You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Chy Rond

Tregorrick, near Charlestown, North Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

14/05/2019
Sleeps 7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms 2
Pets 0
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers


Description

This barn conversion lies close to many beaches and cycle trails, making it the perfect base for outdoor enthusiasts looking for a great area to explore.

Ground Floor:
Living room:
With wood burner, 32" Freeview TV, DVD player, beams and French doors leading to garden.
Dining room: With beams and slate floor.
Kitchen: Farmhouse style with breakfast area, electric range, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, Freeview TV, beams and tiled floor.
Utility room: With washing machine and tumble dryer.
Separate toilet.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1:
With kingsize bed, beams and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 2: With kingsize bed.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds.
Bedroom 4: With single bed.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, toilet and bidet.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Logs for wood burner available locally. Travel cot and highchair. Welcome pack. Large lawned garden with patio and garden furniture. Private parking for 3 cars. No smoking. Please note: There is a drainage culvert beyond the garden. Couples and family bookings only.

This spacious barn conversion lies in a rural setting adjacent to a farm, just outside the old market town of St Austell and close to Charlestown, it provides a perfect spot to enjoy Cornwall. The house has a large lawned garden, which is ideal for games, picnics and barbecues. Chy Rond, which is Cornish for ‘round house’, was once the granary for the farm, and the living room, which is round, is believed to be where the donkey used to power the mill stone, to grind the wheat.
There are many excellent beaches nearby, and the beaches of Pentewan, Portmellon and Carlyon Bay are all easily accessible. The Pentewan Trail, a multi-use trail with bike hire, is very close by, where you can cycle down to Pentewan beach and village to spend a day on the golden sands. The trail links up to many cycling trails that provide an alternative route to one of Cornwall’s and the country’s famous tourist attractions, the Eden Project. The cycle path joins a network of trails right into the heart of Cornwall’s historic china clay area.
A short journey from Chy Rond will bring you to one of Cornwall’s best and most dramatic gardens, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, where you can admire the Italianate garden and explore the ‘Jungle’ garden. The pretty village of Mevagissey, with its working harbour and narrow streets that lead to the quayside, is well worth a visit. With local pubs, bars and restaurants, this quaint little traditional fishing village has sea fishing trips and a ferry to Fowey across St Austell Bay. The sea faring town of Fowey with its Royal Regatta and literary festival is also easily reached and a great day.
Other attractions in the area are Caerhays Castle and garden, a vineyard, the shipwreck and heritage centre at nearby Charlestown, which is home to tall sailing ships and is a regular set used for film and TV programmes. Nearby, in St Austell, there are local shops, bowling, swimming pools, a cinema and leisure facilities. Beach ¾ mile. Shop ½ mile, pub 1 mile and restaurant ¾ mile.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Working Farm
    Working Farm
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site


Customer Comments

  • 10

    15/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/05/2019
    Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed our week at Chy Rond, it really was a home from home, there was everything we needed in the house to make us feel welcome. The furnishings in the house were clean and comfortable and the garden was excellent, the pictures don’t do it justice, and although we were only a couple of minutes drive from town it was very peaceful. We would definitely recommend Chy Rond to anyone and if we were ever staying in Cornwall again then we would book it again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you very much for your message. We're delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Chy Rond. Come back soon.

  • 10

    04/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2018
    We had a fantastic holiday. The area was perfect for getting around and exploring Cornwall.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you. I'm so happy to hear that you had a good holiday.

  • 3

    23/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 22/09/2018
    Whilst the building and internal design was excellent, the building is tired with many essential bits broken. The building is quite dark due to the age and design, but no lights working in the utility, poor lighting in the kitchen and hallway. We had a power cut when we used the vacuum cleaner, maceratir didn’t work properly and we had to place a receptical under the sink, the drinking water tap flooded the kitchen, stair spindle repaired with masking tape, bedside drawer front came off in your hand when you open the drawer. Thick cobwebs everywhere... shower curtain badly stained as are the carpets. No hand wash in the bathrooms and empty cleaning product containers. On thé plus side , quality of the bedding and towels were good. Property was warm, location was good, WiFi was good, as was parking... such a shame

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; I am very sorry for this late response. Our property manager was travelling. She was as concerned as we were about your comments. She was also a little bit surprised and disappointed that she wasn’t contacted her while you were staying in the house. With regard to lighting in the kitchen and hallway, she agrees that it can become a bit dark. We will arrange to get extra lighting. She also agrees that we should provide hand wash in the bathroom. We will do this in future. In addition, of course we will replace the spindle on the banister. Regarding the vacuum, we are sorry that it seems to have tripped the electric - the property manager says that her team have used this vacuum all summer and they have not had a problem. We will look into it. Regarding the problems you had in the kitchen/utility, we are very sorry they occurred; it must have been very irritating. We only wish that you had contacted the property manager. It is her job to make sure that the house is ready for guests on arrival and to address any problems that arise during a holiday in a timely way and with minimum disruption to the guests. I am sorry that your holiday didn’t work out as well as planned and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

  • 9

    22/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 21/07/2018
    absolutly beautifull :) we realy enjoyed the house and the local area

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you very much for your message. Its always great to hear that guests have enjoyed staying in our home.

  • 10

    15/05/2019
    Confirmed guest, 11/05/2019
    Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed our week at Chy Rond, it really was a home from home, there was everything we needed in the house to make us feel welcome. The furnishings in the house were clean and comfortable and the garden was excellent, the pictures don’t do it justice, and although we were only a couple of minutes drive from town it was very peaceful. We would definitely recommend Chy Rond to anyone and if we were ever staying in Cornwall again then we would book it again.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you very much for your message. We're delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Chy Rond. Come back soon.

  • 10

    04/11/2018
    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2018
    We had a fantastic holiday. The area was perfect for getting around and exploring Cornwall.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you. I'm so happy to hear that you had a good holiday.

  • 3

    23/09/2018
    Confirmed guest, 22/09/2018
    Whilst the building and internal design was excellent, the building is tired with many essential bits broken. The building is quite dark due to the age and design, but no lights working in the utility, poor lighting in the kitchen and hallway. We had a power cut when we used the vacuum cleaner, maceratir didn’t work properly and we had to place a receptical under the sink, the drinking water tap flooded the kitchen, stair spindle repaired with masking tape, bedside drawer front came off in your hand when you open the drawer. Thick cobwebs everywhere... shower curtain badly stained as are the carpets. No hand wash in the bathrooms and empty cleaning product containers. On thé plus side , quality of the bedding and towels were good. Property was warm, location was good, WiFi was good, as was parking... such a shame

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; I am very sorry for this late response. Our property manager was travelling. She was as concerned as we were about your comments. She was also a little bit surprised and disappointed that she wasn’t contacted her while you were staying in the house. With regard to lighting in the kitchen and hallway, she agrees that it can become a bit dark. We will arrange to get extra lighting. She also agrees that we should provide hand wash in the bathroom. We will do this in future. In addition, of course we will replace the spindle on the banister. Regarding the vacuum, we are sorry that it seems to have tripped the electric - the property manager says that her team have used this vacuum all summer and they have not had a problem. We will look into it. Regarding the problems you had in the kitchen/utility, we are very sorry they occurred; it must have been very irritating. We only wish that you had contacted the property manager. It is her job to make sure that the house is ready for guests on arrival and to address any problems that arise during a holiday in a timely way and with minimum disruption to the guests. I am sorry that your holiday didn’t work out as well as planned and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

  • 9

    22/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 21/07/2018
    absolutly beautifull :) we realy enjoyed the house and the local area

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you very much for your message. Its always great to hear that guests have enjoyed staying in our home.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.4 out of 10 – based on 8 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE