You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Hendra Cottage

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

St Wenn, near Bodmin, Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps 4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms 2
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

Finished to a high specification and with stunning views, this barn conversion is ideal base for families to enjoy Cornwall.


This spacious barn conversion, adjoining another property, has been finished to a high specification and enjoys extensive views over the valley to St. Breock Downs and provides easy access to the North Cornwall coast. Famous for seafood restaurants and its old port, the charismatic, picturesque village of Padstow, overlooks the scenic Camel Estuary, which is less than 10 miles away. Wadebridge with its variety of shops, pubs, restaurants and famous Camel Trail with bicycle hire is approximately 7 miles. There is an excellent choice of fine sandy beaches including Watergate Bay, Harlyn and Constantine, and Bedruthen steps which are all within easy reach. Hendra Cottage is close to Cornwall’s surfing capital Newquay, and the Eden Project. Visitors can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet, explore Bodmin Moor, walk the coastal path, play golf, or wander through some of Cornwall’s beautiful gardens, such as Heligan, Trebah and Caerhays. Shops 3 miles.

Two steps to entrance. Spacious living room with wood-burning stove, rugs on wooden floor, French doors to patio and garden. Well-equipped kitchen/dining room. Two steps down to double bedroom with kingsize bed, built in wardrobes, en-suite shower room with toilet. Two steps up to twin bedroom. Bathroom and toilet.

Wood burner - fuel available locally. electricity, full oil central heating, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot. High chair. TV. DVD. CD. Microwave. Washer/dryer. Dishwasher. Fridge/freezer. Wi-Fi. Selection of games, videos, guide books. Large unenclosed garden with patio and furniture. Parking (for 1 car). No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site


Customer Comments

  • 9

    06/01/2019
    Confirmed guest, 28/12/2018
    Great cottage - well laid out and cared for. We stayed for Xmas 2018 and were pleasantly surprised that the owners had arranged for the cottage to be tastefully decorated, with mince pies and mulled wine left for us. Would definitely stay again.


  • 5

    30/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 21/09/2018
    Snagging list for hendra cottage We couldn't find the key safe until Karen described where to find it. I've never seen one before let alone where we might find it. There needs to be more information about what we should have brought with us, also what type of drains I.e. Can we use certain household product such as bleach Cooker hood very greasy with the filter hanging from one side and flapping when turned on - still the same Hob was covered in sticky substance and cooking oil spilt and left on hob - bought flash and cleaned it - correction its falling off the cooker hood so keep cleaning it up! Light under cupboard to left of cooker keeps falling off Fridge shelf in bottom of door had not been put back in fridge correctly leading to several smashed bottles on the floor which had to be cleaned up (looks like this was not the first time judging by old stains on plinth) Sweeping brush was disgusting as was dust pan and brush, no cloths available and mop past its ability to function. Bought dust pan brush cleaning cloths, pan scrub Freezer needs defrosting, draws had to be washed out before putting food in them. Integrated door won't allow freezer to close without lifting it into place, needs adjusting Cutlery needed washing, as did oven trays, very little washing up liquid no dishwasher tablets - bought washing up liquid and dishwasher tabs Chopping board needed to be bleached Dishwasher stank - full of water - bought dish washer cleaner ran through Shower tray blocked and not clean, black mold in grout in corners and someone else's hair, tiles feel slimy, shower head black has mold ingrained- put plug unblocker through shower tray. Silver cover on shower pipe has come away. Cleaned tile & shower tray Tooth mug had eck from previous occupants in the bottom - rinsed out put in dishwasher Something spilt down kitchen table not cleaned up Bedroom smells very damp, curtains by back door moldy as were blinds No fire mitt Door of log burner completely black - cleaned to enable correct use of fire Rug by front door dirty - we washed it Washing machine draw had soap powder in fabric softener section and isn't being washed out - haven't pulled draw out in case we break it however mold developing in said draw. Outside tap not on Generally whole cottage not well kept, skirting, boxed in pipes, sockets in kitchen very dirty. Toilet seat hinges in en suite covered in urine which has gone sticky. No cleaning materials to address above issues What a shame as we really love the cottage and it's situ, this is our first holiday in two years and I'm doing this cleaning with a broken arm. We totally understand that there is a quick turn around and not possible to do everything in a short time however we have stayed in quite a few self catering cottages and not found the need to make them liveable. It was good for the cats, they enjoyed their walks and being able to isolate them in the kitchen without them escaping was really useful. They slept in their own beds in the kitchen at night so didn't sleep on beds or furniture.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for the comments you have raised, which we will look at very seriously. The feedback from our guests is very important to us. We are surprised at some of the comments re cleanliness as our housekeeper also takes the cleanliness of our properties very seriously. She is also on hand to deal with any issues you have on site during your stay. With regards to cleaning products, as this is a holiday let, we provide a minimum of stocks and do suggest locations where products can be purchased i.e. the supermarkets closest to the property. We will take all comments on board and address these immediately. I do hope this does not put you off visiting us again. With kind regards.

  • 8

    23/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 20/07/2018
    Although the cottage was lovely and it was a good base, I don't think with the steps it has inside and out it is good for disabled people. I have very bad knees and found it very hard work we also have 2 old dogs, who also found it impossible to get up and down steps. The properties neighbours also have 2 dogs, and lovely as they are, my husband found dogs mess in the garden, we just hope we were not blamed.


  • 9

    06/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2018
    Excellent although on approach outside didn't have too much appeal.. Once inside it was lovely although we felt the twin bedroom could be pepped up yo look as lovely as the main bedrooms. The cockrell and his hens greeted us each day!!!


  • 7

    06/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    We enjoyed our stay at Hendra Cottage. The property was clean, well-equipped and about 10 miles from Padstow where we enjoyed visiting. We took the ferry to Rock, visited St Michael's Mount and the local beaches which are beautiful. The only criticism I would make is that the instructions to find the property are not clear; where it says'turn left signed Rosenannon - 275m on the right hand side.....' you need to travel at least 800m down this road and look out for a sign which says 'stables' turn right immediately here and take the right hand fork to 'Hendra Cottage'.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We have now changed the directions to make them clearer. We hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

  • 8

    28/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2018
    This is a lovely cottage but I did not like the fact that in one of the bedrooms there was the cleaning goods , I felt that a cupboard should have been made to contain them, we had in our room the hoover, ironing board , high chair and other things the wardrobe was only a single so these items took a lot of space. In the double room we found a step ladder in one of the wardrobes, so please owners find a cupboard for all these things so that they do not interfere with what was a lovely holiday.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly look into a more pleasing housing for these items. I am sorry for the steps - these must have been left in error after we recently redecorated. We hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

  • 8

    25/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 18/05/2018
    A beautiful holiday cottage in a lovely setting. Very peaceful, all you can hear are the birds singing (and the cockerel next door crowing occasionally). Only downside was the quite high step down to access the bathroom from the twin bedroom, which was a struggle for my mum who has back trouble and walks with a stick. Otherwise we could not fault the cottage at all.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.1 out of 10 – based on 9 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.