by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Back to Search

Thornsdale - The Granary

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Iden Rye, Sussex
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Pets 2

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Pet friendly cottage with wood burning stove and inglenook fireplace, Rye Harbour Nature Reserve and Camber Sands nearby.

This attractive detached house set in the owner’s grounds provide spacious holiday accommodation situated at the end of a mile-long lane in glorious rural surroundings. Pet friendly and offering a plethora of walks on the doorstep, the cottage offers good quality linen and towels and a superb self catering base. There is a public footpath leading off the owner’s drive providing miles of walks across open countryside. A trip to picturesque Rye enables visitors to sample local foods at the Wednesday morning farmers market which is held at Strand Quay. By taking a stroll along the cobbled streets, there is also the chance to buy a memento from one of the many independently-owned shops and boutiques, art galleries and potteries - or even start Christmas shopping from the wide selection of goods available! Also worth a visit are Rye Harbour Nature Reserve, Camber Sands and Camber Castle – this area of saltmarsh protects some very special wildlife, and footpaths lead to four birdwatching hides. The picturesque market town of Battle makes for an enjoyable day out, as well as Hastings, the Sealife Centre and Pevensey Castle (where the Romans invaded). The area is also well known for its local vineyards including Chapel Down and Sedlescombe. A trip to Tenterden - often referred to as the Jewel of the Weald - is an alternative and, for garden lovers, Sissinghurst (NT) is not to be missed. Further National Trust places to visit include Smallhythe Place, Scotney Castle and Bodiam Castle. Day trips to France are possible with the Channel Tunnel a mere 30-minute drive. An excellent sky venue for astrology, photography, or just wishing on a star. Shops 1½ miles, pub 1 mile.

Spacious living room with wood-burning stove in inglenook, oak floor and two sets of French doors to terrace - open plan with games area. Single bedroom. Shower room with toilet. First floor: Well-equipped kitchen/dining room with range (for cooking) and slate floor. Two double bedrooms, one with dressing room, additional single bed (for +1) and en-suite bathroom with shower attachment and toilet. Twin bedroom with zip & link beds (can be double). Bathroom with shower attachment and toilet. Vaulted ceilings throughout first floor.

  • Wood-burning stove - initial fuel included, thereafter available locally
  • Range (7-ring, built-in barbecue) included
  • Washing machine
  • Enclosed garden and terrace with furniture
  • Pool table
  • Parking (for 3 cars); additional parking on request

  • Electricity, full oil central heating, bed linen, towels included
  • Cot
  • High chair
  • Sky TV (movies, kids and entertainment channels)
  • Radio/CD (small library)
  • DVD (small library)
  • iPhone/iPod dock
  • Microwave
  • Tumble dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Wi-fi
  • Barbecue
  • Football table
  • No smoking
  • NB: Pond in owner’s grounds

Read more 


  • Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Satellite TV
    Satellite TV
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Wifi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Green Scheme
    Green Scheme
  • Car Parking - On Site
    Car Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 20/03/2017
    Gorgeous accommodation everything you need to have a lovely relaxing break away. Very peaceful stunning views . Would be lovely to stay here in the summer months

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 13/03/2017
    Very comfortable and well appointed.

