets for all beds etc. Despite this we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the summer months.

View All Guest Reviews

7.5 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.