21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you 21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Moorings

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Shaldon, Devon
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×
Sleeps14
Bedrooms8
Bathrooms3
Pets 3

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

The Moorings simply has it all; beautifully presented rooms, fantastic location overlooking the River Teign and plenty to do nearby.

Situated just ½-mile from the sandy beach, this detached holiday property enjoys a wonderful panoramic outlook over the River Teign and the countryside beyond. Decorated and furnished to a very good standard, it offers an ideal base with views over the River Teign from the balcony. There are French doors leading to the garden. Situated within walking distance of Shaldon centre, it is well placed for a range of shopping facilities in addition to inns and restaurants. Leisure activities here are very much water based with sailing, angling, swimming and diving available either in the River Teign or from the coves and beaches nearby. The Ness headland watches proudly over the mouth of the estuary, guarding the waters between Shaldon and the busy Victorian town of Teignmouth. The river beach and estuary will delight visitors, not to mention the famous Shaldon ferry which plies the river to Teignmouth throughout the day. The children will love the sandy beaches reached through Smugglers Tunnel. Both Dartmoor National Park and Exeter are only 20 minutes’ drive away while the famous South Devon Coast, with wonderful sandy beaches, is barely 3 miles. Exeter and Newton Abbot Racecourses, several golf courses, loads of family theme parks, Paignton Zoo, sailing and fishing are all within easy reach. Numerous National Trust properties are close by including Agatha Christie’s home, ’Greenway’. Steam trains travel from Kingswear to Paignton, and Totnes to Buckfastleigh. Visit historic Dartmouth with a bustling boat harbour and a castle, or Salcombe with its beaches, sailing and water sports is also easily accessible. Shop ½ mile, pub and restaurant ¼ mile.

Ground Floor:
Kitchen/dining room: With range with electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tiled floor and bi-fold doors leading to garden.
Playroom: With Freeview TV, DVD player, board games and tiled floor.
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds.
Bathroom: With shower over P-shaped bath, and toilet.
4 steps to...
Bedroom 3: With double bed.
Bedroom 4: With ¾ double bed.
Bedroom 5: With single bed.
Shower room: With shower cubicle and toilet.
First Floor:
Living room: With Freeview TV, DVD player and patio doors leading to decked balcony.
Bedroom 6: With double bed and en-suite with Jacuzzi bath, shower attachment and toilet.
Bedroom 7: With kingsize bed and French doors leading to balcony.
Bedroom 8: With twin beds and low sloping ceiling.

Gas central heating, gas, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot and highchair available on request. Welcome pack. Enclosed lawned garden with sitting-out area, garden furniture, barbecue and playhouse. Decked balcony and decked area with garden furniture. Balcony with outdoor furniture. Bike store. Ample parking. No smoking. Please note: There are steps from the ground floor balcony to the further decked area and the garden. There is a step to the playhouse and drop at the side.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Sea View
    Sea View
  • Stairgate
    Stairgate
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Baby and Toddler Friendly
    Baby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 8

    12/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 01/10/2017
    Fantastic stay for my parents anniversary. Spacious, clean home with plenty of room for all of the family. Complimentary hamper was a lovely touch!


  • 9

    01/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 25/09/2017
    The Moorings was a great place to stay for a family occasion. We felt very relaxed there and had a great time.


