By Wyndham Vacation Rentals


Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Pets 2

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


This well-equipped property commands spectacular sea views, and is just half a mile from Ventnor, home to the famous Botanical Gardens.

Woodlands, a well furnished and equipped property, commands spectacular sea views, and is set in a resort with a climate mild enough to attract visitors almost all year round. Charming, this Grade II listed Victorian villa was built in 1842, and boasts a 1/3 of an acre walled garden.
Detached, it is just half a mile from Ventnor – a largely unspoilt Victorian seaside resort, where attractions include the Botanical Gardens and several museums. Nestling beneath the 800 ft
St Boniface Downs, this small town is built on a series of terraces and is protected by steep surrounding hills, with its roads zig-zagging down to a sandy beach; Woodlands is perched on the edge of one of these terraces commanding uninterrupted views of the English Channel from the garden and every room.
In addition to Blackgang Chine and the coloured sands of Alum Bay, there is a vast array of attractions within a 30-minute drive. There are local, as well as island-wide, facilities for tennis, golf and riding, and miles of spectacular cliff and downland walks. Two Heritage Coast footpaths follow the best of the shoreline, one running from Totland to St Lawrence on the south coast, the other from east of Yarmouth to west of Cowes along the north coast, each taking in a surprising variety of landscapes and coastal scenery.
For formal dining, the Royal Hotel, where Queen Victoria occasionally took afternoon tea, is just 200 yards away. Only a 5-minute walk to the sandy beach, with its small boat slipway and haven, and close to the heart of the town – where promenade pubs serve locally-caught fresh fish dishes, it is perfectly placed for an Isle holiday. Shops 3/4 miles.

Entrance hall. Living room with coal-effect gas fire and French doors to conservatory and garden. Dining room. Well-equipped modern fitted kitchen with breakfast area and terracotta-tiled floor. Utility/laundry room. Bathroom with over-bath shower, bidet and toilet. First floor: Three double bedrooms, one with balcony. Bathroom with over-bath shower, bidet and toilet. Second floor: Two bedrooms, each with wash basin; one twin, one single.

  • Gas fire included
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Two cots
  • Two high chairs
  • Four TVs
  • Video
  • DVD
  • CD
  • Microwave
  • Washing machine
  • Tumble dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • American fridge/freezer with ice-maker
  • Wi-fi
  • Telephone – local calls only
  • Garden with patio and furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Ample parking
  • Cycle/equipment storage
  • Pets free of charge
  • No smoking
  • NB: Significant drops within property’s boundaries

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Free PetsFree Pets
  • WifiWifi
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • Heritage CollectionHeritage Collection
  • Car Parking - On SiteCar Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 02/09/2016
    Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Woodlands. Garden has great views overlooking the sea and only a 20 minute brisk walk down to Ventnor Beach. House was very clean and tidy with plenty of space for all of us (9 ppl). Only cons were, the dishwasher was not cleaning top tray items properly and kitchen could do with more mugs, glasses, plates etc.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 12/08/2016
    This was our 5th stay. Perfect for 3 generations. Lots of room inside and out. No neighbour problems. Beautiful building and sea views. Grandson: "why can't we all just live here?" We love our seaside holiday home. Previous sad inclination to some shoddiness all smartly corrected this year, thank you.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 24/06/2016
    Shabby without the chic. Sad to see a beautiful house being neglected. Parties with children or dogs note the garden is not secure. On arrival we discovered the wooden gates to the drive were completely rotten, one had actually rotted off its hinges. The caretaker advised us to lift them into position and time them together to close. Her carpenter inspected and advised they were rotten and needed replacement. The boundary walls of the garden are so low in places a dog or child could easily climb over into the busy road or precipitous cliff side. Many of the rooms have evidence of water incursion and during a rainstorm water leaked into the back bedroom. The upstairs bathroom was barely usable, the toilet only flushed intermittently, the mechanism to remove the bath plug was broken and it took us all day to empty the bath, the blind at the very large window over looking a busy road was flimsy - showering was only for the extrovert. There were a number of small annoyances I won't bore you with but considering we paid a premium rate which was a large amount of money for a weeks stay we were not impressed and would not recommend it.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 02/01/2016
    Great house in a great lovation

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 27/12/2015
    Woodlands is a lovely building! Sadly certain aspects of the interior have been neglected for quite a little while. Some of the problems we experienced - the lights in the drive not working; the roller blind in the 1st floor bathroom falling off its roller - are things that were noted in the visitor book some months ago. On the whole we had a very nice stay but mainly because we were all together as a family for Christmas. The owners should take note of the constructive comments in the visitor book and fix the place up a little and get the heating sorted out (as mentioned in the visitor book by another guest - the timer seems to have a mind of its own!). We did try to contact the caretaker about the heating but never got a call back. When we arrived there was only one toilet roll for 8 guests! One of the handles on a saucepan was falling off and if it hadn't been spotted there could have been a serious scalding incident. The bedside lights in the Master Bedroom didn't work! On the whole for the amount of money they are charging - nearly £1,700 for four day's stay over Christmas- I feel that having already been informed several times in the visitor book that guests are disappointed with aspects that could be easily addressed, the owners are to a certain extent taking the proverbial!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you and your family had a very nice stay at Woodlands over the Christmas period and we appreciate the comments you have made. It is not always possible to identify all issues and some, such as those identified, can easily escape our attention. We are pleased to confirm that the blind in the bathroom is being replaced as are the pans and the bulbs in the driveway lights. Following your feedback, we checked the lamps in the bedroom and can confirm that both are working. The lamps need to be turned on by the main switch therefore this could have been the issue? We apologise you experienced a little difficulty with the heating. We would never want for our guests to be cold so we sent someone over to the House within 20 minutes of your call to resolve the issue. We provide an initial toilet roll in each toilet but we will start providing extra, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We hope that the above issues did not detract too much from the overall enjoyment of your holiday and that you enjoyed the cake we left in the House for your arrival.

View All Guest Reviews

7.8 out of 10 – based on 8 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast