By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Shortlist
Back to Search

Treginegar Cottages - Watergate

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
St Merryn, near Padstow
Grade 3 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Sleeps6
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets0

Why Us?


This Cottage is brought to you by:

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

These detached holiday homes offer bright, spacious accommodation and are set in a peaceful North Cornwall rural location

Ideal for coast or countryside

Enjoy year round holidays

These detached holiday homes (refs 15443, 15445, 15447 and 18296) offer bright, spacious accommodation and are set in a peaceful North Cornwall rural location. Each has its own style, from New England to traditional, and each has a patio area with furniture and all are pet friendly. St Merryn is approximately 1½ miles with its shop, pubs and restaurants including Rick Stein’s pub ’The Cornish Arms’. St Merryn boasts the slogan ‘Seven Bays for seven days’. In addition to these sandy beaches, Padstow is a short drive away with its picturesque harbour, shops and restaurants. Take a ferry trip across the estuary to Rock or explore the Camel Trail by foot or bicycle (cycle hire available locally).
The beautiful bay at Watergate, home of the Extreme Sport Academy and Jamie Oliver’s ’Fifteen’ restaurant is within easy reach. The championship golf course at Trevose is approximately 2 miles away and for walkers, the coastal footpath is just 3 miles. Other areas to visit include The Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan and unspoilt Bodmin Moor as well as Newquay with its Zoo and world famous surfing beach at Fistral. Shop 11/2 miles.

All on ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen. 2 double bedrooms, one with additional single and pull-out single. Bathroom with shower over bath and toilet.

Convector heaters, electricity and bed linen included. Travel cot and high chair on request. Freeview TV. DVD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Shared use of washing machine and tumble dryer in communal area (at cost) - this facility will only be available until the end of 2016. Wi-fi. Private enclosed patio and furniture. Parking. No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • Ground Floor FacilitiesGround Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Sea ViewSea View
  • Horse Riding NearbyHorse Riding Nearby
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • Satellite TVSatellite TV
  • WifiWifi
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • No PetsNo Pets
  • Open PlanOpen Plan
  • Car Parking - On SiteCar Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 04/12/2016
    This is a little further out of St Merryn than we hoped but it is a lovely little place. Ideal if you have family. Heating a little random for a winter stay but we got there :)


  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 24/09/2016
    Visited sept 2016 such a shame as watergate could be a lovely place . It was damp and mouldy really smelt bad bought some smelly candles and air freshener on first trip to super market :) . The beds were so hard bearly slept came back needing a holiday ! The cleanliness was not of a good standard and the cooker was dirty . Saw a massive rat outside the front one day it was nearly as big as my dog ,was bitten by flees not impressed and will not be back. Oh and its advertised as sea view if i got on me husbands shoulders it was visible !!!!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed that you haven’t enjoyed your stay at our property. Once you had left I sent a team of cleaners and maintenance in and the property was independently checked and could find no evidence of fleas, they even sifted through the contents of the hoover to check. No evidence of mould or damp could be found either and we would not recommend that guests use candles in the property for health and safety reasons. The beds are a subjective matter and therefore personal preference. My representative called to the property to check that everything was ok and couldn’t get an answer but the dogs were in the property barking. We stopped accepting pets in May 2016 due to the damage and mess caused by them. After departure upon checking the property there were dog hairs on the bedding, again a breach of term and conditions as pets are not allowed on the furniture or on the beds. Regarding the rat, there haven’t been any other reported sightings, but it is said you are never more than 10 foot away from a rat at any time. There is a sea view from the property although agreed it is only a small view but the property does benefit from being close to both countryside and the coast. We are disappointed that these guests didn’t contact us at the time as we would have done our utmost to try and resolve things.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 17/09/2016
    The accommodation was well equipped and had a lovely garden. It was locate in a great area and was really handy for some beautiful beaches. The other holiday makers in the surrounding cottages were all lovely. All the ingredients for a fabulous holiday BUT for 3 problems: - very small fly like in the fitted door mats these were clearly visible on my feet and calves after standing on or near the mats - they could jump up to 10 inches but didn't fly. I brought no pets. The bites were very itchy inflamed and matched the look of those identified on fleabites.net- over 30 bites by the time I left - Needed antihistamines and insect bite cream (pharmacist said there were too many for hydrocortisone cream) and had to resort to wearing wellies to go in and out of cottage - crumbs over the floor in the kitchen area on arrival along with "sticky patches" on floor and kitchen surfaces - bed sheets looked fresh but were marked Would have raised these issues at the time of holiday but no rep came to check all was ok - have been holidaying regularly in Cornwall for over 5 years and this has not occurred before. A review of cleaning standards and fumigating would resolve these problems but sorry I won't be coming back.


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 03/09/2016
    Very pleasant, bright, warm and well equipped cottage. Perfect for visiting Cornwall. We had a great time staying here and would like to come back next year.


  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 27/08/2016
    Excellent stay. The enclosed garden was a real benefit as we have dogs. A spacious cottage in friendly surroundings. Brilliant location for local beaches.


  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 09/07/2016
    The cottage was damp, with cobwebs, several things in a poor state of repair or broken (ie chairs outside), garden and outside seating area had not been maintained. The owners did not visit us once to check things ok. Keys left in the door so cottage unlocked when we arrived. Remote area with many run down farm buildings, didn't feel it was a protected area. The cottage furniture ie sofa's table and internal accessories looked nice and once was probably a lovely cottage but all our clothes, towels etc were permanently damp and there was a damp smell to it as well. We had to wash everything on arrival home even things not worn


  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 04/06/2016
    Broken coffee table and broken outside chair left in the garden. Cooker wasn't very clean, fridge smelt it was turned off when we started holiday.Found lots of white dog hair,my dogs are brown and black!! May be a review of cleaning routine and maintenance.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 19/02/2016
    Would definitely stay there again. Clean and warm. A great base for exploring the Cornish coast line.


View All Guest Reviews
×

7.4 out of 10 – based on 14 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 5 Property Ref: 18296 View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: 15443 View Accommodation
Sleeps 6 Property Ref: 15447 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast