Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Old Butchers

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Crantock, near Newquay, Cornwall
Grade 4 Star rating
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Just minutes from a golden sandy beach and bordered by the River Gannel estuary, great for birdwatchers.

A beautifully converted, detached holiday home in one of Cornwall’s most stunning coastal villages, The Old Butchers is only minutes from the wide golden sandy beach and dunes which are bordered by the estuary of the River Gannel, an AONB and a haven for birdlife. Newquay with its surfing beaches, 3 miles. Truro and Padstow are close by. Watergate Bay, home to Jamie Oliver’s restaurant Fifteen Cornwall, 5 miles. Sea fishing, horse riding and go karting nearby. Shop ½ mile, pub 1/3 mile.

Spacious living/dining room leading to conservatory with patio doors to garden. Well-equipped kitchen with TV. Children’s play room with TV. Separate toilet. First floor: Two double bedrooms; one with 5ft bed, one with en-suite shower room with toilet and tiled floor. Twin bedroom. Bathroom with over-bath shower, toilet and tiled floor.

  • Electricity and full oil central heating included (Winter £35per week)
  • Bed linen and towels included
  • Travel cot
  • High chair
  • Three TVs (two Freeview)
  • Two DVDs (small library)
  • CD
  • Microwave
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Wi-fi
  • Small enclosed courtyard and furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Parking (for 2 cars); roadside parking 25 yards
  • No smoking
  • Please note: This property has a security deposit of £100.

Show amenities 


  • Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Wifi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 28/10/2017
    Second stay in this beautiful house. So clean and well equipped. Like home from home!

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 09/09/2017
    even better if the rubbish from the previous occupiers was removed from the outside bins

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are sorry if the outside bins detracted from your stay. As in many parts of the country, they are only emptied every 2 weeks. Our housekeeper empties every indoor bin when she cleans at Saturday changeover. However, in terms of rubbish and recycling collection, we are dependent on the Local Authority services. We are aware that passers by often also use our private rubbish bin. We have tried to manage this with bespoke printed signs. We hope you still overall enjoyed your stay.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 12/08/2017
    Loved the house. Bottom cover of devan bed very dusty/dirty. We took off bed when we left to encourage washing.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We were shocked to have this feedback. In the 5 seasons we have owned the house, cleanliness reviews and always been overwhelmingly positive. Our housekeeper takes great pride in her work, and is often complimented. We are sorry you didn't feel able to make contact with the housekeeper during your stay, as she says in her welcome text, that is what she is there for, and she would have resolved your concern for you. We hope that overall you were able to enjoy your stay.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 29/07/2017
    We really enjoyed the location and facilities, nice to find a very well equipped kitchen especially with a dishwasher.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 08/07/2017
    Nice property but the children's tv room not very comfortable. We also missed not having a television in the bedrooms. The downstairs toilet was also out of action and this facility was one of the reasons e booked the property. Unfortunately we were not advised of this until we arrived and it was not repaired whilst we were there.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; In response to your comments, the children's TV room is an added bonus, mostly used as a play / store room. It is as it appears on the website, and there are comfortable chairs in both the lounge and conservatory. It is perfectly accurate that there are no TV's in any of the bedrooms, again exactly as described on line. It is true that the downstairs toilet was blocked. We could not notify you any earlier as the housekeeper only found out when she was cleaning on the Saturday. The previous guests had said nothing. She asked that it be used sparingly, as opposed to it being totally out of action. We called plumbers immediately and they had been due on the Monday, but due to human error, the message was not relayed. However, they did call on the Thursday and the drains were completely cleared and the toilet totally functional again. We hope these factors did not deter from your overall holiday.

View All Guest Reviews

9.0 out of 10 – based on 8 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.