You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Cheverton Farm - Cheverton Farm Cottage

Shorwell, Isle of Wight
Grade 4 Star rating

Customers'

choice award

Customers'

choice award

14/05/2019
View Map Shortlist
Sleeps6
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Description

This cottage is located in the beautiful Bowcombe Valley, just 4 miles from the nearest south coast beach.

Ground Floor:
Beamed throughout.
Kitchen/dining room: With cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
First Floor:
Living room: With electric wood burner, TV, DVD player and CD player.
Bedroom 1: With twin beds.
Bathroom/wet room: With bath, shower and toilet.
Separate toilet.
Second Floor:
Bedroom 2: Attic with kingsize bed.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds and additional area for cot.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Cot and highchair. Large garden and enclosed terrace with garden furniture. 730-acres of farmland with footpaths and bridleways and children’s play area with swings, slide, and climbing frame (shared with other property on-site). Indoor heated swimming pool. Family games room with table tennis and air hockey. Adult games room full size snooker table and darts (adult use only, older children may use under supervision) and gym by arrangement with site office (shared with other property on-site). Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking Please note: There is a fenced pond and drops in grounds.

Cherverton Farm Cottage can sleep up to six guests, is dog friendly and located in the beautiful Bowcombe Valley, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Situated between Newport and Shorwell on the Isle of Wight, just 4 miles from the islands South Coast, Cheverton Farm Cottage is one of two properties available to rent at Cheverton Farm. The other property on-site, Brummel Barn (ref PYV), sleeps 12. When combined the two properties can accommodate up to 18 guests.

Cheverton Farm specialises in rearing the highest quality lamb and beef as well as arable crops. The farm stretches across a steep valley with natural woodland, fields and chalk downland, and from the top of the downs above the farm there are exceptional panoramic views to behold right across the island. The property is attached to the owner’s 18th-century home, with beams throughout. It has a large garden and patio with garden furniture and a barbecue. With access to 730 acres of meadow and arable land which adjoins a forest and downland walking trails, visitors can also enjoy shared use of a children’s play area, games room with table tennis and air hockey, fitness room and a separate room with full-size billiard/snooker table (for adults) and darts, as well as use of the owner’s indoor heated swimming pool. With dogs, chickens, sheep and cattle to visit, children will enjoy watching the varied farming activities (lambing in April). A perfect base for a family holiday, offering all the peace and quiet of the countryside combined with bathing beaches and a mild sunny climate.

Shorwell, with its thatched stone cottages and Jacobean houses is 1-mile away, while all the islands popular seaside resorts are easily reached by a circular coastal road. Sandown and Shanklin, on the east side, have fine sandy beaches and Ventnor, at the southern tip, with its Botanic Gardens, is huddled between steep, wooded cliffs. The farm is a registered mountain bike centre for the Isle of Wight, there is an approximately 3-mile cross country track that offers riders of all abilities a challenging and enjoyable ride through the woods and downland at Cheverton Farm. From a tight twisty single track, jumps and technical descents, to open chalkland trails with stunning views. It also offers a start to longer rides via the Worsley Trail that runs through the farm adjacent to the cycle track. Para-gliding, riding and golf can also be arranged (at cost). Shop and pub serving food 1 mile.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Swimming Pool
    Swimming Pool
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Heritage Collection
    Heritage Collection
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Childrens Play Area
    Childrens Play Area
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle
  • Active Family Holidays
    Active Family Holidays


Customer Comments

  • 10

    13/04/2019
    Confirmed guest, 12/04/2019
    First and foremost our hosts Shelia and Paddy were more than first class they were the best one could encounter any where. The cottage was delightful, and the space for the dogs in the garden was just what I have wanted. We know the isle of Wight very well and discovered for the first time Newtown which was idyllic


  • 10

    24/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/02/2019
    We had a great time the children especially loved the pool.


  • 10

    28/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 26/10/2018
    We love it. Great for a family holiday with our children age 10 and 7, and our labrador age 1!


  • 9

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/08/2018
    Lovely quiet farm cottage centrally situated on the Isle of Wight. Great for kids, loved the swimming pool which you can book out for just your family to use, all free. Lovely owners too!


  • 7

    23/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 20/07/2018
    Great location and lovely surroundings. The pool was good fun, as were the snooker table, air hockey and table tennis. Unfortunately, the cottage was not very clean, with lots of cobwebs (which we somewhat expected for an old house), old dust and dirty windows. The top of one of the bedrooms' chest of drawers, for example, was still covered from previous users' glitter and what looked like make up power. There was a strong smell of heating oil in the kitchen, where the old boiler is housed, which was unpleasant at times. However, overall we all had a good time, and the peaceful and delightful location more than made up for the negatives.


