Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Mount Pleasant Farm - Wayside Cottage


We wont be beaten on price!

Kellfield, near York, Yorkshire
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Pets 3
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Boasting a wealth of local attractions and opportunities to explore the city of York, this cottage is the ideal base.

Set on a working arable farm in a peaceful countryside location

This family owned farm is over one hundred years old and set in over 200-acres of working arable farmland. Enjoying open views across the fields to the front, the owners have created these warm, character courtyard cottages with a children’s play area. The ideal holiday location for peace and quiet, yet only ¾ mile from the village of Cawood and Cawood Castle, former home of Cardinal Wolsey, Archbishop of York. The city of York is just 10 miles and boasts many museums, and of course the beautiful York Minster. Historical Selby market town, 6 miles, still hosting the street market every Monday. River walks, fishing and swimming pool, ¾ mile. Shops and pubs ¾ mile.

Ground Floor:
Living/dining room: With Freeview TV, DVD player, CD player and wooden floor.
Kitchen: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, beams and tiled floor.
Shower room: With shower cubicle and toilet.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With four poster kingsize bed.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds.

All properties: Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot and highchair. External utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer (shared with other properties on-site, open Mon-Fri). Large garden with sitting-out area, garden furniture and barbecue (shared with other properties on-site). Children’s play area with swings. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking.

Read more 


  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Working Farm
    Working Farm
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Children's Play Area
    Children's Play Area
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 1

    Confirmed guest, 02/04/2018
    Cottage flooded with sewerage left after 1 misserable night

  • 2

    Confirmed guest, 09/03/2018
    There was no heating on when we arrived at the end of one of the coldest weeks for over 20 years. The thermostat said 11 deg and it took over 24 hours to get it vaguely warm. We took radiator covers off to get a bit of warmth through but behind them was months if not years of cobwebs and dirt. Didn't see the owner until the second day when he came out to inform us of a power cut. He asked if everything was ok and asked us to be honest! When we complained about lack of heating, he said thermostat useless. When we complained about lack of cleanliness he blamed the cleaner. No apology and we didn't see either of the owners again. The dining table had food crumbs underneath the place mats, which also needed descaling. The toilet and sink had to be cleaned before they could be used, as did the kitchen cupboards we stored our food in. The pots and pans cupboard needs a deep clean as also doesn't look like it's been done for years. Not sure about cleanliness of bedding, didn't feel freshly laundered. The twin bed bases were loose and moved every time you touched them. Mattresses need replacing. Plumbing needs a complete overhaul as pipes banging and rattling throughout day and night.

  • 1

    Confirmed guest, 17/12/2017
    When we arrived the door was open but there was no one about. We were dissapointed that the place was freezing. Then after a closer look we noticed the place was filthy. The bathroom sink was filthy and there’s was cobwebs in every room. We moved the radiator covers slightly to let some heat in the room and behind the covers there was rubbish dirt and dust. The sofa was so uncomfortable and had stains on the leather and the kettle had lime scale inside so we had to boil a pan of water to make a cuppa. Me and my daughter shared the double bed which felt damp because the bedrooms were so cold and the bedsheets didn’t smell clean then I found some long hairs in the bed. I knocked on the cottage to ask for clean sheets but there was no answer. I felt so bad allowing my 3 year old little girl to sleep in the bed that obviously hasn’t been changed. My husband had one of the single beds and said he was freezing all night because the heating kept going off. To top it off me and my daughter woke up with what looked like flea bites, one on my daughters foot and two on my leg. We knocked on the owners cottage the following morning to complain but there was no answer again. We were paid up for another night but we couldn’t stand to stay so packed up our things and left that morning. This is honestly the dirtiest, coldest place we have stayed. We will never book again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for you feedback, we are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay. We always clean the property after every guest leaves and maintain the highest standards. If there are any issues at the property, we urge guests to get in contact whilst there so we can resolve them immediately. In this case, we weren’t contacted so couldn’t help. We have investigated the issues you discussed, particularly the allegations of fleas, and can assure you there are no fleas in the property and none of our other guests have reported this issue.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 10/12/2017
    Enjoyed our weekend break. It would have been nice if the cottage was warmer on our arrival as thermostat was set at 12 degrees Celsius and took ages to warm up as was an exceptionally cold weekend. Apart from that all facilities were great 🙂

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 24/09/2017
    Bargain! Lovely cottage and great location! Could just do with a bit of a clean and having towels that have fully dried before being folded

  • 2

    Confirmed guest, 22/09/2017
    Good for dog walking.

  • 1

    Confirmed guest, 15/09/2017
    Very very dirty , had to ask for clean bedsheets as is was quite obvious they hadn't been changed .Whole place needed a good scrub out

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 04/09/2017
    The cottage was very nice, the beds were a little uncomfortable, we only used the cottage as a base to stay.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2017
    We all loved our time at Wayside. We went there to get a few days of peace I'm the countryside. And that's exactly what we got. Perfect for the kids, the dogs and the parents.

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 13/08/2017
    Property was nice inside and everything you need was provided. What let it down and was disappointing , was the cleanliness. On arrival I always check for a clean property and unfortunately I found wet splattered food in the microwave, dust, cobwebs and old paperwork behind one of the living room units and dust elsewhere. It was a real shame . The floorboards and stairs were very creeky which disturbed other family members at night .I feel that when your paying a few hundred pound for a week end , that you expect high standards. I feel a little more TLC is needed and it would be much better. I may stay here again but only if these issues were attended to. If I had holiday properties I would take much pride in making sure they were of a high standard.

View All Guest Reviews

5.2 out of 10 – based on 13 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.