21,000+ quality-checked cottages 30+ years of cottage holidays 98% would book again No credit card fees New home of cottages4you 21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Tom Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Wing, near Oakham, Rutland
Grade 5 Star rating
Sleeps6
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms2
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Description

Relax and unwind at this lovely holiday property by the wood-burning stove, or venture further afield and enjoy the Rutland countryside.


This delightful, Grade II listed, thatched stone cottage is tucked away on a quiet lane with a superb country pub just a short walk away. One of a pair, the accommodation is like a home from home, combining a contemporary home with traditional features, beamed ceilings and wood-burning stove set in an inglenook fireplace for those cosy nights in. A separate snug even allows you space to simply sit by yourself, relax and unwind with a good book. Rutland Water (with world class fly fishing), Oakham, Uppingham and Stamford (home of the International Burghley Horse Trials) are all a short drive, with great walks and cycle routes from the front door.

A sheltered stone terraced area to the rear equipped with an Outback barbecue, offers a lovely spot for al fresco dining with a large lawn to one side with 6 seater rattan garden furniture and parasol. Tom Cottage even boasts a roll-top bath in the bedroom to have a relaxing soak in as well as an en-suite shower room. Two further bedrooms mean the property can be enjoyed by up to six guests and is ideal for those wanting to experience the country lifestyle in a traditional thatched cottage. Easily accessible just 15 minutes’ drive from the A1, yet tucked away in the countryside village of Wing (which boasts a highly recommended pub/restaurant) means it is a great cottage to just relax in or even use as a base to explore the area from. Wing Hall is a few minutes walk away, where there is a well stocked farm shop that sells local produce, as well as beer, wine and everything guests might need for a barbecue. There is also a café and bikes are available to hire. Shop 3 miles, pub and restaurant 200 yards.

Step to entrance. Ground Floor:
Living room: With wood burner, 50" Sky TV (family package), DVD player with a selection of DVDs, CD player with a selection of CDs, beams and wooden floor.
Snug: With Freeview TV, DVD player, wooden floor and beams.
Kitchen/breakfast room: With electric Aga, American style fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, Freeview TV and wooden floor.
Separate toilet.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With kingsize bed, 40" Freeview TV, roll-top bath and en-suite with walk-in shower and toilet.
Bedroom 2: With kingsize bed.
Bedroom 3: With twin beds.
Shower room: With shower cubicle and toilet.

Underfloor ground source central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels, Wi-Fi and logs for wood burner included. Travel cot and highchair. Welcome pack. Table tennis table. Enclosed lawned garden with patio, terrace, garden furniture and barbecue. Ample parking. No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Baby and Toddler Friendly
    Baby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Luxury Collection
    Luxury Collection
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 7

    04/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 28/12/2017
    The pictures that advertise the cottage are not how the cottage is now. These photos relate to when the property was sold and can be found on righymove history. The property could do with more bowls and the freezer makes an horrendous noise. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but, as it was graded 5* would have expected a few tea towels etc. Underneath of sofas had rubbish and a previous tenants head scarf. Beautiful local walks.


  • 10

    19/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 04/12/2017
    Fantastic place. We loved it there.


  • 10

    01/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 30/11/2017
    A lovely cottage really enjoyed my stay.


  • 9

    16/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 27/11/2017
    Fab weekend- we loved setting out for a walk straight from the cottage. Beautiful cottage. We'd love to stay there again.


  • 10

    19/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 05/11/2017
    Excellent value for money The aga was a bit of a pain for Yorkshire puddings but it was lovely. Great local pub to


  • 10

    06/11/2017
    Confirmed guest, 16/10/2017
    Lovely cottage... could not fault it at all


  • 9

    11/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 06/10/2017
    Most enjoyable stay, look forward to returning sometime. Many thanks. Linda.


  • 9

    06/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 04/08/2017
    Tom Cottage is a lovely cottage in a quiet village location. The owner contacted us before our arrival to try and obtain our arrival time and so arrange a convenient time to meet us to hand over the keys and give us any last minute advice / instructions. As we were arriving later than planned we eventually agreed to collect the keys from an agreed location and he provided written information about the cottage and local area which was most helpful. He had left welcome supplies of tea / coffee, milk, wine and chocolates which was a nice touch. The cottage itself was very well equipped with all home comforts. There are some draw backs such as the small dishwasher and tight space around the table in the kitchen for 6 adults but we knew about these before booking thanks to previous reviews and you soon adapt. The local shop at the Wing Hall camp site is really only for basics but it is great to have that facility close by - also there are so many good pubs serving food that we ate out several times. If we were making suggestions for improvements then it would be to use the space in the outbuilding to make a utility area and move the washer from the kitchen out there. This could then be complemented by a tumble dryer (which we did miss even though there is a clothes airer and washing line). The space in the kitchen could then be occupied by a full sized dishwasher which would hold all the dishes for one day and could be run overnight rather than after every meal. The only other thing we would point out to future guests is that there are no locks on the shower room / wc doors and that in the master bedroom there is no door at all for the en-suite. Of course many people may be very happy with this arrangement but for us it did detract slightly from our ability to use this room for its full range of functions! Overall we were very happy with Tom Cottage and would recommend it to others and book again ourselves.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- Thank you very much for your comments which have all been noted . There are now locks on all the bathroom/toilet doors.

  • 9

    21/04/2017
    Confirmed guest, 28/03/2017
    What was not to like! Three adults and two beagles had a wonderful long weekend blessed with good weather. Could just have done with garden to be more secure as one of our dogs took a shine to wandering around the village!


  • 9

    26/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 24/03/2017
    Great cottage, in a beautiful location. Owner also very accommodating and helpful. Would certainly recommend.


  • 10

    04/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 26/02/2017
    Fantastic cottage in a great location, it is home from home. The owners did everything to make us feel welcome. Strongly recommend the local pub also rutland water especially parkrun Saturday morning. Would definitely recommend this cottage and likely we will stay again.


  • 1

    26/02/2017
    Confirmed guest, 18/02/2017
    It was very clear that the property had not been prepared for our arrival. The owner had arrived a little earlier to put on the under floor heating but was busy preparing the wood burner as it was still very cold and she advised it would take time to heat up. In the evening it became clear the heating was not working (wood burner also had no effect) and we called the owner. She arranged for a plumber the next morning while we sat in the kitchen with the AGA on to keep warm. Plumber arrived 9.15 next morning and changed settings. He suggested it may take up to 5 hours for the property to reach a reasonable temperature. It was at this point we decided we had to leave for an alternative property. We had an important occasion to celebrate this day and could not risk the house not being warm enough for when our family (including two young children - one severely disabled) arrived an hour or so later. We had already endured 22 hours in the cold and were not prepared for another 5. Despite the situation we found ourselves in there was no offer of any refund from the owner.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are very disappointed to read your review following your recent stay at Tom Cottage. We are sorry that you experienced problems with the heating during your first afternoon and evening however what you fail to state is that the problem was confined to the main lounge, and the rest of the cottage was unaffected. Furthermore you fail to state that we gave you 2 sacks of logs so that you could use the log burner in the lounge which would have ensured this was perfectly warm. You made no attempt whatsoever to help the situation by utilising the log burner. As soon as we were made aware of the problem on Saturday evening, we contacted the plumber who attended the cottage at 9am the following morning and very quickly fixed the problem – the property would have been toasty and warm within a few hours and indeed when he left he recorded an air temperature in the lounge of 20c and a floor temperature of 26c. We had hoped our rapid response to rectify the issue demonstrated our commitment to you as our valued guest but you had clearly already decided to find alternative accommodation, despite our best efforts. The heating system is regularly serviced and is usually very reliable but these things can happen from time to time without prior warning. We naturally want all our guests to have a great experience during their stay at Tom Cottage and it’s a shame that you did not stay to enjoy your holiday at our property, as so many of our guests previously have. Your rating of 1/10 is however completely unjustified and unreasonable and cannot in any way be regarded as a fair and objective review. We do pride ourselves on high standards and we would ask potential visitors to read all the positive reviews, including many scores of 10/10, we have received in the past which depict an accurate picture of our Cottage.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.8 out of 10 – based on 24 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers