You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Joll’s Cottage

Greetham, near Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Grade 5 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

23/05/2019
Sleeps 6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms 1
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers


Description

From this delightful cottage discover Horncastle, Lincoln, Louth, Woodall Spa and The Lincolnshire Wolds, or just relax in the hot tub and enjoy your holiday.

7 steps to entrance.
Ground Floor:
Living room: With open fire, 28" Sky TV (full package), DVD player, beams and wooden floor.
Kitchen/dining room: With wood burner, electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, wine cooler, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer and wooden floor.
Bedroom 1: With twin beds.
Shower room:
With walk-in shower, toilet and heated towel rail.
2 sets of steep and narrow stairs to...
First Floor:
1st set of stairs to...
Bedroom 2: With double bed.
2nd set of stairs to...
Bedroom 3: With double bed.

Electric underfloor heating, electricity, bed linen, towels, Wi-Fi and fuel for open fire and wood burner included. Travel cot and highchair. Welcome pack. Enclosed lawned garden with patio, decked sitting-out area, summerhouse with 60" Freeview TV, games for children and beer fridge, garden furniture and BBQ. Hot tub for 6 (private). 2 medium-sized dogs welcome. Bike store. Private parking. No smoking.

Someone once told me an angel lived in this cottage and if you visit you’ll see why! Filled with light and beautifully situated it is a truly breathtaking place with a wonderful feel and presence. Located in the tranquil Wolds village of Greetham, only 2 miles from Horncastle, this lovely, detached listed cottage is superbly furnished and a perfect property to relax in. With fabulous views stretching over Tennyson country and in a secluded hillside position this is a secret part of Lincolnshire waiting to be discovered. With a large garden which is mainly lawned, but also with herbaceous borders providing interest in all seasons. There is also a stone terrace and decking area with a hot tub to enjoy whatever the weather. A summerhouse, complete with comfy corner sofa and 60” TV, is tucked away in the garden for those quiet moments with a book and a coffee, or to enjoy a film in peace or for a bit of gaming and indeed fun and games too for the kids. Like many Grade II listed properties Jolls Cottage has its own quirks, for example the stairs are very steep and narrow, the bathroom is on the ground floor and the hot tub will not be available on the first evening you arrive as it will still be warming up. This is an ideal cottage for a family holiday but also makes a superb writers’/artists’ retreat too.
The property is only a 30-minute drive away from the east coast and the traditional seaside resort of Skegness with its sandy beaches, or head west, where a 30-minute drive will take you to the cathedral city of Lincoln, which is famous for its castle and Magna Carta Visitors Centre. Horncastle and close by Woodhall Spa both have many good places where you can eat and drink, or while the days away in the many antique shops. Cyclists and walkers will love the rolling hills of the Lincolnshire Wolds, and there are good routes straight from the door including the Lindsey Trail. There are also miles of bridleways and quiet country lanes to enjoy. Beach 18 miles. Shop and pub 2 miles, restaurant 4 miles.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Satellite TV
    Satellite TV
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Luxury Collection
    Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Green Scheme
    Green Scheme
  • Walk-in Shower/Bath
    Walk-in Shower/Bath
  • Hot Tubs - Private
    Hot Tubs - Private
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 10

    22/04/2019
    Confirmed guest, 19/04/2019
    Fabulous cottage , extremely well equipped. Lots of lovely walks in the area . Dog friendly pubs nearby . The garden is enclosed and beautifully laid out . There are strict dog rules in the cottage , just be aware if holiday is with a four legged friend . The extra touches such as wine on arrival was a pleasant surprise. The owners were in touch if you needed them but not intrusive . Great place for a family holiday

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks so much for your lovely compliments about Joll’s... & so glad too you think it’s the perfect place for family holidays. The large games room/summer house, big garden & hot tub of course are always hits with our junior guests. Regarding the doggy rules... we are dog lovers ourselves. We have 2 dogs, a black lab called Bhindi and a working cocker called Benji who love being at Joll’s too so we are well aware of the impact of having dogs in a cottage. However we have had no choice about the doggie guidelines, for instance, some guests allowed dogs upstairs and on beds & also caused considerable damage to the furnishings. Recently we have had to try to get muddy dog footprints off duvet covers, another dog owner let their dogs run free and as a result all our gorgeous Voyage sofa cushions and a number of luxury items were chewed and had to be replaced. I could give you more examples. We have had numerous instances too of dogs leaving little presents on carpets etc. and having to weekly employ our carpet cleaner he was very happy. We understand that accidents happen but some of this was clearly avoidable. These actions were simply unfair both to future guests and to ourselves as owners. It’s also worth noting that repairs for this damage were carried out at our cost and no guest was charged as this would doubtless have impacted on our reviews. Some repairs actually cost more to carry out than the guests have paid to stay. As a result of behaviour like this we were requested by ECC to implement these rules not only out of respect for guests who might follow a doggy guest, but to also to comply with their basic health & hygiene standards, so no dogs in bedrooms or on beds/furniture etc. or left ‘home alone’ at any time during the day or night. ECC believe that these ‘rules’ are only basic good behaviour. As owners we put a huge amount of effort into trying to keep the cottage beautiful for guest’s enjoyment. This was our home for 10 years and contains our own antique furniture and other beloved and valuable items, we left them in the cottage so that guests could enjoy them too. We were forced to implement these rules only as a way of asking guests to behave responsibly and show respect both for future guests and for the cottage itself. This is a cottage specifically fitted out with dogs in mind and for their enjoyment and for instance we leave a doggie welcome pack and as you note the garden is enclosed and is a super playground for 4 legged BFF’s. We are very grateful for your feedback and whilst we and ECC do not feel that our requests are unreasonable we will point this out in the booking information in future. Well behaved dogs are very welcome as always.

  • 9

    24/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 18/03/2019
    Lovely cottage . Unfortunately I wasn't well during my time there so didn't get to use it to its full potential. Its very very cute , very stylish lots of character, the staircases are sweet but also a bit tricky anyone with mobility issues would need to sleep downstairs . We found it was probably a bit small for a group of 6 with one downstairs bathroom. Facilities great . We had some chimney issues in the lounge with smoke . Maybe there's a birds nest or something up there or it just needs a clean 😊. The kettle is leaking and could probably do to be replaced . The kitchen space is great and so well equipped. The hot tub and garden and summer house are fantastic. The bedrooms upstairs Jack and jill style are so pretty . All in all this is a wow factor cottage

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks very much for your lovely review. Sorry to hear you weren’t well so hope you’ve recovered now. Sorry too to hear about the fire... it has just been swept & there are detailed guidance notes on how to get it to work really well but all fires are a bit like an old friend...even better when you’ve known them a long time. To reassure you about the kettle, we had tried to get it to leak but couldn’t but have replaced it anyway. Would love to put in a second bathroom but as Joll’s is Grade 2 listed, not possible sadly. Hope you’re able to return sometime to take full advantage of all the facilities... you were such delightful guests.

  • 9

    12/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/03/2019
    Lovely cottage, had chocolates and sparkling wine on arrival. Lights and radio were on , but unfortunately no heating. However quick 'boost' and lit the fire and was cosy warm. Decorated and dressed to a high standard. Steep steps to the two double bedrooms, not recommended for those with a mobility problem. Hot tub was great, as is the outside den with a cinema cised TV for watching DVDs or sky ! No pubs within walking distance, but lovely pubs a short drive away. Would highly recommend for couples, families or girlie weekends .

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thanks so much...so glad you enjoyed staying at Joll's...sorry the heating wasn’t on when you arrived it usually is...so glad you enjoyed the cinema sized TV in the summer house/den we have found that Dad’s & the kids love to escape in there.

  • 5

    27/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/02/2019
    The cottage itself is lovely and has been finished very nicely. Unfortunately we experienced a few problems when we were there. Quite a lot of dog muck was left in the garden when we arrived. Wet towels were left on all the beds. The kettle in the kitchen is not fit for purpose and is quite dangerous as boiling water leaks through it. The bathroom needs an extractor fan as it gets very damp in there and also the drainage in the shower needs sorting. We were disappointed that the hot tub was not ready until the second night. Also the amount of rules you have read is offputting.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks so much for your feedback... we are grateful for all comments both positive & negative. We appreciate your taking the time to give us some pointers which will help us to improve Joll’s Cottage for the benefit of all future guests. We spoke to you during your stay and apart from your text saying what a good time you are having & how lovely the cottage is, you didn’t mention any of the above issues which we would have been only too happy to attend to immediately as we always do with all of our guests needs/comments as we are passionate about our guests enjoyment. We hope you managed to have an enjoyable and relaxing stay in spite of the problems. Bridget.

  • 10

    04/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 01/02/2019
    Had a much needed relaxing time at Joll's cottage. Gorgeous views, perfect open fire's with the added bonus of a hot tub that was plenty big enough. The moment you arrive it makes the break so special, with music playing and lights on, not to mention my kind of welcome pack, wine, chocolates, flowers and a candle. Communication with the owners Bridget & Rick was good, kept us informed with any problems we may had faced upon arrival. Will most certainly return again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; It’s well worth all the effort we put in to get Joll's to the level it is when we receive feedback like yours. Thank you so much.

  • 10

    27/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/01/2019
    Absolutely beautiful a little hidden gem

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Pleased you enjoyed it so much it was our home and we love it too.

  • 10

    01/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/09/2018
    This is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. It has all the home comforts and the garden is wonderful. Due to the style of the cottage, the stairs are a bit of a challenge at first but you get used to them very quickly! It all adds to the character of the cottage. We would love to visit again and have already recommended Joll's to family and friends. Thank you for such an amazing stay!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you - so glad you loved Joll’s... We very much appreciate your feedback.

  • 8

    28/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/08/2018
    Well equiped cottage, lovely gardens and summer house, which was a massive thumbs up from the kids.


  • 8

    29/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 27/07/2018
    Lovely gardens and hot tub den well supplied with games and cms. Lots of nice little touches spotlessly clean lovely big kitchen area although seating area a little smaller than in pictures. Bedrooms again excellently clean but a little difficult to access with steep narrow stairs. We all had a great time made even better with the sunny weather.


  • 10

    30/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 25/06/2018
    A hidden gem


  • 10

    22/04/2019
    Confirmed guest, 19/04/2019
    Fabulous cottage , extremely well equipped. Lots of lovely walks in the area . Dog friendly pubs nearby . The garden is enclosed and beautifully laid out . There are strict dog rules in the cottage , just be aware if holiday is with a four legged friend . The extra touches such as wine on arrival was a pleasant surprise. The owners were in touch if you needed them but not intrusive . Great place for a family holiday

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks so much for your lovely compliments about Joll’s... & so glad too you think it’s the perfect place for family holidays. The large games room/summer house, big garden & hot tub of course are always hits with our junior guests. Regarding the doggy rules... we are dog lovers ourselves. We have 2 dogs, a black lab called Bhindi and a working cocker called Benji who love being at Joll’s too so we are well aware of the impact of having dogs in a cottage. However we have had no choice about the doggie guidelines, for instance, some guests allowed dogs upstairs and on beds & also caused considerable damage to the furnishings. Recently we have had to try to get muddy dog footprints off duvet covers, another dog owner let their dogs run free and as a result all our gorgeous Voyage sofa cushions and a number of luxury items were chewed and had to be replaced. I could give you more examples. We have had numerous instances too of dogs leaving little presents on carpets etc. and having to weekly employ our carpet cleaner he was very happy. We understand that accidents happen but some of this was clearly avoidable. These actions were simply unfair both to future guests and to ourselves as owners. It’s also worth noting that repairs for this damage were carried out at our cost and no guest was charged as this would doubtless have impacted on our reviews. Some repairs actually cost more to carry out than the guests have paid to stay. As a result of behaviour like this we were requested by ECC to implement these rules not only out of respect for guests who might follow a doggy guest, but to also to comply with their basic health & hygiene standards, so no dogs in bedrooms or on beds/furniture etc. or left ‘home alone’ at any time during the day or night. ECC believe that these ‘rules’ are only basic good behaviour. As owners we put a huge amount of effort into trying to keep the cottage beautiful for guest’s enjoyment. This was our home for 10 years and contains our own antique furniture and other beloved and valuable items, we left them in the cottage so that guests could enjoy them too. We were forced to implement these rules only as a way of asking guests to behave responsibly and show respect both for future guests and for the cottage itself. This is a cottage specifically fitted out with dogs in mind and for their enjoyment and for instance we leave a doggie welcome pack and as you note the garden is enclosed and is a super playground for 4 legged BFF’s. We are very grateful for your feedback and whilst we and ECC do not feel that our requests are unreasonable we will point this out in the booking information in future. Well behaved dogs are very welcome as always.

  • 9

    24/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 18/03/2019
    Lovely cottage . Unfortunately I wasn't well during my time there so didn't get to use it to its full potential. Its very very cute , very stylish lots of character, the staircases are sweet but also a bit tricky anyone with mobility issues would need to sleep downstairs . We found it was probably a bit small for a group of 6 with one downstairs bathroom. Facilities great . We had some chimney issues in the lounge with smoke . Maybe there's a birds nest or something up there or it just needs a clean 😊. The kettle is leaking and could probably do to be replaced . The kitchen space is great and so well equipped. The hot tub and garden and summer house are fantastic. The bedrooms upstairs Jack and jill style are so pretty . All in all this is a wow factor cottage

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks very much for your lovely review. Sorry to hear you weren’t well so hope you’ve recovered now. Sorry too to hear about the fire... it has just been swept & there are detailed guidance notes on how to get it to work really well but all fires are a bit like an old friend...even better when you’ve known them a long time. To reassure you about the kettle, we had tried to get it to leak but couldn’t but have replaced it anyway. Would love to put in a second bathroom but as Joll’s is Grade 2 listed, not possible sadly. Hope you’re able to return sometime to take full advantage of all the facilities... you were such delightful guests.

  • 9

    12/03/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/03/2019
    Lovely cottage, had chocolates and sparkling wine on arrival. Lights and radio were on , but unfortunately no heating. However quick 'boost' and lit the fire and was cosy warm. Decorated and dressed to a high standard. Steep steps to the two double bedrooms, not recommended for those with a mobility problem. Hot tub was great, as is the outside den with a cinema cised TV for watching DVDs or sky ! No pubs within walking distance, but lovely pubs a short drive away. Would highly recommend for couples, families or girlie weekends .

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thanks so much...so glad you enjoyed staying at Joll's...sorry the heating wasn’t on when you arrived it usually is...so glad you enjoyed the cinema sized TV in the summer house/den we have found that Dad’s & the kids love to escape in there.

  • 5

    27/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/02/2019
    The cottage itself is lovely and has been finished very nicely. Unfortunately we experienced a few problems when we were there. Quite a lot of dog muck was left in the garden when we arrived. Wet towels were left on all the beds. The kettle in the kitchen is not fit for purpose and is quite dangerous as boiling water leaks through it. The bathroom needs an extractor fan as it gets very damp in there and also the drainage in the shower needs sorting. We were disappointed that the hot tub was not ready until the second night. Also the amount of rules you have read is offputting.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks so much for your feedback... we are grateful for all comments both positive & negative. We appreciate your taking the time to give us some pointers which will help us to improve Joll’s Cottage for the benefit of all future guests. We spoke to you during your stay and apart from your text saying what a good time you are having & how lovely the cottage is, you didn’t mention any of the above issues which we would have been only too happy to attend to immediately as we always do with all of our guests needs/comments as we are passionate about our guests enjoyment. We hope you managed to have an enjoyable and relaxing stay in spite of the problems. Bridget.

  • 10

    04/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 01/02/2019
    Had a much needed relaxing time at Joll's cottage. Gorgeous views, perfect open fire's with the added bonus of a hot tub that was plenty big enough. The moment you arrive it makes the break so special, with music playing and lights on, not to mention my kind of welcome pack, wine, chocolates, flowers and a candle. Communication with the owners Bridget & Rick was good, kept us informed with any problems we may had faced upon arrival. Will most certainly return again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; It’s well worth all the effort we put in to get Joll's to the level it is when we receive feedback like yours. Thank you so much.

  • 10

    27/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 25/01/2019
    Absolutely beautiful a little hidden gem

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Pleased you enjoyed it so much it was our home and we love it too.

  • 10

    01/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/09/2018
    This is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. It has all the home comforts and the garden is wonderful. Due to the style of the cottage, the stairs are a bit of a challenge at first but you get used to them very quickly! It all adds to the character of the cottage. We would love to visit again and have already recommended Joll's to family and friends. Thank you for such an amazing stay!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you - so glad you loved Joll’s... We very much appreciate your feedback.

  • 8

    28/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/08/2018
    Well equiped cottage, lovely gardens and summer house, which was a massive thumbs up from the kids.


  • 8

    29/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 27/07/2018
    Lovely gardens and hot tub den well supplied with games and cms. Lots of nice little touches spotlessly clean lovely big kitchen area although seating area a little smaller than in pictures. Bedrooms again excellently clean but a little difficult to access with steep narrow stairs. We all had a great time made even better with the sunny weather.


  • 10

    30/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 25/06/2018
    A hidden gem


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.2 out of 10 – based on 19 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE