Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Beech Cottage

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

We wont be beaten on price!

Ilfracombe, Devon
Grade 3 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

Beech Cottage is set in pretty grounds of the owner’s hotel and is within walking distance to the beach.

Seaside location

Seaside location

A fantastic location on the spectacular North Devon Coast in the picturesque seaside and harbour town of Ilfracombe, these semi-detached, chalet style holiday bungalows are within the pretty grounds of the owner’s hotel. The ideal holiday location from which to enjoy this lovely area and within easy walking distance of the sea front and harbour. In summer the Lundy Island ferry runs from the harbour, and it is the ideal spot for sea fishing enthusiasts. If not exploring the `The Lanes’ or `Tunnels’ beach, then you could visit the 18th century Bicclescombe Water Mill or the Ilfracombe Museum. There are many scenic coastal walks, including the South West Coastal Path and the famous Tors Walk, and Ilfracombe has an excellent selection of pubs, restaurants and quayside shops along with a swimming pool and famous Landmark Theatre. This is a great base for touring, with superb surfing at Croyd and Woolacombe and the unspoilt wild open moors of Exmoor National Park close by. The Victorian cliff railway at Lynton and Lynmouth are within easy reach and the area has many family attractions including Exmoor Zoological Park and Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park. Shop 200 yards, pub and restaurant in adjacent hotel.

All on ground floor: Living/dining room. Kitchen. 2 bedrooms: 1 double, 1 twin. Bathroom with shower over bath and toilet.

Gas central heating, gas and electricity included (£10per week October-May). Bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot. High chair. DVD. Gas cooker. Microwave. Shared laundry facilities. Shared lawned garden and furniture. Parking (1 car). No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • Bungalow
    Bungalow
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • WiFi
    WiFi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 2

    13/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 07/04/2018
    Not the best cottage needs a lot of work doing to it, cooker didn’t work probably and pots were old and burnt. The view from the cottage was not what we expected and was over looking a messy garden. Under the cottage was a laundry room for the hotel attached to the cottage and was very noisy it sounded like a very loud drill.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks for the review and we are sorry that you felt there were elements to your stay with us that weren’t to your satisfaction. We spent over six weeks this winter decorating the chalet. You are correct in saying the cooker didn’t work when you arrived, as the previous customer had advised us that the Grill had stopped working. When you arrived we explained that we had a Gas Safe engineer arriving Monday morning to fit the new cooker, you were all invited to the hotel for breakfast for the inconvenience. The Engineer did check that the cooker was working and you never said that it wasn’t working properly, whilst you were here. The pots are looking a bit worn, but are as clean as we can make them. They are on our replacement list for later in the year. The garden out the back of the cottage was once a vegetable patch that my mother tended until August last year when she passed away. We intend to grass over this area. Grass will grow from May. As I am sure you can appreciate, it is not acceptable to have laundry facilities in a commercial kitchen and we have to have our machines somewhere. We do try to stop washing around about tea time or just before. We also try to allow our guests a lie in and not start the machines too early in the mornings.

  • 3

    30/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 23/09/2017
    I am sorry to say that we were very disappointed with Beech Cottage. It is at best dated and at worst in need of a total refurbishment. It was not clean the skirting boards were coffee stained and dusty, there were cobwebs in all corners of the lounge, the bathroom walls are covered in mound and the water to the shower was hit and miss. The television did not work because of signal issues which judging by previous reviews were ongoing, the owner did come in a sort it out once but then it went again and the owners were away then. The location is lovely but the overall feel is of neglect which is such a shame, I hate to leave a review like this but I feel it is unfair on others not to draw attention to these issues. We have been visiting Ilfracombe for a number of years and always enjoy ourselves but I think this Cottage needs reassessing .


View All Guest Reviews
×

4.8 out of 10 – based on 8 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time:

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 4 Property Ref: W7707 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.