  • 3

    Confirmed guest, 10/02/2017
    Overall not bad but because the temperature of the place was unbearably hot for us all and turning the thermostat down made no difference plus every bed very very uncomfortable, we would not return. We have all come home with aching backs. The single beds are children width and mattresses like marshmallows and the doubles are tiny with rock hard mattresses. Also it is called dog friendly but on arrival there is a notice that tells us not to exercise the dogs in the garden, which we couldn't anyway as it is not secure. It says not to let dogs on the sofa or upstairs but the kitchen is upstairs which is where you feed your dog and spend time. So this should not be classed as a dog friendly place and needs bigger and more comfortable beds. If the owner had at least popped in to make sure all was well perhaps the heating issue could of been sorted out. We saw no one.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback. We are disheartened to hear that on this occasion you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to the heating, there is a full explanation of how it works in the house book. In the event of you not being able to operate the controls, each radiator has a thermostatic valve so you could control it with those. In the worst case you could have just turned it all off and call us. With regard to the pet notice (placed in the property by English Country Cottages), we appreciate that this could be confusing to some guests so we have removed it. Dogs are allowed in the kitchen and outside, we would have been more than happy to clarify by phone or in person, as we live close by. Regarding the beds, they are medium to firm as recommended by orthopaedic specialists and made by Hypnos.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 23/01/2017
    Excellent trip. We had a small problem with the heating (user error) and the owner was on hand to fix this immediately. We would definitely recommend it to others.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback, compliments and recommendations which are always welcomed. We are pleased that we were able to help you out – we do like to make our guests stay at The Granary as enjoyable as possible. We are delighted that you had an excellent trip and hope you return in the future.

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 02/01/2017
    The cottage is a little bit rough around the edges, but it suited our needs as a group of friends (no children). It's not luxurious or spotlessly clean if you were to look closely, but it was nice enough and very spacious. The only thing we felt could be improved was the kitchen equipment; we cooked a few meals there, nothing fancy, and often had to be creative with what tools we had at our disposal. The lighting in the kitchen was also pretty difficult to work in and the range, although impressively large, wasn't well lit either (the extractor looked a bit damaged). It's also worth mentioning that the walls aren't particularly soundproof and the floors are creaky, but none of those things prevented us from having a good time! Thumbs up for the wood burner and the pool table; we will have to go back in the summer to make the most of the garden and barbecue.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you very much we look forward to seeing you again. The property is currently undergoing its annual off season decorations to remove any rough edges. With regard to kitchen equipment we counted 33 utensils and the lighting in the kitchen consist of the equivalent of 750 watts which include lighting under the cooker hood which with the fan works well when turned on. The walls comply with current building regulations soundproofing but with the high level of enjoyment experienced at the property this can sometimes lead to people hearing others enjoying themselves. Many of the above problems aand equipment issues could have been resolved if you had called us at the time. Once again thank you for your visit.

  • 3

    Confirmed guest, 30/09/2016
    Cottage was supposed to be child friendly, but the stairs are dangerous. Hopefully this is corrected to some degree as a gate was ordered while we were there. Cabinet taped shut with electrical tape and a broken sign. The beds were brutal. General cleanliness was acceptable but not great. Internet was decent considering the very rural location, and the pool table and table football was nice, but pubs are not walking distance in the evening.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for visiting our property as you were aware, there was an issue with the stair gates, immediately we purchased two new ones, these were given to you at the property. Regarding the cabinet this was broken by previous guests and we are trying to locate a new mechanism. Regarding your concerns about the beds, these are Hypnos beds which are of a high standard. We were glad to hear the Wi-Fi was a decent speed it is a high speed BT connection. Regarding the pub it is approx. 1,000 meters from the property, we are very lucky to have one, along with a village shop.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 17/06/2016
    very nice place to stay lovely views and quiet . a stair gate would have been useful as the stairs are very open

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 16/05/2016
    A beautiful property in a lovely rural setting. This is a good location for getting away from a busy life. It's quiet accept for the donkeys and horses next door! it has everything you could need for a great stay, including a lovely fire. The stairs that lead up to the kitchen area could do with a stair gate as it isn't child friendly. With dogs staying with us they can get out from the 'secure' garden, however the area is remote so not a huge problem! Really enjoyable stay, thank you !

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your comments. I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay. We will check how dogs can get out from the garden as there is a 5ft fence all the way around. If this issue had been brought to our attention during stay we’d have been more than happy to resolve the problem. Thank you for coming.

View All Guest Reviews

6.6 out of 10 – based on 14 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 10 Property Ref: PFFT View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers