Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Windbury Barn

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Hartland, near Bideford, Devon
Grade 4 Star rating
View Map Add to Shortlist
Sleeps5
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms2
Pets0
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, only a short distance from South West Coastal Path, near secluded coves and sandy beaches at Westward Ho!

This end of terrace, stunning barn conversion is part of a small select development in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and only 500 yards from the National Trust South West Coastal Path, on the breathtaking Hartland Peninsula. A large sunken patio and raised lawned garden are perfect for relaxing and enjoying outdoors meals or on a chilly evening, curl up beside the cosy wood burner. A truly wonderful escape from the busy modern world. Hartland village is just 2 miles and offers a number of traditional village shops and highly commended pubs serving food. Many secluded coves nearby including Spekes Mill and Hartland Quay or large sandy beaches at Westward Ho! and Sandymouth. Nearby Bideford offers boat trips to Lundy Island or explore the famous cobbled streets of Clovelly. Bude is also within easy reach with its wide sandy beaches, canal walks and Marsh Nature Reserve. For family fun, The Big Sheep and Milky Way Adventure Parks area close by, or for a great day out, The Eden Project is an easy drive. An ideal holiday base. Shop, pub and restaurant 2 miles.

Ground Floor:
Open plan living space: With beams, vaulted ceiling and French doors.
Living area: With wood burner, Freeview TV, DVD player and CD player.
Dining area.
Kitchen area: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With double bed and en-suite with shower cubicle and toilet.
Bedroom 2: With single bed.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.
First Floor:
Seating area: Galleried with CD player.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds, Freeview TV, Velux window and sloping ceiling.
Separate toilet.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Initial fuel for wood burner included. Welcome pack. Large landscaped garden with patio, garden furniture and barbecue. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking. Please note: No children under 5 years old, except babies in arms due to unfenced drop at sides of garden and 7 steps.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 9

    05/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 04/06/2018
    A very interesting area, and a great property with all we needed.


  • 10

    07/06/2018
    Confirmed guest, 01/06/2018
    We spent wonderful and carefree days in Windbury Barn. The house was absolutely clean, very lovingly furnished and fully met our expectations. The secluded location guarantees peace and relaxation. Ideal for exploring the proximity to the South West Coast Path and attractions including Hartland Quay, Speke's Mill Mouth Waterfall, Blackchurch Rock and Clovelly. Many thanks to the nice landlords Karen & David


  • 9

    17/02/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/02/2018
    A lovely barn conversion, and a good winter break. Very cosy in the poor weather, yet modern. Thank you.


  • 9

    06/11/2017
    Confirmed guest, 27/10/2017
    A real home away from home, the weather wasn't great with Storm Brian coming through, but Windbury Barn was warm and cosy. Spotlessly clean and well equipped, very quiet and secluded. Lovely walks to the coastal path and beyond. Really enjoyed our break.


  • 10

    17/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 08/09/2017
    Lovely house but its location is very secluded. Makes a great base for touring the coastline


  • 7

    21/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 18/08/2017
    Overall it was a lovely setting and the walk to the cliff sea Bure is beautiful, however we were pestered by flies both inside and outside and had to keep the patio door closed. Even then the flies still got in. The master bedroom is tiny with a very small dbl bed - not great as my husband is 6f 3inc and I am 5ft 10. Outside area pleasant could do with more comfortable furniture and perhaps and awning or cover as weather really bad - non stop rain so difficult to BBQ. Loved the welcome card and text very sweet and the gift of wine and chocolate a very nice touch.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are sorry that your stay at Windbury Barn does not seem to have lived up to your expectations; however, we would like to address some of the issues you raised. The property is in a rural area and there are a couple of farms in the vicinity and therefore there will occasionally be some flies around but the problem you had was no doubt exacerbated by the fact that you had left an overflowing dustbin and several other food bags lying around the dustbin, some of which were not sealed, which will undoubtedly have encouraged more flies. There is a very large communal waste bin at the entrance to the complex where your rubbish should have been placed as soon as the dustbin became full. There are clear instructions in the property about the disposal of rubbish and we leave plenty of rubbish sacks for our guests to use. However, we have taken on board your comment and now purchased an electric fly zapper so that in future there should never be a problem again. 2You say that the master bedroom is very tiny with a very small double bed. The size of the room can be clearly seen in the picture gallery on the website and can comfortably take a standard sized double bed, large wardrobe, chest of drawers and two bedside drawers so cannot be that tiny! You say that it is a very small double bed - it is a standard 4' 6" bed. For future reference, if you require a larger than average sized bed it may be wise to check first with the letting company what size the bed is. Your suggestion of an awning to enable BBQ’ing to be carried out during wet weather is unfortunately not feasible. The UK has suffered with unusually wet weather during the past couple of months, something which we can do nothing about, but thankfully most years the weather is considerably better enabling our guests to use the BBQ without a problem. We always ask our guests to let us know immediately if they have any problems at all and we will do our best to resolve them. As we heard nothing from you, we assumed that you had no problems. Finally, we would like to thank you for giving us 10 out of 10 for the cleanliness at Windbury Barn. We do the cleaning ourselves and take great pride in leaving it extremely clean, something which we know is important to most of our guests and their appreciation of this is clearly reflected in many of the lovely reviews left.

View All Guest Reviews
×

9.0 out of 10 – based on 8 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.