Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Cheverton Farm - Cheverton Farm Cottage

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Shorwell, Isle of Wight
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps6
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Description

This cottage is located in the beautiful Bowcombe Valley, just 4 miles from the nearest south coast beach.

Nestling in the beautiful Bowcombe Valley, just 4 miles from the nearest south coast beach, are these two properties. Brummell Barn is one of the original outbuildings to Cheverton Farmhouse, converted to provide highly individual and spacious accommodation. Boasting a wealth of interesting and original features, the barn has a splendid galleried sitting-room with beamed, vaulted ceiling enjoying lovely views over the surrounding countryside from its south-facing window. West-facing windows overlook the farmyard. Set close to the owner’s home on their mixed sheep, beef and arable farm, Brummell Barn has its own enclosed terrace with garden furniture and barbecue and Wendy house. Cheverton Farm Cottage is attached to the owner’s 18th-century home, with beams throughout. It has a large garden, and patio with garden furniture and barbecue (note: entrance is from the side door, not shown in photograph). With access to 730 acres of meadow and arable land adjoining forest and downland walking trails, visitors also enjoy shared use of a trampoline, swings, climbing frame, slide, games room with table tennis and air hockey, fitness room and a separate room with full-size billiard/snooker table (for adults) and darts, as well as use of the family’s indoor heated swimming pool. With dogs, ducks, chickens, sheep and cattle to visit, children will enjoy watching the varied farming activities (lambing in April). A perfect base for a family holiday, offering all the peace and quiet of the countryside combined with bathing beaches and a mild sunny climate.Shorwell, with its thatched stone cottages and Jacobean houses is 1 mile, while all the island’s popular seaside resorts are easily reached by a circular coastal road. Sandown and Shanklin, on the east side, have fine sandy beaches and Ventnor, at the southern tip, with its Botanic gardens, is huddled between steep, wooded cliffs. The farmhouse is a registered mountain bike centre for the Isle of Wight, there is an approximately 3 mile bike trail from the farm. Para-gliding, riding and golf can also be arranged (at cost). Shop and pub serving food 1 mile.

Ground floor: Kitchen/dining room with cooker set in old range chimney. First floor: Sitting room with electric ‘coal-effect’ stove. Twin bedroom with wash basin. Bathroom and shower wet room with toilet. Separate toilet. Second floor: Pretty attic double bedroom and twin bedroom with additional area for cot. Beamed throughout.

  • Electricity ‘coal-effect’ stove included
  • Cot
  • High chair
  • TV
  • Stereo/CD
  • Large garden
  • Parking (for 2 cars)

  • Electricity, full oil central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • DVD
  • Microwave
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Own terrace with furniture
  • Shared access to 730 acres of farmland with footpaths and bridleways
  • Barbecue
  • Shared children’s play area with swings, slide, and climbing frame
  • Shared games room with table tennis and air hockey
  • Shared separate snooker room with darts and full-size table (adult use only) and fitness room
  • Shared use of indoor heated swimming pool
  • No smoking
  • NB: Pond and drops in grounds

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Swimming Pool
    Swimming Pool
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Heritage Collection
    Heritage Collection
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Children's Play Area
    Children's Play Area
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle
  • Active Family Holidays
    Active Family Holidays

Customer Comments

  • 6

    08/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2018
    The location was second to none and and it was good fun being on a working farm. The accommodation was rustic as expected which in itself was charming. The pool, gym, table tennis and play area were again as expected, basic but perfect for the environment. We really enjoyed the garden space we had too. The owners and farm staff were all lovely. It would have been perfect, sadly there were two things that spoilt the experience for us. 1. The cottage was not clean. I don't expect a cottage on a farm to be spotless and I appreciate old buildings will have their fair share of spiders etc. However there were spiders webs thick with dust throughout and bed linen that had seen better days. Clearly it had not been properly cleaned for a long time. It just felt dirty. 2. The boiler was broken and well beyond needing replacement . We stayed there 4 nights and boiler was broken for two of them. The owners were kind enough to let us use the bathroom in the main farmhouse the first night it broke. It was repaired the following day. However it failed again that night and I was unable to get a response from the owners that evening so were unable to wash. The following morning we were able to use of the pool facilities to wash. This was ok for me but far from idea for the 70yr old grandmother, pre-schooler and my pregnant wife I was with. This happened on our last night there and unfortunately was I was unable to speak to the owners on departure about this issue because the were unavailable. On arrival there was a fairly strong smell of heating oil which I assumed was due to something recently having been fix, topped up, or serviced. It was strong enough to need to keep windows and the kitchen door open. I initially accepted this as rural/working farm charm. Clearly it was due to a difunctional boiler. So the owners must have been aware there was an issue before I mentioned it to them. I think it is reasonable to expect cleanliness and working safe utilities 100% of the time in holiday accommodation. Which is why I would not recommend staying here unless these issues have been addressed.


  • 9

    03/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    This was our 3rd visit to Cheverton farm and Sheila and Paddy are the nicest people you could ever hope to meet, nothing is too much trouble for them. We were there with our 2 grandchildren aged 12 and 10 who loved the swimming pool, the table tennis and the air hockey especially. We also enjoyed going to see the new lambs in the barn. It's conveniently located for anywhere on the Island being more or less central and of course very beautiful. Sadly I can no longer walk very far, but on past holidays have enjoyed walks from the farm on well marked pathways. There is no wifi, which didn't please my grandaughter but a good mobile signal could be obtained by walking a short way up the hill behind the cottage.


  • 10

    26/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2018
    We have stayed in the isle of Wight on many occasions. As it's our favourite family holiday. But none of the previous accommodations have come close to cheverton farm. Shiela and paddy are the perfect hosts with a beautiful cottage and great facilities to accompany it. The children and us adults loved the indoor swimming pool and games room. As well as the garden and climbing frame. We was very sad to leave. But will defo be back next year . Thank you again Shiela and paddy see you next year.


  • 8

    06/05/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/05/2018
    was a great cottage the owners was so helpful would go again


  • 8

    28/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 27/04/2018
    If you are looking for a traditional farm getaway on the Isle of Wight then look no further. This quaint farm cottage is like stepping back to your grandmas house. Good facilities on site all free to use. An escape away from the hustle and bustle. Note mobile phone service is poor due to being in a valley, you can always walk up the hill if this is important! Easy access across the island, friendly helpful hosts. Would we stay here again - definitely for that quiet getaway.


  • 9

    03/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 30/03/2018
    Lovely hosts, fantastic swimming pool and cosy cottagr


  • 8

    09/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2017
    Lovely people who were so helpful to us. A homely cottage with a well equipped kitchen.


  • 10

    13/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 11/08/2017
    A superb holiday with great amenities and extremely friendly and helpful owners. The children loved the pool, especially as you can book it for your personal use.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.7 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 11 Property Ref: PYV View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.