  • 6

    08/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2018
    The location was second to none and and it was good fun being on a working farm. The accommodation was rustic as expected which in itself was charming. The pool, gym, table tennis and play area were again as expected, basic but perfect for the environment. We really enjoyed the garden space we had too. The owners and farm staff were all lovely. It would have been perfect, sadly there were two things that spoilt the experience for us. 1. The cottage was not clean. I don't expect a cottage on a farm to be spotless and I appreciate old buildings will have their fair share of spiders etc. However there were spiders webs thick with dust throughout and bed linen that had seen better days. Clearly it had not been properly cleaned for a long time. It just felt dirty. 2. The boiler was broken and well beyond needing replacement . We stayed there 4 nights and boiler was broken for two of them. The owners were kind enough to let us use the bathroom in the main farmhouse the first night it broke. It was repaired the following day. However it failed again that night and I was unable to get a response from the owners that evening so were unable to wash. The following morning we were able to use of the pool facilities to wash. This was ok for me but far from idea for the 70yr old grandmother, pre-schooler and my pregnant wife I was with. This happened on our last night there and unfortunately was I was unable to speak to the owners on departure about this issue because the were unavailable. On arrival there was a fairly strong smell of heating oil which I assumed was due to something recently having been fix, topped up, or serviced. It was strong enough to need to keep windows and the kitchen door open. I initially accepted this as rural/working farm charm. Clearly it was due to a difunctional boiler. So the owners must have been aware there was an issue before I mentioned it to them. I think it is reasonable to expect cleanliness and working safe utilities 100% of the time in holiday accommodation. Which is why I would not recommend staying here unless these issues have been addressed.


  • 9

    03/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    This was our 3rd visit to Cheverton farm and Sheila and Paddy are the nicest people you could ever hope to meet, nothing is too much trouble for them. We were there with our 2 grandchildren aged 12 and 10 who loved the swimming pool, the table tennis and the air hockey especially. We also enjoyed going to see the new lambs in the barn. It's conveniently located for anywhere on the Island being more or less central and of course very beautiful. Sadly I can no longer walk very far, but on past holidays have enjoyed walks from the farm on well marked pathways. There is no wifi, which didn't please my grandaughter but a good mobile signal could be obtained by walking a short way up the hill behind the cottage.


  • 10

    13/04/2019
    Confirmed guest, 12/04/2019
    First and foremost our hosts Shelia and Paddy were more than first class they were the best one could encounter any where. The cottage was delightful, and the space for the dogs in the garden was just what I have wanted. We know the isle of Wight very well and discovered for the first time Newtown which was idyllic


  • 10

    24/02/2019
    Confirmed guest, 22/02/2019
    We had a great time the children especially loved the pool.


  • 10

    28/10/2018
    Confirmed guest, 26/10/2018
    We love it. Great for a family holiday with our children age 10 and 7, and our labrador age 1!


  • 9

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/08/2018
    Lovely quiet farm cottage centrally situated on the Isle of Wight. Great for kids, loved the swimming pool which you can book out for just your family to use, all free. Lovely owners too!


  • 7

    23/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 20/07/2018
    Great location and lovely surroundings. The pool was good fun, as were the snooker table, air hockey and table tennis. Unfortunately, the cottage was not very clean, with lots of cobwebs (which we somewhat expected for an old house), old dust and dirty windows. The top of one of the bedrooms' chest of drawers, for example, was still covered from previous users' glitter and what looked like make up power. There was a strong smell of heating oil in the kitchen, where the old boiler is housed, which was unpleasant at times. However, overall we all had a good time, and the peaceful and delightful location more than made up for the negatives.


  • 6

    08/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2018
    The location was second to none and and it was good fun being on a working farm. The accommodation was rustic as expected which in itself was charming. The pool, gym, table tennis and play area were again as expected, basic but perfect for the environment. We really enjoyed the garden space we had too. The owners and farm staff were all lovely. It would have been perfect, sadly there were two things that spoilt the experience for us. 1. The cottage was not clean. I don't expect a cottage on a farm to be spotless and I appreciate old buildings will have their fair share of spiders etc. However there were spiders webs thick with dust throughout and bed linen that had seen better days. Clearly it had not been properly cleaned for a long time. It just felt dirty. 2. The boiler was broken and well beyond needing replacement . We stayed there 4 nights and boiler was broken for two of them. The owners were kind enough to let us use the bathroom in the main farmhouse the first night it broke. It was repaired the following day. However it failed again that night and I was unable to get a response from the owners that evening so were unable to wash. The following morning we were able to use of the pool facilities to wash. This was ok for me but far from idea for the 70yr old grandmother, pre-schooler and my pregnant wife I was with. This happened on our last night there and unfortunately was I was unable to speak to the owners on departure about this issue because the were unavailable. On arrival there was a fairly strong smell of heating oil which I assumed was due to something recently having been fix, topped up, or serviced. It was strong enough to need to keep windows and the kitchen door open. I initially accepted this as rural/working farm charm. Clearly it was due to a difunctional boiler. So the owners must have been aware there was an issue before I mentioned it to them. I think it is reasonable to expect cleanliness and working safe utilities 100% of the time in holiday accommodation. Which is why I would not recommend staying here unless these issues have been addressed.


  • 9

    03/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    This was our 3rd visit to Cheverton farm and Sheila and Paddy are the nicest people you could ever hope to meet, nothing is too much trouble for them. We were there with our 2 grandchildren aged 12 and 10 who loved the swimming pool, the table tennis and the air hockey especially. We also enjoyed going to see the new lambs in the barn. It's conveniently located for anywhere on the Island being more or less central and of course very beautiful. Sadly I can no longer walk very far, but on past holidays have enjoyed walks from the farm on well marked pathways. There is no wifi, which didn't please my grandaughter but a good mobile signal could be obtained by walking a short way up the hill behind the cottage.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.8 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.

CLOSE