Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Lodge 81


We wont be beaten on price!

Woolsery, near Bideford, Devon
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Rugged coastline at Hartland and beaches at Woolacombe and Saunton close by, two fishing lakes on-site, and cycling on the Tarka Trail.

Private decked area with countryside views

Situated on the edge of a members only golf complex, this detached holiday lodge is well furnished and ideal for families or couples who wish to explore the North Devon and Cornish coastline and countryside. Enjoy the views from the private decked area. Places of interest include Clovelly, the rugged coastline at Hartland and the beaches at Woolacombe and Saunton. Also on offer are the RHS Gardens at Rosemoor and NT properties at Arlington Court. There is also cycling on the Tarka Trail. Permit is available for the two on-site fishing lakes which are stocked with coarse fish (guests must bring own rods). Leisure facilities are available at Penstowe Manor in Kilkhampton, approximately 15 minutes away. The facilities include a pool, gym, tennis and squash courts, as well as a bar and restaurant and entertainment. Details can be found in the lodge. Costs range from £4.50 (£3.50 for children) per day for the pool and £8.50 for the gym, weekly passes are also available. The courts are £4 per court including racquets. Shop 6 miles, pub and restaurant 2.5 miles.

All on ground floor: Living room with double sofa bed/dining room/kitchen. 3 bedrooms: 1 double with en-suite bathroom with shower over bath and toilet, 2 twin. Shower room with toilet.

Electric central heating and electricity included (April-August), first £50 included (September to March), remainder up to £50 max by meter reading. payable by cheque, 2 weeks prior to arrival. Bed linen and towels included. Cot. High chair. Freeview TV. DVD. CD. Microwave. Dishwasher. Freezer. Wi-fi. Patio and furniture. Parking (2 cars). No smoking. NB: Fishing lake on-site.

Show amenities 


  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
  • Highchair
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Celebration Houses
    Celebration Houses

Customer Comments

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 03/08/2018
    Very nice. Some small issues need looking at. I.e toaster kept blowing the electrics. We did report this. Whoever used the cot b4 didn’t report that it was broken, we rang and Kate replaced it straight away. Remote for dvd is broken also not been reported. And the bed settee we bought a blow up mattress as it was not comfortable. The beds themselves was comfortable Like I say small things didn’t really dampen our stay. We loved it.

  • 2

    Confirmed guest, 23/02/2018
    All I can say is I won’t stay here again, my nephew got bitten by a tick. Shower had mould around the edges, dirty when we first arrived and ‘steps’ are a health and safety risk!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; The lodge was in the same clean, tidy and well maintained state as shown on the website and verified by the review and inspection conducted by the Agency at the end of last year.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 27/10/2017
    Great place with all the amenities we required - the lodge was cosy and private and nicely presented. We had a lovely little break exploring the local sights- Clovelly, Bude and some of the lovely beaches nearby.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 22/09/2017
    We really enjoyed staying at lodge 81 our only issue was that there was nothing on site so we had to drive for supplies and eating out it would have been nice to have a bar or restaurant close by

  • 1

    Confirmed guest, 01/09/2017
    Was dirry and in need of TLC stains on furniture dirty smelly microwave shower leaks water everywhere all overgrown outside not worth the money

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner. We are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your visit to Lodge 81 - we take this very seriously. Unfortunately, the property fell into an unacceptable state whilst occupied by the previous guest and our housekeeper worked very hard to clean and prepare the Lodge for your arrival, only a matter of hours later. We do not expect our guests to clean the property however we do ask the property is kept clean and tidy and that it is left in a similar condition as found upon arrival; thus avoiding situations as such. Regrettably our housekeeper had to spend a further 4 hours cleaning the lodge including emptying the dishwasher following your visit. The microwave was replaced immediately after your departure on the 1st of September. The shower has been checked following your stay and all seems to be fine however, we will monitor the situation and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we are very sorry that the Lodge did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2017
    The cottage wasn't clean, the location is terrible. Miles away from anywhere. The closest beach is about a 20 minute drive. The nearest shop is about 30 minute drive. Didn't state that when booking. The microwave was covered in some red thick dirt couldn't use it, health risk. Wasn't happy at all.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- We were very disappointed to read your comments following your recent stay at the Lodge. The property description does give potential guests a very accurate and detailed description of where the property is before confirming a booking. The Lodge is perfectly situated for guests that wish to explore North Devon and the Cornish coastline and offers guests the best of both worlds, a peaceful and relaxing location which is only a short drive away from many places of interest, beaches and attractions. Thank you for bringing the microwave to our attention - this has now been replaced. We are really sorry that the Lodge did not meet your expectations – many of our previous guests have really enjoyed their stay with us. We strive to provide clean, comfortable and quality accommodation for our guests and all we ask in return is that the Lodge is left in the same condition as your arrival. Unfortunately, on this occasion, our cleaner reported finding the Lodge in an unacceptable condition which necessitated a 4 hour clean of the property

View All Guest Reviews

5.3 out of 10 – based on 6 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.