You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Parcllwyd Cottage

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Cilgerran, near Cardigan, Pembrokeshire
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Shortlist
Sleeps 5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms 1
Pets 3
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

A perfectly located holiday base with a backdrop of tranquil countryside, not far from the Preseli Mountains.

Set on the outskirts of a hamlet only a few miles from the bustling town of Cardigan, this holiday cottage boasts fabulous views over the Welsh countryside from both the bedrooms. The large garden also offers superb views and the enclosed patio is ideally placed for enjoying quiet summer evenings or for al fresco dining. A short drive will take you into the heart of the Preseli Mountains where there are numerous marked walks and a feast of archaeological sites, standing stones and castles. There are fishing opportunities and horse riding within 5 miles. Shop, pub and restaurant 1 mile.

Ground floor: Living room with beams. Dining room with beams and quarry tiled floor. Kitchen with breakfast area and tiled floor. Utility area. First floor: 3 bedrooms: 1 double (5ft), 1 twin, 1 single. Shower room with toilet.

Open fire in living room (initial fuel included). Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot. High chair. Three Freeview TVs. DVD. Stereo/CD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washer/dryer. Dishwasher. Fridge. Freezer. Large enclosed mature garden with patio and furniture. Parking (2 cars). Welcome pack. No smoking. NB: Sloping terrace/steps in garden can be slippery when wet.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Horse Riding Nearby
    Horse Riding Nearby
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Baby and Toddler Friendly
    Baby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 4

    04/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2018
    Pictures on here are not a true reflection the cottage is old, dated, cracks in the walls and marks everywhere. Toilet was dirty upon arrival urine over the back of it. Although upstairs was very clean feel that down stairs was grubby. Internet wasnt working on arrival and didnt work until the Wednesday. To be fair the router needed replacing and was replaced on the Wed. Booked the cottage as it had wi fi and this was needed . Sister in-law spoke to owners face to face on the Sunday and they were a little rude when we pointed out that two radiators were not working we were told that they were probably off although we were previously asked not to tamper with the heating. The owner spoke to myself on the Friday to say that if it was cold contact them and they would turn up the heating. Contacting them was impossible without walking to the village. For signal / network. A number of issues with our stay so unfortunately we will not be returning.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay. The cottage is over 100 years old, and it has been sympathetically decorated to be in keeping with the style of the building. The cottage had been cleaned by myself and the cleaner so I know it was clean on my departure from the property. The decorators are due in soon to freshen up the property after a long rental season. We have just updated our internet to fibre so hopefully this will improve the wifi We offered to check the radiator and noticed they had been switched off, so rectified this problem. The guests did manage to contact me from the property as he messaged regarding the wifi code, then again to say it wasn’t working. The phone signal varies depending on provider and is beyond our control.

  • 1

    01/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/09/2018
    Very basic, stained carpets, dangerous hob, mouldy, sofa old and needs replacing, starter pack for fire inadequate, awful diy job on seal in shower, desperate for a lick of paint throughout, blue string for washing line! Garden overgrown and trees ruin view, dangerous slabs by outside bench, old plastic chairs and nowhere pleasant to sit outside, not enclosed for small dogs or dogs who will escape, pictures need updating to reflect current condition of property, only parking space for one car if the caravan opposite property is booked. Fridge very compact so hardly any room especially for a family. Expectations were not met and we left early because of this.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; The washing line is a proper washing line we recently bought. Concerning the garden, I cannot help other people’s gardens and their trees; it is a wildlife-cultivated garden. There is ample seating and parking at the property, we have had 7/8 cars parked there before. I tested all the lights and they were all working prior to this guest’s arrival. I clean the property and I feel everything is up to standard, and if it were dangerous, I would not allow guests in. I also ensure that I leave an extensive welcome pack including wine, chocolates, tea, coffee, toilet roll, washing up liquid, etc. as I feel it is a nice gesture and personal touch. I am disappointed to have received such a low score.

  • 10

    24/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 22/09/2018
    A lovely cottage which exceeded my expectations. The welcome gifts were a nice touch and the kitchen was well equipped with dishwasher / washing machine & dryer and plenty of flatware and cooking utensils. I hadn’t expected towels, toilet rolls, tea coffee and milk washing powder, dishwasher tabs and even a bottle of wine to be provided! The owner was very thoughtful and had pretty much everything covered. I loved that the house was accommodating towards dog owners. So many places don’t allow pets which is an increasingly frustrating issue but this cottage is definitely owned by a dog lover which I loved. The garden upon closer inspection was bigger than I first thought too and there is a quite a nice view from up the top. The front room was the cosiest room in the house and comfortably accommodated five people. The three armchairs are also recliners which were very comfy. The dining room table was also pretty big which was brilliant as we have family that live nearby in abercych who we were able to have over for dinner as the table was so large. The master bedroom was lovely and cosy and the bed was very comfy. The room with two singles was also lovely but the shape of the room would make anyone looking to put the two singles together challenging. (We didn’t use the other bedroom with one single bed but that equally seemed nice) Of course there were a few observations which detracted from our experience but as I stated, observations not complaints. These issues really didn’t bother us but feel I should mention in hopes they may be addressed at some stage and be bought to the owners attention. - The cooker hob is pretty hopeless - The curtain pole in the twin single room is hanging on by a thread on the left hand side - The bathroom grout is starting to show signs of mould - the tv in the twin single room doesn’t get good signal - the tv in the master bedroom is the smallest in the house - the outside light didn’t work and had to use our phones as torches when taking the dogs out in the dark - The torch mentioned in the book that is supposed to be on the landing is missing - The WiFi is only 0.2MB down and 0.2MB up. Ok for surfing but forget streaming anything - the blind in the master bedroom is broken and can’t be rolled up - the landing carpet had a few stains on it but that really didn’t bother us. None of the above really bothered us, we never really used the tv’s apart from one evening we decided to try and stream a movie on Netflix unsuccessfully due to the Internet speed. The bedrooms was literally only to crash asleep in so we didn’t care about the blind being stuck closed and we only found that the torch was missing due to the fact the outside light didn’t work. No big deal though. Thankfully we only needed the cooker hob to boil some veg but were able to use the microwave instead for that. If any one thing needs be addressed it’s the cooker hob. It couldn’t bring a pan of water to the boil to save its life lol. It might also be worth noting that mobile signal is only available outside of the house but that’s very typical for a lot of places in rural wales. I’ve been visiting wales for decades due to family living there and also grew up there as a kid. It’s no secret that many parts of wales suffer from poor internet and mobile coverage. That’s not the owners fault, that’s just wales. Also, the black bin hadn’t seemed to of been emptied in some time as it was full when we arrived, we made sure to put the bin out on the day stated in the book but it didn’t seem to be collected. To be honest, given how narrow parts of the road are, I’d be amazed that a dustcart could even get down there at all! Unfortunately this meant we had to leave the bin bags beside the bin. Overall we loved it and could have quite happily stayed there forever. I’m already looking at booking it again for November / December


  • 6

    20/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/09/2018
    Cooker had a mind of its own and tv kept losing sound, owner did replace it but new one we couldn’t connect to dvd player

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your response. I'm glad we could sort out the problem with the TV which you informed us of on Sunday. I believe the replacement was there on Monday. We always leave the appliance literature/handbooks in the property for our guests for ease of use, and have never had a complaint about the cooker. We try really hard to make sure that all our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us, and will always endeavour to solve any problems as soon as we are made aware.

  • 8

    06/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2018
    A lovely place to totally relax, this is geared for dog owners and we would recommend it as such.


  • 4

    23/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 21/07/2018
    I'm afraid there was a lot wrong with this cottage from the unkempt and untidy garden to the missing drawer base in the bedside cabinet in the single bedroom and the overwhelming smell of wet dog.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you had problems whilst you were there, but these could have been rectified if you had contacted us whilst you were there. I'm surprised there was a smell in the property, as we did not have any dogs at the property in the proceeding weeks, and the property is thoroughly cleaned between lets. As for the garden, the area that you are talking about has been cultivated as a wildlife friendly area, and is therefore left to grow naturally, and in a recent Botanical gardens of Wales survey, was shown to be home to a large number of wild flowers and plants.

  • 6

    24/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 05/05/2018
    Well equipped clean cottage, however the garden was very disappointing.


  • 7

    27/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 23/04/2018
    We enjoyed our holiday overall, but were disappointed that the front door of the cottage opened straight onto the road, and the garden was unkempt with loose stones on the steps. We left the hob of the cooker much cleaner than we found it, and there was a glass casserole with a dangerously broken handle in the cupboard. It was also frustrating that we were unable to adjust the heating in very changeable weather.


  • 10

    07/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 31/03/2018
    Excellent location and very well equipped cottage would definitely go again.


View All Guest Reviews
×

6.5 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE