Double (standard 4ft 6in)
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
An Awaze Company Extra cleaning considerations 98% would book again Over 21,000 quality assured cottages
×
You can view or make payments by visiting my booking x.
Back to Search

Customers'

choice award

Sleeps 2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms 1
Pets 1
Check-in
Check-out

Berry Park - Poppy

Welcombe, near Bude, Devon | W44291 3 Grade:
COMING SOON
5 years

Customers'

choice award

Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

 
Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
×
Updating the calendar...
Done

Prices are shown for the whole stay

Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

What we love


Description

This ground floor apartment ticks all the boxes for a couple or small family wanting a coastal retreat and is located just ¾ mile from the beach.

All on ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen. 1 double bedroom with en-suite shower room and toilet.

Oil central heating, electricity and bed linen included. Towel hire. Cot and high chair on request. Freeview TV. DVD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Shared laundry room with coin-operated washing machine and tumble dryer. Wi-fi. Shared lawned garden with sitting-out area and furniture. Shared 6 acres of natural grounds. Shared children’s play area. Ample parking. Shared games room with snooker table, table tennis and board games. Welcome pack. Pet welcome - to be kept on a lead at all times. No smoking.

Berry Park is a splendid Victorian country house with spectacular sea and countryside views. Nestled amidst six acres of attractive gardens and fields in the beautiful Devon countryside, next to the Cornish border in the unspoiled hamlet of Welcombe. Close to the beach and coastal path, Berry Park is perfect for families, couples and groups. Welcombe beach is great for rock pooling, paddling and beachcombing, and also has pebbles at high tide and sand at low. The South West Coastal Path is just a 10-minute walk away and the coastline in both directions offers some of the most breathtaking scenery in the West Country with many long sandy beaches and hidden coves to explore.

The main house has been skilfully converted into apartments of various sizes sleeping 2 to 6 people (refs: W44290, W44291, W44292, W44293, W44294, W44295) and adjoining it are two 16th-century cottages (refs: W44288 & W44289), sleeping 2 to 9 people.

The spectacular scenery around Welcombe makes it the perfect venue for those who enjoy coast and country walks. Berry Park borders the Marsland Valley which is a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) and an officially designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. It is home to rare wildlife including red deer, otters, owls and buzzards. Numerous wild flowers abound, especially in the springtime when bluebells carpet the woods and it becomes hard to believe that orchids are rare.

Why not take a break from the cooking with an evening in the character thatched village pub? Just a short walk from Berry Park they serve real ales and excellent food. The menu features dishes using high quality, locally produced ingredients. The pub is perfect for families, and dogs are welcome too!

With six acres to explore, a children’s play area and an indoor games room.

Picturesque Clovelly, with its cobbled street leading down to a tiny harbour, is just a short drive away. Historic Bideford, a prosperous port during the heyday of trade with America, has all the town amenities, restaurants, a weekly market, and boat trips to Lundy Island. Bude, 12 miles, has a good selection of shops and restaurants, many specialising in locally caught sea food, along with a golf course, indoor Splash pool, surf schools and bowling. Coastal walking, cycling, golf, riding, fishing, surfing and sailing are all available in this stunning area. Docton Mill, Hartland Quay and Hartland Abbey are close by, along with many pretty fishing villages to explore including nearby Instow and Appledore. For family fun, the Big Sheep and Milky Way Adventure parks are a must. Beach ¾ mile. Shop 2 miles, pub and restaurant ½ mile.

Read more 

Features

  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Horse Riding Nearby
    Horse Riding Nearby
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • All En-suite
    All En-suite
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Childrens Play Area
    Childrens Play Area


Customer Comments

  • 4

    Jane 

    28/09/2019
    Confirmed guest, 21/09/2019
    Owners very welcoming and friendly. Constant very hot water and excellent shower. Property very lacking in facilities however , such as adequate cooking utensils , no scissors or condiments of any kind. Only one toilet roll provided and although extensive library on site could not find a local map of the area !!! Although bathroom very clean and rest of property was not , partner had to clean bedroom draws before he would put his clothes in, very obvious large spillage (?) down the front of the leather sofa and large particles of debris under the sofa ( clearly visible). Kitchen area very impractical for any kind of cooking , virtually no worktop space , had to take pans out of cupboard for storage for our food and worse of all 2 lights over cooking area did not work so unable to make a meal in the evening.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are so sorry that the whole of Poppy Apartment was not spotlessly clean when you arrived. It should have been and I am sure our cleaners will be upset to learn that they missed areas, as they take pride in their work. Many guests comment on how well equipped our apartments are, so I am surprised to hear that you found the kitchen utensils inadequate. There should have been scissors in the drawer and had you mentioned to us that you needed some we would have quickly replaced the pair that had gone missing. Our apartments are self-catering. Therefore, we do not supply food stuffs of any nature, or unlimited toilet rolls. It is a shame you did not think to chat to us the ‘very welcoming and friendly owners’ about the two lights over the cooking area, as we could have turned them on for you and saved a great deal of inconvenience. The lights do work, but the previous guests must have turned them off at the socket, which is situated above the cupboard. And once again, had you chatted to us, we could also have provided you with a local map of the area.

View All Guest Reviews
×

5.5 out of 10 – based on 2 reviews collected by reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Local Area

Content to be added.

CLOSE