You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments by visiting my booking x.


choice award

Sleeps 10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms 3
Pets 0

Keppel Gate

Nettlingflat, near Heriot, Scottish Borders | UK10321 P Grade:
5 years


choice award

Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
Updating the calendar...

Prices are shown for the whole stay

Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

What we love

Fantastic base for gatherings of family and friends to enjoy, being just 40 minutes from Edinburgh, and to explore the lovely Scottish Borders.


With its own hot tub, this spacious house enjoys views over the hills and has easy access to Edinburgh.

Ground Floor:
2 steps to entrance.
Living/dining room: With wood burner, Sky+ TV (basic package) and DVD player.
Kitchen: With electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and dishwasher.
Utility room/boot room: With fridge, washing machine and storage for coats and boots.
Bedroom 1: With kingsize bed, Freeview TV and en-suite with bath, shower cubicle, toilet and heated towel rail.
Bedroom 2: With double bed and Freeview TV.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds and Freeview TV.
Shower room 1: With shower cubicle, toilet and heated towel rail.
Shower room 2: With shower cubicle, toilet and heated towel rail.

First Floor:
Bedroom 4: With kingsize bed and Freeview TV.
Bedroom 5: With twin beds and Freeview TV.

Electric central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Initial logs for wood burner included. Travel cot and highchair available on request.

Decked terraces with garden furniture and BBQ. Large garden (shared with owner). Hot tub for 6 (private). Private parking for 4 cars. No smoking. Please note: There is an unfenced pond in the garden. This property has a security deposit of £200.

There are uninterrupted views over the surrounding Moorfott Hills from this wonderful contemporary detached home, which is set on the edge of a small community that has grown out of the original farm buildings. Keppel Gate is very comfortably furnished and well equipped, and has a covered deck with a hot tub and a separate decked terrace accessed directly from the living area. There is also a large garden with a pretty unfenced pond, which is shared with the owners who live adjacent to the property.

Edinburgh is just 16 miles away, with particularly easy access to the city centre using the Park and Ride, or by train from Stow, 8 miles away. Enjoy fun days exploring Edinburgh’s Old Town with its cobbled streets and imposing castle. In contrast, the New Town has elegant, wide streets, grand squares and has superb galleries, shops and restaurants. Make the most of the theatres, clubs and an unrivalled range of festivals and events throughout the year.
Fishing and hill walking are available locally, as well as golf in Lauder and at Torwoodlea, 14 miles. Mountain bike trails and Go Ape offer family fun at Glen Tress Forest, 20 miles. There is good access to the Border towns of Melrose and Kelso with their ancient abbeys, historic houses and gardens. Local shopping can be enjoyed in Stow, 8 miles, with main shopping in Galashiels, 15 miles. Beach 16 miles. Shop 7 miles, pub and restaurant 7½ miles.

Read more 


  • Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Hot Tubs - Private
    Hot Tubs - Private
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle
  • Celebration Houses
    Celebration Houses

Customer Comments

  • 10


    Confirmed guest, 21/02/2020
    Our stay was fantastic! Decor was exceptional, above and beyond what you expect for a holiday rental! Absolutely everything you could think off that you would need was there to use! Very spacious, there was ten of us and we never felt on top of each other! Owners live next door and are a great help if you have any questions! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay even the kids are asking when we can return! We will definitely recommend and will hopefully be returning in the near future!

  • 9


    Confirmed guest, 06/01/2020
    We loved our stay at Keppel Gate. Took everything with us that we could possibly need as we knew it was an isolated location.

  • 7


    Confirmed guest, 03/01/2020
    Overall a lovely place but we did have a few which for the price would not have expected. No local pub despite stating there was one within 1 mile in the listing Some equipment not ideal nd certainly not for large group, 2 slice toaster not big enough and can only use kettle toaster etc in utility as no plug sockets on kitchen area. Problems with shower, only stayed at temp on luke warm otherwise jumped between boiling and freezing every minute and bath tap gave a trickle of water. Hot tub very high chlorine and very low power to jets or pump. Only 1 towel per person, not hand/ hair towel. Very poor head height in upstairs rooms, could only stand up at the end of the beds not at either side, no shelving or property mirror for dressing

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thanks for your comments. We are however very disappointed to read these comments given that I asked you if everything was OK to which you responded “yeah everything is great thanks x” and we attended the property to rectify the points you’ve made. Prior to your stay I also provided you with lots of information and answered all of your emails. Just to clarify a few things... On the listing it states the pub is 7.5 miles away. The third party you booked through must have the wrong information so I suggest you complain about this to them. We would love for there to be a pub within one mile! There are sockets in the kitchen below the table. We are sorry if you did not notice them. Due to the layout we find people prefer to use the utility room for these purposes, including ourselves when we lived there. We are sorry you did not. The towels in the house are the correct number we are required to supply, including hand towels. Upon your request for more towels, I brought them to you straight away. The shower is working fine, the setting had been changed and so my husband attended the property twice to sort it for you and you advised us it was working perfectly. As for the bath tap, my husband again attended the property, this time on New Year’s Day, to be told the child had already had a bath so we are not sure how the tap then ended up broken. This has since been fixed. On arrival you informed me you have your own hot tub and know how to work it. The pump and jets are in perfect working order with plenty of power. There is a pump button which turns the jets on when pressed. It sounds to us like you did not press the button to turn them on. Had you informed us of this we would have checked it straight away for you. The chemicals in the hot tub are correct and are at the levels required. We are disappointed that despite us attending to your issues and resolving them promptly, we have received this review. We feel we did everything we could as the comfort of our guests is important to us.

  • 10


    Confirmed guest, 27/12/2019
    This home was perfect for our trip home to Scotland. It was warm, clean, comfortable and extremely well equipped. The decor was beautiful and every room had caring finishing touches. The open spacious lounge area was ideal for socialising and welcoming the family we had visiting us. Thank you to Lyndsey and her family for the welcome we had and allowing our stay in their beautiful home.

  • 9


    Confirmed guest, 09/12/2019
    Spent an enjoyable few days at Keppel Gate. Very well equipped property and very clean

  • 10


    Confirmed guest, 21/10/2019
    Fantastic home for a group getaway , everything you could need is on hand.

View All Guest Reviews

9.3 out of 10 – based on 9 reviews collected by reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.