By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Back to Search

Warenford Cottages - The Granary Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Grade 3 Star rating
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


One of five holiday homes with swimming pool, gym and tennis courts on site. Quiet, secluded location only five miles from Bamburgh.

"Ideal base for a family holiday...set between the Cheviots and the sea"

Tucked away in a peaceful and secluded village setting, these five comfortably furnished holiday cottages are set in an idyllic location, only 5 miles from the spectacular Bamburgh Castle and one of the longest sandy beaches in England, and within a few minutes’ drive of Seahouses, where regular boat trips depart for the Farne Islands. Between the Cheviots and the sea, there is easy touring through the beautiful countryside with its numerous castles, stately homes and NT properties. Furnished to a high standard, and close to the owners’ home, Fordson offers single-storey accommodation and Ferguson is a detached two-storey cottage. The Mill House stands as a detached converted barn, with Waren View and The Granary Cottage forming an adjoining pair. This is an ideal choice for family holidays, with use of a very pleasant lawned area by a stream where visitors can enjoy barbecues. There is also shared use of the owners’ hard tennis court nearby.
Warenford Village serves as an excellent base from which to discover Northumberland and the Scottish border country. Just 4 miles distant lies Budle Bay, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, as well as an SSSI, with the ancient walled town of Berwick-upon-Tweed (15 miles) and the Duchess of Northumberland’s ornamental gardens a short drive away. Created to rival the best in Europe, the gardens are contemporary in design and include waterfalls and cascading plumes set within landscaped grounds with themed planted areas. Also sure to delight both young and old alike is a visit to neighbouring Alnwick Castle, which served as the location for the Harry Potter films. Home of the Percy family, it stands as the second largest inhabited castle in England after Windsor Castle, with some of its rooms open to the public and displaying a wealth of decorative and fine art.
Within easy reach, too, is Holy Island – renowned for its medieval religious heritage, priory and picturesque castle – and also known by its Anglo-Saxon name of Lindisfarne. Accessed by a paved causeway at low tide, the island is popular with bird-watchers and nature lovers, with the north-western portion of the island being maintained as a nature reserve, where terns, plovers and seals can be observed. Whilst on the island, a trip to The Museum of Island Life will reveal former living and working conditions there, and St Aidan’s Winery tempts visitors with its sweet concoction of local Lindisfarne Mead.
There are quiet country lanes for cycling and several excellent golf courses nearby, as well as a selection of shops in Belford (3 miles) and good inns and restaurants in which to enjoy a family meal locally – the nearest pub with restaurant being just 30 yards.
Guests may relax in our recently developed indoor swimming pool and sauna or work out in the gym, built close to the cottages. Shop/24-hr garage 1 mile.

Spacious living room with electric fire in stone surround and open plan wood staircase. Fitted kitchen/dining room. First floor: Three bedrooms; one double, one twin and one single. Bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet.

  • Travel cot and high chair on request
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Wi-fi

  • Electricity, electricity fire, full central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • TV
  • CD
  • Microwave
  • Washer/dryer
  • Garden furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • Shared indoor swimming pool - depth 4ft (children under 16 yrs must be accompanied by an adult who can swim), sauna, hard tennis court and gym (no children under 16 yrs allowed in gym) all open Mon-Thurs 9:00am - 6:30pm, Fri-Sun 10:00am - 5:00pm, closed each day between 2:00pm - 3:00pm, tennis court closed Sun

Note: Properties MHH, MHI, MKO, MKP and MLX may be booked together to sleep up to 30 people.

Read more 


  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Christmas Themed CottageChristmas Themed Cottage
  • WifiWifi
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Swimming PoolSwimming Pool
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property

Customer Comments

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 07/05/2016
    We had a great time at The Granary it's a lovely little cottage, very comfortable and everything we needed was on hand. The owners were lovely giving us a welcome pack and also a very nice call before the holiday. Pool was amazing, very clean and great open times. Ideal base for a Northumberland exploration having all the great hotspots within a few miles drive. The pub across the road (recommended from the owner) was delightful. we had a few meals there and there was a great selection of high quality food on offer. Overall we were very pleased with this cottage and would return again.

  • 3

    Confirmed guest, 10/12/2015
    The cottage is dated and in need of some TLC, little things missing, no salt & pepper, tea & coffee supplied, but no sugar,no heating on when we arrived in December! But the pool was great!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the lovely pool and hope you enjoyed your stay overall. We are planning some changes to the property early next year (booked to start in January) with a view to updating it which should address any of the issues that you had the standard of the Cottage. We apologise that the heating was not put on in advance and hope that the Cottage warmed up quickly for you. We normally make sure the heating is put on before people arrive at the property so apologies again for this oversight. We provide some tea, coffee and sugar for guests on arrival, but have found that people then prefer to shop for their own supplies. We hope that you enjoyed the beautiful area around Warenford and Bamburgh and will return to Northumberland in the future.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 03/11/2015
    The property was ok but in need of redecoration. Having looked round the other properties on the same site, the other cottages were by far more superior. Next time, I would book one of those as a preference to Granary Cottage.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 17/10/2015
    The area was stunning, we found whilst walking around that there are as nicer cottages in other places for a lot less money. Unfortunately we were 2 couples and that meant 1 couple had single beds, and all the bedrooms were on the small side. But we still had a fantastic time as the weather was brilliant.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 15/08/2015
    A very pleasant stay, many thanks. Great pool.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 08/08/2015
    The cottage was booked for five people a two year old and a dog. Due to a change in circumstances only three adults went, I can only say thank goodness we would never have got five around the table for meals and the cleanliness was not what I would have wanted my grandson to experience. I have photographs of black mould spores along the edge of the bath where the shower screen fitted behind the toilet which was also dirty as was behind the sink pedastal, behind the front door there was dirt and cobwebs and the veneer on the kitchen cupboards was peeling off. We had a BBQ and a table with a bench to seat two but they were on the path in front of the window and there was nowhere to put them. This was the worst cottages for you we have been in. On the plus side the pool was lovely

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We strongly feel that the cleanliness of our cottage is of utmost importance and are concerned that certain aspects did not meet your expectations. We have professional cleaners to prepare the cottage each changeover day and we have never experienced a problem before now. I personally checked the cottage this week to ensure there were no problems and will continue to do so throughout the season. We realise that the seating in the kitchen is not ideal for larger groups, apologies for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. We are planning alterations to the downstairs layout to alleviate this issue in the very near future. This plan will also update the kitchen units. Although the outside space is limited I have also made sure that more chairs are available so that the table outside can be used more easily. We are glad you enjoyed the great leisure facilities and in particular the lovely pool. We do hope that you return to beautiful Northumberland in the future.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 27/06/2015
    Nice enough cottage in a good location close to bamburgh, sea houses, holy island and Berwick. There is no netting or blinds on windows which are very big and you are in view of everyone. So not very private. Biggest problem was, if we had known 8 builders were going to lodge at the cottages and be coming in from work at 4am slamming van doors I wouldn't of booked. It just seemed a bit odd looking out the window and seeing work vans and lads going and coming work. It was what we were trying to get away from. Double bed wasn't comfortable but single beds were fine. Hot water was far to hot. First time we have been away and complained. Sorry

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your stay at Granary Cottage. There are curtains to use for privacy and we are looking for something that can be used during the day as well. We have spoken to the owners of the other properties and can confirm that the builders will not be returning as their work is now complete. We apologise for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. In reference to your comment regarding the double bed, we are looking into the purchase of a more comfortable mattress and this will be in place very soon. Also, we have addressed the issue of the (too) hot water by turning the thermostat down. Once again thank you for your comments.

View All Guest Reviews

6.0 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 8 Property Ref: MLX View Accommodation
Sleeps 5 Property Ref: MKP View Accommodation
Sleeps 6 Property Ref: MHH View Accommodation
Sleeps 6 Property Ref: MHI View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast