Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Lower Buck Cottage


We wont be beaten on price!

Waddington, near Clitheroe, Lancashire
Newly Listed
Grade 5 Star rating
Pets 3
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


This lovely cottage of the edge of the Forest of Bowland is in the ideal location for exploring all that Lancashire has to offer.

Perfect for couples and families who love stunning scenery, good food and great walking quite literally on the doorstep, Lower Buck Cottage offers a comfortable home from home in the heart of the Ribble Valley. Located in the village of Waddington, next door to one of the village pubs, The Lower Buck, this semi-detached cottage provides an ideal base to explore all that the area has to offer. Downstairs there is a welcoming living room with a cosy open fire and a separate dining room. Upstairs are three comfortable bedrooms, the master of which has an en-suite. A family shower room completes the upstairs accommodation. Outside there is off road parking and an enclosed courtyard, as well as an external utility room which can be used for bicycle storage.
Its babbling brook and Coronation Gardens have earned Waddington the title of ‘best kept village in Lancashire’ several times. In addition to its three pubs, the village also has a café and a local shop/post office. There is a playing field for cricket and football as well as a children’s playground. A wider range of amenities can be found in the market town of Clitheroe, just 2 miles away, which apart from having its own castle, boasts a good selection of shops, supermarkets, bars, cafés and restaurants.
Lancashire’s beautiful Ribble Valley is perfect for those who love the outdoors. There are plenty of opportunities for walking and cycling, including the Tolkien Trail and The Ribble Way, a 70-mile walk which follows the course of the River Ribble. Mountain bikers will enjoy nearby Forest of Bowland, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty or Gisburn Forest which has lots of tracks and trails. Other activities available locally include golf and fishing. Apart from its lush green landscape and pretty villages, the area is also famous for its food and drink with an abundance of welcoming country pubs and award winning restaurants. There is plenty to see and do outside of the Ribble Valley and thanks to its proximity to the road network, getting around by car is really easy. The Yorkshire Dales is within a 45-minute drive, Lancaster, Blackpool and the Fylde Coast are all within an hour’s drive, and you can even get to the Lake District in just over an hour. Shop 300 yards, pub and restaurant next door.

Ground Floor:
Living room/kitchen: With open fire, 42" Freeview TV, DVD player, electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge and dishwasher.
Dining room.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With kingsize bed and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 2: With kingsize bed.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds.
Shower room: With shower cubicle, toilet and heated towel rail.

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Initial logs for open fire included. Travel cot and highchair. External utility room with washing machine and freezer. Enclosed courtyard with garden furniture and barbecue. Bike store. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking. Please note: This property has a security deposit of £150.

Read more 


  • Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Newly Listed Property
    Newly Listed Property
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 07/05/2018
    We all had such a wonderful time and the cottage was so lovely. We felt really settled as soon as we arrived and the owner was so accommodating. The food at Lower Buck Pub was amazing. Highly recommend staying here. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 03/05/2018
    Very comfortable cottage in lovely village. Lower Buck Inn next door, great pub with lovely food.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 30/03/2018
    Well positioned in village triangle of pubs (lower buck, higher buck and waddington arms) Welcome pack would have been appreciated including logs/kindle and cottage could have been prepared better. Advice of building work in courtyard would have been helpful as cottage side gates to pub and driveway had to be checked before letting our dog out into the yard. Having said that the builders were courteous and we would be interested in seeing the chalet that was being fitted out opposite the cottage if it is to be let out in future.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 09/03/2018
    Great location, very enjoyable stay

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 22/01/2018
    Lovely stay at Lower Buck Cottage for the weekend with friends and our dogs. Unfortunately no grass for the dogs but there are plenty of walks to go on. You just need to hose them down afterwards as the back door is straight on to light grey carpet which was quite difficult to keep clean! All in all a great stay!

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 27/11/2017
    Great location in the middle of Waddington - three pubs in the village, post office and cafe. Dog friendly secure field literally 100 yards away. Very comfortable beds and a cosy cottage.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 11/08/2017
    Should have been a nice stay freshly refurbed. However. Holes in radiators, roof leaking water down walls. Windows held in by nails not frames. Front door that doesn't shut unless fully locked. Kitchen window doesnt shut so property isn't secure. Expandable foam fills previous lock on front door.Owner uses enclosed garden as parking space and goes in and out as they please leaving gate open to beer garden. If you dont care about privacy and are only using it as a base ok but I wouldn't recommend this property. The village is very expensive as well.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- Thank you very much for your comments, we welcome feedback and are always striving for ways to improve the experience for our customers. Please see below the actions we have taken in relation to your comments: There have been some ongoing issues with the boiler which British Gas have finally got to the bottom of so hopefully no more problems will be had. Although, the Landlord is mostly on site to offer help, and as you stated he fixed the boiler for you. The front door was a little tricky, but a new lock has been fitted and it is now much easier to open, shut and lock. The kitchen window was recently painted and I think this lead to being a little stiff to open and close. A simple sanding has helped to relieve this. There were 2 windows fitted during the renovation some months ago, and as such 4 nails were put on the outside of the windows to simply secure the glass whilst the silicone dried. The removal of these nails was an oversight on our part, and for that we apologise. But please put your mind at rest knowing that these windows were perfectly safe and you were never in any danger. Unfortunately we have had some damp on the hallway wall upstairs. The property is very old, c.1769 and there was a problem with the raining getting in down the chimney and thus causing damp on the hallway wall. This has now been treated and fixed, so hopefully we won't have any repeat problems. I am very sorry about the miscommunication with regards to access to the courtyard of the cottage whilst you were out one day. I believe your partner did give the landlord permission to access it whilst you were out for the day, and he did leave and move his van immediately when you returned. However, so this does not happen again he will not ask for access again whilst there are customer in the property, we do not want our customers to feel uncomfortable in anyway. Finally, I am sorry that you find the village expensive. Obviously, we cannot control the prices of other places in the village, but as a way of offering some explanation: Waddington is on the edge of The Forest of Bowland which is classed as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty; the village of Waddington has won 'Best kept village in Lancashire' so it is a tourist hot spot and a very pretty village to visit. Once again, thank you for your comments.

View All Guest Reviews

8.2 out of 10 – based on 9 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.