  • 7

    27/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 25/08/2017
    We had a great holiday at the moorings.A few niggles .The garden is a bit uncared for tubs with weeds in a broken garden furniture and uncut grass. The house itself doesn't have enough bathrooms when full to capacity the only bathroom for the 3 upstairs bedrooms is ensuite.This put pressure on the downstairs 2 bathrooms in the morning when we were all getting ready to go out.The showers themselves are not great with fiddley mixer Taps. Some of the beds were very uncomfortable mattresses needed Replacing. Overall a lovely holiday home that's a little tired in places and could do with a bit of tlc.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: Regarding your few niggles, we are sorry that the grass in the garden was not mowed when you arrived but unfortunately it was raining heavily that day so the gardener was not able to attend, the grass had been mowed the previous week and the pots weeded. Regarding the garden furniture we are sorry if a chair broke, we would have replaced this. The gardener did attend on the Tuesday but was unable to park as the 7 parking spaces were full. Had you have contacted us about the inconvenience of the garden we would have strived to rectify this immediately. This property was our family home, we raised our own 5 children there and several foster children and had no problems with bathrooms. Many families and groups enjoy holidays at the moorings as previous reviews support. We are sorry that you felt the showers were not acceptable, we have received no other complaints about this.We are sorry that you felt the beds were uncomfortable this again was something we could have tried to resolve had you informed us at the time, beds are often personal preference, we have a mixture of sprung and memory foam mattresses. Overall you have stated that the holiday home was tired in places, we try our best in Summer season, obviously the 5 hr changeover time does not allow for redecoration in high summer period we always carry out maintenance during the winter period and we feel the property decoration is in an adequate state. This property is a home from home, not a boutique hotel so there is a homely feel as opposed to boutique.

  • 8

    15/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 11/08/2017
    Generally we enjoyed our stay. One of the beds was uncomfortable and we had to use a duvet to sleep on. For the number of rooms 2 bathrooms and 1 shower was not quite enough for14 people. There is plenty of room to add another shower room and a separate toilet


  • 9

    23/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 21/07/2017
    An excellent base for a family holiday. Only criticism is that the shower room in the annexe is extremely small, other than that very well equipped. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable.


  • 10

    22/04/2017
    Confirmed guest, 28/03/2017
    It was the perfect place to celebrate my 70th birthday with my children and grandchildren. The house was clean and equipped with everything we needed and plenty of space for 15 of us. The view from the upstairs balcony was spectacular and ever changing. The furniture and the beds are all comfortable and the kitchen was amazingly well equipped. Shaldon was a truly delightful place. The village fish and chip shop is worth a visit as was the London Inn and The Clipper cafe. Thank you 'The Moorings' for making my 70th so memorable. We're all still talking about our stay !


  • 9

    21/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 14/03/2017
    Very enjoyable stay. It is a lovely house with lots of equipment etc. An easy place for allm the family. Children loved it too!


  • 5

    09/12/2016
    Confirmed guest, 04/12/2016
    Lounge seating looked comfortable, but really wasnt. Also mattresses were not brilliant, especially en suite one, which was obviously used most. If full house, table in kitchen/diner definitely not big enough, had to bring in table from games room. Had to call in owner as oven not working and no instructions available. No quiet area asevery room open-plan, even lounge.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Sorry that our beautiful property did not meet your expectations, the vast majority of our guests are more than happy with the property. The Lounge seating is a matter of personal preference and may not suit everyone. Our Mattresses once again are of personal preference and some of those are memory foam which may not suit everyone. The table in the kitchen comfortably seats 10 people there is a second table in the 2nd lounge/games room which comfortably seats a further 4 people which will accommodate 14 guests in total. If you require both tables in the kitchen there is ample space to do this. The oven was in perfect working order when the property was checked prior to your arrival. When you called to say it was not working we responded within 5 minutes and arrived at the property. The timer/ alarm on the cooker had been activated and simply needed resetting which was done in a matter of minutes. Regarding the instructions I didn’t need to look for these as they are at the property. Regarding your comment, (no quiet areas), There are 8 bedrooms which all have doors on them. There is an open plan kitchen/ dining room & down stairs lounge/games room as shown in the pictures . The stairs rise from the hallway from the kitchen to the upstairs second lounge with beautiful views over the rear gardens, woodland, the river teign and the fields beyond. We find this room a lovely tranquil setting to sit and enjoy the views or to relax . Once again we are truly sorry it didn’t meet your needs and at your request we put Christmas decorations up early, we allowed you to check in early so this would give you more time at no charge, and we allowed you to check out 2 hours late at no charge. At no point did you raise any concerns with us other than the cooker.

  • 10

    13/11/2016
    Confirmed guest, 31/10/2016
    We were a group of 12 adults, 2 children and 1 dog spanning 4 generations to celebrate 2 very special people in their 80th year. The house was fantastic with lovely views. Everything we could have needed was provided. We had a fabulous weekend and hope to be able to return.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.5 out of 10 – based on 12 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers