You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Account'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Over 21,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Beech Cottage


We wont be beaten on price!

Ilfracombe, Devon
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Shortlist
Sleeps 4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms 1
Pets 2
Prices are per property not per person includes a £40 booking fee.

Sorry there is no availability for your selection. Please change the date or duration to see availability.
Start date and duration
previous month
next month
Updating the calendar...
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900 Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Beech Cottage is set in pretty grounds of the owner’s hotel and is within walking distance to the beach.

Seaside location

Seaside location

A fantastic location on the spectacular North Devon Coast in the picturesque seaside and harbour town of Ilfracombe, these semi-detached, chalet style holiday bungalows are within the pretty grounds of the owner’s hotel. The ideal holiday location from which to enjoy this lovely area and within easy walking distance of the sea front and harbour. In summer the Lundy Island ferry runs from the harbour, and it is the ideal spot for sea fishing enthusiasts. If not exploring the `The Lanes’ or `Tunnels’ beach, then you could visit the 18th century Bicclescombe Water Mill or the Ilfracombe Museum. There are many scenic coastal walks, including the South West Coastal Path and the famous Tors Walk, and Ilfracombe has an excellent selection of pubs, restaurants and quayside shops along with a swimming pool and famous Landmark Theatre. This is a great base for touring, with superb surfing at Croyd and Woolacombe and the unspoilt wild open moors of Exmoor National Park close by. The Victorian cliff railway at Lynton and Lynmouth are within easy reach and the area has many family attractions including Exmoor Zoological Park and Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park. Shop 200 yards, pub and restaurant in adjacent hotel.

All on ground floor: Living/dining room. Kitchen. 2 bedrooms: 1 double, 1 twin. Bathroom with shower over bath and toilet.

Gas central heating, gas and electricity included (£10per week October-May). Bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot. High chair. DVD. Gas cooker. Microwave. Shared laundry facilities. Shared lawned garden and furniture. Parking (1 car). No smoking.

Show amenities 


  • Bungalow
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2018
    Lovely cottage,much bigger than expected. Very clean,beds were all made up which was a bonus after travelling for a few hours. There were lots of homely comforts. The only problem that I found was the shower which was over the bath was really difficult for me to have because I have disabilities. If only there was a walk in shower I would book every year. The owners were really helpful and welcoming.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2018
    This is the second time I have stayed in this cottage ,is was warm and comfortable I especially enjoyed the view over the town when the town lights were on I will be booking again if they will have me

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 29/09/2018
    I enjoyed my stay at Beech Cottage. The owners were very friendly and helpful. When I arrived on Saturday afternoon there was no hot water, but as the shower was electric this was unaffected. They apologised profusely and it was clear this was a new issue. This was all resolved by Monday afternoon and they had offered for me to use the hotel facilities if required. The cottage was well furnished and the kitchen had everything you needed including tea towels and washing up liquid etc, which you dont always get. The only downside (and its minor) is that the garden cannot be accessed directly from the cottage and you have to walk round the back. No real hard-ship but meant my dog couldnt stay out there sniffing unaccompanied.

  • 2

    Confirmed guest, 07/04/2018
    Not the best cottage needs a lot of work doing to it, cooker didn’t work probably and pots were old and burnt. The view from the cottage was not what we expected and was over looking a messy garden. Under the cottage was a laundry room for the hotel attached to the cottage and was very noisy it sounded like a very loud drill.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks for the review and we are sorry that you felt there were elements to your stay with us that weren’t to your satisfaction. We spent over six weeks this winter decorating the chalet. You are correct in saying the cooker didn’t work when you arrived, as the previous customer had advised us that the Grill had stopped working. When you arrived we explained that we had a Gas Safe engineer arriving Monday morning to fit the new cooker, you were all invited to the hotel for breakfast for the inconvenience. The Engineer did check that the cooker was working and you never said that it wasn’t working properly, whilst you were here. The pots are looking a bit worn, but are as clean as we can make them. They are on our replacement list for later in the year. The garden out the back of the cottage was once a vegetable patch that my mother tended until August last year when she passed away. We intend to grass over this area. Grass will grow from May. As I am sure you can appreciate, it is not acceptable to have laundry facilities in a commercial kitchen and we have to have our machines somewhere. We do try to stop washing around about tea time or just before. We also try to allow our guests a lie in and not start the machines too early in the mornings.

View All Guest Reviews

6.6 out of 10 – based on 8 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 4 Property Ref: W7707 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.