You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Bowles Cottage

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Southrop, near Lechlade, Gloucestershire
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps5
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Visit the pretty Cotswolds villages or even Oxford from this stylish cottage which lies close to Lechlade.

Bowles Cottage is a stylish, detached holiday cottage which lies on the edge of the village of Southrop, in the county of Gloucestershire. The village is skirted by the River Leach and is in an unspoilt Cotswolds location with many walks directly from the cottage to surrounding towns and villages, this cottage is a real delight to stay in. The characterful market towns of both Lechlade and Fairford are close by, with many quintessential Cotswold villages to explore including Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold, and plenty of sporting activities to indulge in including water sports, boating on the Thames, fishing, golf, walking and horse riding. Numerous museums are also nearby, such as the fascinating Pitt Rivers Museum in Oxford and the Ashmoleum with its Egyptian collection of mummies and other world treasures. Interesting days out can be had at many working farms and bird sanctuaries. The Cotswold Farm Park near Guiting Power specialises in rare breeds of animals and offers seasonal demonstrations include lambing, shearing and milking. Slimbridge Wetlands Centre is an internationally important reserve and home to the world’s largest collection of rare and exotic water birds. Only a short distance from the cottage is the Cotswold Wildlife Park. This 120-acre park is home to a collection of animals from all over the world, many of which are threatened or endangered species in the wild. Visitors will also find gardens, a café, an adventure playground and a narrow gauge railway. Shop, pub and restaurant 1½ miles.

Ramp access. All on ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen. 3 bedrooms: 2 double (one 5ft), 1 single. Bathroom with bath, shower cubicle and toilet. Wide doorways throughout property.

Electric central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. DVD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washing machine. Dishwasher. Freezer. Wi-fi. Enclosed garden with sitting-out area and furniture. Parking (2 cars). Wheelchair access. No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden/Patio
    Enclosed Garden/Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Wheelchair Access
    Wheelchair Access
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Entrance Ramp/Level Access
    Entrance Ramp/Level Access
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle


Customer Comments

  • 6

    19/08/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/08/2018
    The cottage was ok, not the best we've stayed in unfortunately. We booked this cottage as it was all on the ground level and accessible for our disabled son. With this in mind we were disappointed to find that although the shower was a walk-in type there were no grab rails and even more annoying, no shelf for shampoo etc. This meant my son had to lean out of the shower to reach his shampoo from the basin which was the nearest we could put it so that he could get it! The owners have gone to the trouble of making a ramp up to the back door so that disabled clients can access the cottage, but have not followed this thinking through to the shower and toilet facilities. I find it's all in the detail and the cottage was lacking in some important things. Why is there no grab rail in the toilet, when there is an alarm cord? One tea towel supplied for the whole week. Chipped crockery. The frying pan was dirty when we took it out of the cupboard. The cottage is advertised as sleeping 5, but the second double bedroom is tiny. We had to move the bed to one side just to get into the bed, Again anyone with mobility problems would not be able to use this room. When we cleaned up before we left, we hoovered the sofa and when we took the sofa cushions off we were shocked at the amount of debris we found there, so we actually left the cottage in a better state of cleanliness than when we found it! The details also mentioned the use of an ipad, but there wasn't one, so we couldn't use the sonos system that other reviewers had mentioned. I'm sorry to say we won't be booking another stay here.


  • 2

    10/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 08/07/2018
    I took my friend and our partners to the Cotswolds for a birthday gift. Cotswolds is beautiful place, lots of pretty villages. Bourton on Water is a must visit. Unfortunately Bowles cottage was very poor. I had read previous reviews about the hot water not working but assumed they would have fixed it. The owners have clearly ignored visitors. There was no hot water the whole weekend and the shower was broken and was just a hose, so we couldn’t have a shower! We phoned the owners but no answer. Also the sofas are old and uncomfortable. We’ve stayed in many holiday lets and this one is overpriced and neglected. Go to the Cotswolds but don’t stay here. It’s time the owners listened to the feedback and fix the shower, deal with the water issues, get a new sofa and give the whole place a good clean.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; I am sorry to hear that you had problems with the hot water. It is a modern boiler and has a safety cut out - there are clear instructions on how to do this at the cottage. I am very surprised that you did not get in touch on one of the three telephone numbers we provide for our guests, as we could have easily resolved the problem, and fixed the shower for you. The cottage and its furnishings are only four years old, and I am sorry the sofa was not to your taste. It is so easy to write a negative review, and so sad for family businesses who work hard to provide quality accommodation. I would suggest reading the welcome information if you stay at a self-catering cottage again, and make attempts to contact the Owner rather than posting a negative review when it is too late to do anything about it.

  • 9

    05/07/2018
    Confirmed guest, 10/06/2018
    We loved it. The cottage was perfect for us and Leonie was so helpful in returning the inevitable forgotten charger. Would definitely recommend.


  • 2

    05/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    Lovely area, plenty of places to visit. Cottage a bit of a let down, cleanliness is not as I would have expected, dust, cobwebs, grubby sofas and dirty floor. I refused to use the frying pan! The water tripped a few times so had to reset it then wait for it to heat up or boil a kettle. The shower tray was very slow to drain away, it would fill up in seconds so had to keep switching the shower off so the water didn't overflow onto the floor. It was much darker inside than expected and the lighting isn't great, some of the light bulbs not working didn't help. The outside furniture was too grubby to use and the patio was covered in moss. I could go on... All that said we spent a lot of time out visiting the local area so still made the most of our holiday.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we are always pleased to receive constructive feedback. I must admit I was a little surprised by your comments, since the shower drain was fixed within an hour of you calling me. I am sorry that you did not mention any other problems when we spoke - I would have been delighted to investigate the water problem and to change the light bulbs if you had made me aware that there was an issue. I have passed your comments on to our housekeeper. She takes great pride in looking after Bowles Cottage, as our many positive reviews show.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.8 out of 10 – based on 21 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.